Make your own free website on Tripod.com



       Page No.  1                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM001     WELCOME MOWRY LOT                       SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 500 ft west of FARNUM PIKE (ROUTE 104) at TEL pole # 250   



            11 burials with 11    inscriptions from 1841 to 1901



            50  ft x 75   ft in poor condition enclosed with a wooden fence; sign missing



            NOTE: Transcribed by Grace G Tillinghast (Vol 25, page 413). She describes lot as follows:                          



                  "Left hand side of Farnum Pike in Smithfield. A good half mile up a hill in woodlot"                    



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as; "West of Farnum Pike opposite from Ross Toney"                



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry Feb 1, 1997. Lot is surrounded on the west and south by a stone wall, the east   



            and north sides are made up of a wood fence in bad state of repair. Many stones are down and out of position. 



            To reach lot, enter just north of 442 Farnum Pike and climb steep hill, lot is at the top.                    



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM002     ALDRICH LOT                             SMITHFIELD RI



            east of FARNUM PIKE at TEL pole # 190   



            NOTE: Location is approximate to NEL Pole #. It has been indicated that some of the bodies, those of Aldrich's, were



            removed to North Burial Ground in the 1890's. The remaining stones subsequently disappeared and the lot       



            disappeared.                                                                                                  



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM003     GILBERT HARRIS LOT                      SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 150 ft east of DOUGLAS PIKE (ROUTE 7) at TEL pole # 210   



            4 burials with 4    inscriptions from 1841 to 1888



            24  ft x 24   ft in good condition enclosed with granite posts; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol V, page 74). They assigned it #867 and described it as follows:    



            "Harris Family, Smithfield"                                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Irene Nebiker in early 1970's                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as "Uncle's field"                                                



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry November 23, 1996. Since last transcription circa 1970, another cemetery has been



            added adjacent to this lot (see SM090). This has prompted a change of name for this lot.                      



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM004     JOSEPH MOWRY LOT                        SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 1500 ft east of LOG ROAD at TEL pole # 107   



            19 burials with 17    inscriptions from 1828 to 1968



            40  ft x 45   ft in fair condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in fair condition



            Tax Assessors Map #:       Plat #: 50    Lot #: 45   



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25, pp353-355). He describes lot as follows:                               



                   "On the farm late belonging to Jenckes Mowry on the Tarkiln road in from the house, lot fenced, in fair



            order."                                                                                                       



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as: "Log Road, past Bayberry Rd, north next to swamp."            



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry December 5, 1998. Lot is located some 1000 feet behind 459 Log Road, in a pine   



            grove. Its remoteness has helped keep vandalism to a minimum, but it is extremely overgrown with trees, and   



            brush.                                                                                                        



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No.  2                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM005     NATHANIEL MOWRY LOT                     SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 300 ft east of JOHN MOWRY ROAD at TEL pole # 166   



            9 burials with 9    inscriptions from 1841 to 1888



            25  ft x 25   ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign missing



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Oct 23, 1919 (Vol 25, pp378-381). He described lot as follows:                  



                 "On the next farm north of the Judge D Mowry farm, a burial yard in sight of road, no protection, lot in 



            good order."                                                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ethel M White who described it as follows:                                                     



                 "Near Smithfield Airport - right side"                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Irene Nebiker in early 1970's.                                                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as "John Mowry Road"                                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry February 1, 1997. Lot is found by following stone wall opposite pole #166 for    



            about 300 feet. Lot is found to the right of wall. It is open and size is approximate.                        



            Arnold transcribed 4 individual stones for Emor H, Daniel, Annie Laura, & Emily Mowry. All subsequent surveys 



            failed to mention them. The four names do however appear on a monument in Slatersville Cemetery, North        



            Smithfield(NS003). These 4 people may have been moved here after 1919.                                        



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM006     WILLIAM ENCHES LOT                      SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 90 ft north of GEORGE WASHINGTON HWY (ROUTE 116) at TEL pole # 1 1/2 



            5 burials with 5    inscriptions from 1846 to 1918



            25  ft x 17   ft in fair condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Recorded by Frank T Calef and erroneously listed as located in Lincoln.                                       



            His transcript is on page 13 and is given lot #6.                                                             



                                                                                                                          
            Ethel M White also did lot and described it as follows.                                                       



            "Rocky Hill Road near Washington Highway-1937."                                                               



                                                                                                                          
            Charles & Martha Benns transcribed lot and assigned it lot #572. It is recorded in Volume IV page 28.         



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as "Harris Road"                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry November 23, 1996. This cemetery was once located on Harris Road but was moved to



            its present location about 20 years ago when Douglas Drug constructed its warehouse facility. It is about 100 



            feet south of its original location.                                                                          



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM007     MOWRY LOT                               SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 150 ft east of JOHN MOWRY ROAD at TEL pole # 130   



            85 burials with 65    inscriptions from 1754 to 1939



            125 ft x 69   ft in fair condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign missing



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold October 23, 1919, (Vol 25 pp361-378). He describes lot as follows:              



                  "On the Judge Daniel Mowry Farm back of and yet in sight of the road a burial yard of the Mowry and     



            allied families. This yard is walled, lot in fair condition."                                                 



                                                                                                                          
            A few stones transcribed by Grace G Tillinghast (Vol 25, page 361)                                            



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol IV, pp32-33). They assigned it #582 and described its location as  



            "at Smithfield airport"                                                                                       



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ethel M White.                                                                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described its location as "Near Bryant Unistructure, John Mowry Road"           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry February 1, 1997. The main burial ground is 125 ft x 69 ft. surrounded by a stone



            wall. Within this lot is a smaller lot 32 ft x 28 ft surrounded by granite posts with iron rails. This smaller



            lot has been given the designation of "Section A" for mapping purposes. Many footstones are leaning against   



            the wall out of position. They were probably moved there to help in mowing although it appears that the lot   



            hadn't been cleared in quite some time.                                                                       



                                                                                                                          
            Benns recorded two stones, Thomas & Polly Mowry, as being in a Glocester Cemetery #561 (Vol IV, page 23). They



            also recorded these two stones in this cemetery.                                                              



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No.  3                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM008     SMITH LOT                               SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 500 ft east of DOUGLAS PIKE (ROUTE 7) at TEL pole # 1791/2



            6 burials with 5    inscriptions from 1865 to 1917



            20  ft x 25   ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Recorded by Ethel M White                                                                                     



                                                                                                                          
            Recorded by Charles & Martha Benns who gave it #595 and transcribed it in Vol IV page 39. They record it as   



            follows:                                                                                                      



                "Smith Family, North Smithfield"                                                                          



                                                                                                                          
            NOTE: This lot is is Smithfield.                                                                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who decsribed location as "Mollo's"                                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry December 23, 1996. Location of lot is adjacent to a dirt road leading from       



            Douglas Pike across from pole 179 1/2. Some maps list this dirt road as Lydia Ann Rd, but no signs are up to  



            indicate this. Stone and footstone for #5 do not line up.                                                     



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM009     PHETTEPLACE FARM LOT                    SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 100 ft south of GEORGE WASHINGTON HWY (ROUTE 116) at TEL pole # 2     



            6 burials with 6    inscriptions from 1865 to 1905



            36  ft x 36   ft in fair condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by Ethel M White in the 1930's                                                                    



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol III, page 312). They assigned it #336 and described it as          



            "Phetteplace Family, Smithfield"                                                                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as follows: "Washington Highway, between National Guard and Harris 



            Road"                                                                                                         



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry November 23, 1996.                                                               



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM010     NATHANIEL MOWRY LOT                     SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 250 ft west of BENJAMIN BURLINGAME ROAD at TEL pole # 11    



            5 burials with 4    inscriptions from 1813 to 1842



            25  ft x 15   ft in good condition no enclosure; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25, page 389). He described lot as follows:                                



                 "On farm north of Mason Mowry place, on side hill, lot not protected, some neglected."                   



                                                                                                                          
            Ethel M White transcribed and described it as:                                                                



                "Mowry Farm - Harold Jencks Mowry near Burlingame estate - 1937"                                          



            Also described as:                                                                                            



                "On Burlingame Estate-Latham Rd- Wionkiege Village straight ahead- Hugh Brown Res - Cem on left"          



                                                                                                                          
                                                                                                                          



            Ron Farrar transcribed and described lot as: "Burlingame Road, Talbee's"                                      



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry March 28, 1998. Lot is located in front of and to the left of #79 Benjamin       



            Burlingame Road. Owners of property take good care of the lot.                                                



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No.  4                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM011     ESTES-LATHAM LOT                        SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 500 ft east of BENJAMIN BURLINGAME ROAD at TEL pole # 7     



            26 burials with 24    inscriptions from 1826 to 1988



            64  ft x 40   ft in fair condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Oct 29, 1919, (Vol 25 pp382-385). He describes lot as follows:                  



                 "On the Benoni Latham farm back from the road, walled two sides, granite posts and iron rails, yard in   



            good order"                                                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ethel M White who describes it as follows:                                                     



                 "Latham & Estes - Smithfield - Randall Farm Same road as airport is on (Emmons Road) at end turn left -  



            go straight across highway to hairpin turn - turn right - cemetery - go to bottom of hill - turn left - keep  



            right over hill. Present owner, Harold Mowry - formerly Burlingame."                                          



                                                                                                                          
            A stone was transcribed by Grace G Tillinghast Sept 8, 1932, (Vol 25, page 382).                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar  who described location as "Burlingame Road"                                        



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry April 25, 1998. Lot is located to the rear of 68 Benjamin Burlingame Road. Follow



            stone wall to the left of home about 500 feet. The lot is bordered on two sides by a stone wall and two sides 



            by granite posts with iron rails.                                                                             



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM012     ALDRICH LOT                             SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 500 ft west of DOUGLAS PIKE (RTE 7) ENTRANCE TO BRYANT COLL. at TEL pole # 191   



            3 burials with 2    inscriptions from 1841 to 1857



            20  ft x 20   ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign missing



            NOTE: Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as: "Bryant Entrance, Douglas Pike"                                



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry February 1, 1997. Lot can be found by using entrance road to Bryant College. At  



            Pole #2, right side of road, travel about 30 feet. As you begin to enter wooded area, you will find 2 stones  



            and a footstone marked "T.S. & E.S."                                                                          



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM013     MOWRY LOT                               SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 1000 ft south of BENJAMIN BURLINGAME ROAD at TEL pole # 25    



            33 burials with 27    inscriptions from 1806 to 1966



            50  ft x 75   ft in good condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25, pp 310-316). He described lot as follows:                              



                   "The Mowry Burial yard on the Old Richard Mowry farm north some distance from the school house, lot    



            well walled."                                                                                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ethel M White:                                                                                 



                    "Dan Smith Farm/Otto Neuman Place-1937"                                                               



                                                                                                                          
            A few stones transcribed by Ethel M White - 1932.                                                             



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as "Burlingame Road, Mowry Cemetery"                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry April 25, 1998. This lot is found by traveling up dirt road opposite pole 25,    



            toward the town water tank. It can be found just before the tank on the left of the road. The sign for this   



            lot is found about 200 feet from the lot along the road leading to it. The entrance gate is quite ornate and  



            in fair condition. Most stones have been pushed over.                                                         



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No.  5                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM014     THOMAS APPLEBEY LOT                     SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 350 ft west of WILLIAMS ROAD at TEL pole # 29    



            28 burials with 25    inscriptions from 1828 to 1944



            60  ft x 70   ft in good condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James n Arnold (Vol 25 pp323-328). He desribes lot as follows:                                 



                "On the William Corey farm in sight of the house and by the road, a burial yard of his family, lot fenced 



            by granite posts and iron rails. Yard neglected."                                                             



                                                                                                                          
            Ethel M White transcribed and described as follows:                                                           



                "On Williams Rd, off Log Rd from Pleasant View Ave, Spragueville."                                        



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as: "Williams Road"                                               



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry March 28, 1998. Lot is located to the rear of 100 Williams Rd. It is boreder on  



            the south and west by a stone wall and on the north and east by granite posts with iron rails. No opening     



            exists to use an an entrance to the yard.                                                                     



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM015     SAYLES LOT                              SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 150 ft west of DOUGLAS PIKE (RTE 7) at TEL pole # 183   



            2 burials 



            50  ft x 50   ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by Irene Nebicker in early 1970's.                                                                



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as: "Across from Decotis Farm"                                    



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry December 23, 1996. Lot is open so size is an estimate. Heavy overgrowth of briars



            made an examination of the lot impossible. From what could be seen, no stone mentioned is still standing, but 



            could still be in area covered over with vegetation.                                                          



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM016     HARRIS LOT                              SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 500 ft east of HARRIS ROAD at TEL pole # 32    



            66 burials with 49    inscriptions from 1796 to 1994



            85  ft x 65   ft in excellent condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns who assigned it #337 (Vol 3, p 313)                                     



            They described it as follows:                                                                                 



                                                                                                                          
               "Harris Family on Harris Road, Smithfield"                                                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ethel White                                                                                    



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25 pp 19-27), August 12, 1919. He described it as follows:                 



                "On the ______Harris farm back from the road, a burial yard, wall & lot in fair condition."               



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar. "Harris Road, Harris Farm"                                                         



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry March 15, 1997. Lot can be found to the rear of 175 Harris Road. Follow driveway 



            to end, lot will be at end of driveway.                                                                       



            Many footstones have been removed and are leaning against the wall.                                           



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No.  6                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM017     CYRUS WILLIAMS LOT                      SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 300 ft south of CONNORS FARM DRIVE at TEL pole # 15    



            7 burials with 7    inscriptions from 1822 to 1912



            27  ft x 27   ft in poor condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold, Sept 28, 1919 (Vol 25, pp 321-322). He describes lot as follows:               



                  "On the Lolman Williams farm near the road and house, lot fenced with granite posts and iron rails, yard



            in fair condition."                                                                                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol V, page 109). The assigned it #886 and described it as: "Williams  



            Family, Smithfield"                                                                                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as: "Mann School Road, rear of Connors."                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry March 2, 1997. Lot was originally recorded as being on Mann School Road. Since   



            those earlier surveys were done, a subdivision has grown up in the area. In 1997 it is far easier to approach 



            lot from Connors Farm Drive, between and behind two homes at 50 & 52.                                         



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM018     DANIEL MANN LOT                         SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 50 ft north of MANN SCHOOL ROAD at TEL pole # 47    



            12 burials with 10    inscriptions from 1823 to 1930



            32  ft x 40   ft in fair condition enclosed with granite posts; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25, pp307-309). He described lot as follows:                               



                   "On the Frank Mann place north of the District school house beside the road a burial yard overgrown    



            with briers and locust, fence in fine condition."                                                             



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as "Next to Hyde's Tree Farm, Mann School Road"                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns, #545, (Vol IV, page 19). The described lot as "Mann Family." They      



            incorrectly record this lot as a Glocester cemetery.                                                          



            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry on February 1, 1997. Lot in fairly good condition, could easily be cleaned up.   



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM019     STEPHEN STEERE LOT                      SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 500 ft north of CAPRON ROAD at TEL pole # 15    



            30 burials with 9    inscriptions from 1849 to 1910



            90  ft x 56   ft in fair condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25, pp341-343). He describes lot as follows:                               



                   "On the Steere farm near Stillwater Station, fenced by granite posts and iron rails, lot badly         



            overgrown with brush, trees and briers."                                                                      



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ethel M White                                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol 6, page 23), who assigned it #938 and described it as "Steere      



            Family, Stillwater"                                                                                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as "Carlton's Farm, Capron Road"                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry February 7, 1998. All engraved stones were downand/or broken. Many fieldstones.  



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM020     APPLEBY LOT                             SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 10 ft south of STILLWATER RD at TEL pole # 61    



            50 burials with 16    inscriptions from 1781 to 1963



            20  ft x 40   ft in excellent condition enclosed with granite posts; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Visited by James N Arnold on Oct 11, 1919, it is recorded in his work in Volume 25, pages 356-358. He         



            describes it as:                                                                                              



                                                                                                                          
                On the Appleby farm at Stillwater east of the river, beside the road. Here are two lots, the oldest not   



            protected although in fair order, the following yard is fenced with granite posts, in fine order."            



                                                                                                                          
            Arnold also states at the end of his description that:                                                        



                 "We are told that a Smith family owned and lived on these premises before the Appleby Family and that    



            many of these fieldstone  are Smith grave markers."                                                           



                                                                                                                          
            H B Smith also transcribed one stone in 1935 (Vol 25 page 358).                                               



                                                                                                                          
            near Georgiaville Reservoir at a place called 'Carey's love nest"                                             



                                                                                                                          
            Recorded by Charles & Martha Benns between 1931-1935. It is listed in Volume III, page 314, and given the     



            number of 338. They describe lot as "Appleby Family, Smithfield"                                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as "Stillwater Road"                                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry February 16, 1997. Lot is made up of two burial grounds The main lot is 20' x 40'



            surrounded by granite posts. The second area (Lot A) to the west is an open approximately 55' x 35'. This     



            contains all fieldstone markers except for 1.                                                                 



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No.  7                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM021     OBADIAH SMITH LOT                       SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 500 ft north of LIMEROCK ROAD at TEL pole # 29    



            7 burials with 6    inscriptions from 1828 to 1891



            32  ft x 32   ft in fair condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign missing



            NOTE: Transcribed by Emma H Robertston 1937 (Vol 25 page 437). She describes lot as follows:                        



                  "At Niles Dairy farm. This road is right of Douglas Pike, opposite Stillwater Road going from           



            Providence."                                                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Ethel M White transcribed and recorded it as follows:                                                         



                  "On Niles Dairy Farm - formerly Obadiah Smith's Farm, Limerock Rd, Lincoln, RI"                         



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who describes lot as follows:                                                       



                  "Limerock Road, opposite Clark Road"                                                                    



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry March 15, 1997. Lot sits at the highest point in the middle of a pasture and can 



            be easily seen from the road. All stones are down and some are broken.                                        



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM022     GEORGE SMITH LOT                        SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 180 ft east of CLARK ROAD at TEL pole # 3     



            20 burials with 18    inscriptions from 1814 to 1932



            30  ft x 50   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in poor condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by Ethel M White                                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Frank T Calef assigned it Lot #3. Its transcription is found on pages 6-8. He describes its    



            location as:                                                                                                  



            "Georgiaville-Limerock Road. East of the Douglass Pike."                                                      



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns who assigned it #292 (Vol II, p 275)                                    



            "Smith Family-Smithfield"                                                                                     



            Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25, pp12-15)  who described it as follows:                                 



                 "On the Arnold Smith farm now owned by J. S. Packard. Lot beautifully walled and lot in fine condition." 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar.                                                                                    



                "Limerock & Clark Roads (J Russell Price)"                                                                



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry November 29, 1996. At time of transcription, there was excavation around lot,    



            perhaps for the building of a home. Almost all stones were lying flat many were broken.                       



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM023     EVANS LOT                               SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 20 ft north of EVANS DRIVE(OFF OF TARKLIN ROAD) at TEL pole # 94    



            30 burials with 12    inscriptions from 1806 to 1886



            36  ft x 68   ft in fair condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 24, 1919 (Vol 25, pp 302-305). He describes lot as follows:                



                 "On the Mapleville road near the town line in Smithfield coming from Greenville, at top of hill. Yard    



            badly overgrown with brush & briers."                                                                         



                                                                                                                          
            He also goes on to describe another part of cemetery as:                                                      



                 "The following are enclosed by granite posts and iron rails, yard badly overgrown with brush & briers"   



                                                                                                                          
            Grace G Tillinghast also transcribed one stone Oct, 1930, (Vol 25, page 305)                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol IV page 48). They assigned it #615 and described it as "Evans      



            Family, Smithfield"                                                                                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as "Evans Drive"                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry April 25, 1998. Lot consists of a small area about 20' sq which contains about 4 



            or 5 stones. Although Arnold listed all the same stones in this enclosure, Many seem out of position. The     



            remaining stones and field stones are located outside this area, scattered over an area approximately 36 feet 



            x 68 feet. Although some trimming has taken place within enclosure, the area surrounding it is quite          



            overgrown.                                                                                                    



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No.  8                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM024     JEHU EVANS LOT                          SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 180 ft north of MANN SCHOOL ROAD at TEL pole # 57    



            46 burials with 23    inscriptions from 1758 to 1963



            140 ft x 90   ft in excellent condition enclosed with a metal fence; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 27, 1919 (Vol 25 pp 316-321). He describes lot as follows:                 



                  "On the --------farm, lot well protected and in good order"                                             



                                                                                                                          
            Some stones transcribed by Grace G Tillinghast, Oct 13, 1932 (Vol 25, page 319).                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar, who described lot as follows:                                                      



                  "Homestead farm, Mann School Road"                                                                      



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry March 2, 1997. Lot is made up of one area of stones approximately 30' x 30'      



            surrounded by granite posts and iron rails and stones in an open area. Lot is in excellent condition and      



            obviously maintained by some person or organization. Not only is the cemetery surrounded on three sides by a  



            chain link fence, but so is the right of way leading to it. In the southeast corner of the lot is a large     



            stone with a bronze plaque which reads:                                                                       



                  "In memory of John Steere 1634-1724 and his wife Hannah Wickenden. Their last homestead included this   



            site. "Honor thy father and thy mother".                                                                      



                  The Steere Family Association-1977                                                                      



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM025     RICHARD SWEET LOT                       SMITHFIELD RI



             NIMITZ ROAD (AT INTERSECTION W/EISENHOWER RD) at TEL pole # 4     



            5 burials with 5    inscriptions from 1841 to 1885



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25, pp328-329). He describes lot as follows:                               



                                                                                                                          
                  "On the Richard Sweet place at Spragueville, back and in sight of the road and between it and the       



            Reservoir, burial yard of his family, yard fenced with granite posts, wooden pickets, poor order, yard the    



            same."                                                                                                        



                                                                                                                          
            Grace G Tillinghast (Vol 25, page 329) transcribed one stone.                                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ethel M White                                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol II, page 201). They assigned it #188 and described it as "in       



            Smithfield at Spragueville"                                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Two stones were transcribed by Ron Farrar but were mistakenly assigned to SM076.                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry November 24, 1996. Lot is located on a traffic island at the intersection of     



            Nimitz & Eisenhower Rd. The island is approximately 29' in diameter and completely open. No posts or enclosure



            of any kind is visible. All stones are lying face up, and may have been put this way purposely for safety     



            reasons.                                                                                                      



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM026     SMITH LOT                               SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 150 ft south of GLENNA ROAD at TEL pole # 5     



            5 burials with 5    inscriptions from 1853 to 1870



            56  ft x 56   ft in good condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign missing



            NOTE: James N Arnold recorded this cemetery circa 1919, and recorded it in his work in Volume 25, pages 340-341. He 



            described lot as:                                                                                             



                                                                                                                          
                "On the next farm north from the Col Winsor Farnum farm, back from the road, burial yard fenced by granite



            posts and iron rails, in poor order, lot overgrown with brush."                                               



                                                                                                                          
            Recorded by Charles & Martha Benns between 1931-1935. It is recorded in their work, Volume II, page 201, and  



            was given the number of 187. They described lot as: "In Smithfield at Georgiaville"                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as: "Across from Fred Andrews near 295"                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry March 15, 1997. Formerly this cemetery was recorded as being on Farnum Pike.     



            Development in the area has made this lot more accessable from Glenna Road. It is located behind a home at 12 



            Glenna Road. All stones are down, but it appears as though this was intentional rather then by nature or      



            vandalism. Lot is quite large to contain only 5 stones.                                                       



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No.  9                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM027     ANGELL LOT                              SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 200 ft west of STILLWATER RD at TEL pole # 28    



            45 burials with 36    inscriptions from 1750 to 1890



            56  ft x 40   ft in good condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold August 21, 1919 (Vol 25 pp 56-65). He describes lot as follows:                 



                "On the east side of the Georgiaville Pond and on the west side of the road, some distance back, are a    



            group of lots, yard very much neglected"                                                                      



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol 1 page 83) They assigned it number 72 and describe it as "Angell   



            Family, Georgiaville". They also note at the end of the transcription:                                        



                 "Note- The Angell family were in one enclosure and the others were scattered outside in small groups."   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ethel M White                                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described its location as                                                       



                  "Stillwater Road, next to Georgiaville Pond & MS Patt"                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry April 25, 1998. Area contains 3 lots, the main lot, a second lot 10 feet square  



            containing one stone, and a third open area containing three stones. Lots are well cared for.                 



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM028     (COL) JOHN ANGELL LOT                   SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 5 ft north of WHIPPLE ROAD at TEL pole # 52 1/2



            65 burials with 41    inscriptions from 1809 to 1887



            140 ft x 70   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol III, p355) who gave it #428. They described it as "Angell Family,  



            Smithfield"                                                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ethel M White.                                                                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25, pp 2-11) on August 11, 1919. He described it as:                       



                "On land late belonging to Lyman Arnold, dec'd. and known as the Col. John Angell farm, beside the road,  



            lot walled, in good condition, yard badly neglected and become bushy & briery."                               



                                                                                                                          
            Some additional stones were transcribed by Emma H Robertson in 1937, (Vol 25, page 433)                       



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as:                                                                



                "Whipple, across from Andrew Bianchini"                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry November 30, 1996.                                                               



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM029     COLWELL LOT                             SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 300 ft west of COLWELL ROAD at TEL pole # 73    



            8 burials with 8    inscriptions from 1859 to 1945



            40  ft x 40   ft in excellent condition enclosed with a metal fence; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold, Sept 25, 1919 (Vol 25, pp306-307). He describes lot as follows:                



                  "On farm now owned by ______ Colwell formerly Steere Farm back and in sight of road in pastural lot well



            fenced and in good order, yard same."                                                                         



                                                                                                                          
            One stone was transcribed by Grace G Tillinghast (Vol 25, page 307)                                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as "Colwell Road"                                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry March 2, 1997. Lot is to the rear of a private home at 26 Colwell Road. Lot is   



            well maintained by the owner of the property it sits on. The owner has even built the cemetery into the theme 



            of his landscaping.                                                                                           



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 10                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM030     CAPT JAMES SMITH LOT                    SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 100 ft south of RIVERVIEW DRIVE at TEL pole # 7     



            30 burials with 6    inscriptions from 1786 to 1854



            60  ft x 60   ft in good condition no enclosure; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25, pp329-331). He describes lot as follows:                               



                                                                                                                          
                "On the old Capt James Smith farm at Spragueville near the pond in dense scrub oaks, no protection."      



                                                                                                                          
            Ethel M White transcribed lot and describes it as:                                                            



                "Smith Family on Spragueville Res. Smithfield"                                                            



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as; "River View Ave, Spragueville (J.T. Larkin)                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry January 25, 1997. Lot is well maintained by owner of property.                   



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM031     COL ABRAHAM WINSOR LOT                  SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 10 ft north of PEACH BLOSSOM LANE at TEL pole # 7     



            59 burials with 50    inscriptions from 1718 to 1989



            100 ft x 75   ft in good condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in poor condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 19, 1919, (Vol 25 pp265-275). He described lot as follows:                 



                                                                                                                          
                    "On the Col Abraham Winsor farm now owned by T. K. Winsor, the apple king, is a burial yard of the    



            Winsor family lot well walled and yard in fine condition.                                                     



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Mary A Ferreira in 1991.                                                                       



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol V pp109-110). They assigned it #887, and describe it as "Winsor    



            Family, Smithfield"                                                                                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who describes it as "Maplewood Plant, Peach Blossom Lane, off Austin Ave."          



                                                                                                                          
            Four stones from Winsor lot (SM099) were relocated here in 1948.                                              



                                                                                                                          
            Roger Beaudry transcribed lot on February 18, 1997. Many stones have been reset in concrete and cemetery is in



            good condition. The historical cemetery sign, although standing, has had the number designation completely    



            obliterated.                                                                                                  



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM032     STEPHEN B WINSOR LOT                    SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 500 ft north of AUSTIN AVE at TEL pole # 44    



            9 burials with 9    inscriptions from 1871 to 1887



            40  ft x 65   ft in fair condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 19, 1919, (Vol 25, pp262-164). He described lot as follows:                



                 "On the Albert S Winsor farm, formerly the Capt Abram Winsor farm in back from the road."                



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry May 1, 1999. Lot is located by following stone wall at 113 Austin Avenue.        



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM033     APPLEBEY SMITH LOT                      SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 150 ft east of PLEASANT VIEW AVENUE (ROUTE 116) at TEL pole # 51    



            11 burials with 3    inscriptions from 1844 to 1910



            40  ft x 40   ft in fair condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 18, 1919 (Vol 25 pp240-241). He describes lot as follows:                  



                 "On the Appleton Smith farm in back from the road but in sight and north of the Turner & Mowry yard, at  



            corner of road granite posts and iron rods, yard neglected."                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            In addition to above Grace G Tillinghast listed additional burials on Oct 8, 1930.                            



                                                                                                                          
            Recorded by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol II page 202). They assigned it #191. and described it as follows:     



                 "Smith Family in Smithfield, at Spragueville."                                                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as:                                                                



                 "Next to skating rink"                                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry January 25, 1997. Lot is badly overgrown with trees. It is found behind a strip  



            mall, and next to municipal skating rink.                                                                     



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 11                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM034     BOWERS-CLARK LOT                        SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 150 ft southwest of FARNUM PIKE (ROUTE 104) at TEL pole # 81 1/2



            15 burials with 14    inscriptions from 1853 to 1900



            27  ft x 35   ft in good condition no enclosure; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 29, 1919 (Vol 25, pp332-335). He described lot as follows:                 



                   "On the Stillwater Road south side of river on right of road, lot fenced in good order."               



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol II, page 201) who assigned it #186. They described lot as: "In     



            Smithfield at Georgiaville"                                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as: "Farnum Pike, Mrs Black, Georgiaville."                       



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry December 23, 1996. Lot is located behind 94 Farnum Pike.                         



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM035     FARNUM LOT                              SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 5 ft east of HOMESTEAD AVENUE at TEL pole # 2     



            15 burials with 15    inscriptions from 1814 to 1914



            117 ft x 33   ft in poor condition enclosed with a metal fence; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: James N Arnold recorded this lot circa 1919, and listed it in his work, Volume 25, pages 71-73. He describes  



            lot as:                                                                                                       



                                                                                                                          
                "At Georgiaville opposite the mill, south side and same side of road. Lot well walled on one side and     



            picket fenced on the other three sides. All in good order."                                                   



                                                                                                                          
                                                                                                                          



            Ethel M White recorded this lot in 1937 and recorded it as:                                                   



            "Georgiaville back of railroad"                                                                               



                                                                                                                          
            Recorded by Charles & Martha Benns between 1931-1935. It is recorded in Vol III, page 331 of their work. It   



            was given the number of #374. They described it as "In Georgiaville, Smithfield"                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as follows:                                                        



                  "Georgiaville, between Homestead & Higgins"                                                             



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry November 30, 1996. Lot is in poor condition but there are signs that someone     



            recently had righted some of the stones. Lot is surrounded on one side by a stone wall and on the other three 



            with an ornate metal fence, some sections of which are missing.                                               



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM036     ELISHA STEERE LOT                       SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 300 ft south of PUTNAM PIKE (RTE 44) at TEL pole # 228   



            25 burials with 17    inscriptions from 1842 to 1983



            77  ft x 88   ft in excellent condition enclosed with a wooden fence; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 24, 1919 (Vol 25 pp297-301). He describes lot as follows:                  



                    "On the Steere farm on edge of the Waterman Reservoir north-east and in iback of road, is a burial    



            yard in good order, picket fence on granite posts."                                                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol III, page 390) who assigned it #492. They described lot as "Steere 



            Family, Smithfield"                                                                                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as "Putnam Pike, West Greenville"                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry December 23, 1996. Lot is located within "The Lakes Adult Resort Community." 720 



            Putnam Pike. Opposite Unit 203.                                                                               



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 12                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM037     MOWRY-TURNER LOT                        SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 20 ft east of PLEASANT VIEW AVE at TEL pole # 42    



            36 burials with 34    inscriptions from 1850 to 1943



            60  ft x 45   ft in excellent condition enclosed with a metal fence; sign missing



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold August 28, 1919 (Vol 25, pp 119-126) who described it as follows:               



                   "At Corner of two roads west of Spragueville is a burial yard with iron pickets and granite bases, yard



            in fine condition. Known as the Mowry and Turner yard."                                                       



                                                                                                                          
            Additional names added by Grace G Tillinghast on October 8, 1930, (Vol 25, p126) She described it as follows: 



                    "Cemetery on hill at fork in roads. Iron fence around lot"                                            



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns who assigned it #372. Their transcription is found in Volume III page   



            330. They called it simply "Mowry                                                                             



            Family, Smithfield."                                                                                          



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as "Fork between Cedar Swamp Road & Pleasant View Avenue."         



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry January 25, 1997.                                                                



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM038     LOOMIS LOT                              SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 500 ft west of FARNUM PIKE (ROUTE 104) at TEL pole # 70    



            26 burials with 9    inscriptions from 1865 to 1962



            54  ft x 45   ft in excellent condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol 5 page 102) who assigned it #869. They referred to lot as "Loomis  



            Family"                                                                                                       



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by James N Arnold August 22, 1919 (Vol 25 pp 74-5) who described it as follows:                   



                  "Opposite the Dr Nutting house & yard, opposite side of road, back and on top of a small hill, the      



            Loomis farm, lot fenced with granite posts and iron rods, all in fine order."                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as                                                                 



                    "Rear of town hall"                                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry December 23, 1996.                                                               



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM039     DANIEL SPRAGUE LOT                      SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 300 ft west of CHURCH STREET at TEL pole # 6     



            11 burials with 11    inscriptions from 1815 to 1917



            45  ft x 50   ft in fair condition enclosed with granite posts; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 13, 1919 (Vol 25 pp219-220). He describes lot as follows:                  



                  "Greenvile Cemetery, Third Division, North West. At Greenville a short distance back from the Putnam Ave



            road and in sight of it, back of the church, is another series of burial lots. The first one we have here     



            noted first has a good picket fence, well painted yard in fine order."                                        



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol I pp 87-88) who assigned it #77                                    



            who describes it as "Waterman in Smithfield"                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as "Greenville, next to Tennis Club"                              



                                                                                                                          
            NOTE: All three transcriptions have combined this lot with SM042 which is adjacent.                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry on Feb 15, 1997. Although most stones were down, someone had recently cleared lot



             and had done a good job. Lot itself is trapezoidal in shape with the south row of granite posts running off  



            to an angle making the west border about 20 feet longer then the east. A wooden fence, or what is left of it, 



            is attached to the granite posts, but is in terrible condition. Lot is located adjacent to SM042.             



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 13                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM040     BROWN LOT                               SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 150 ft east of PLEASANT VIEW AVENUE (ROUTE 116) at TEL pole # 475   



            15 burials with 12    inscriptions from 1819 to 1926



            40  ft x 56   ft in good condition enclosed with granite posts; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 22, 1919, (Vol 25, pp276-278). He described lot as follows:                



                                                                                                                          
                "Back from the house of the William Winsor farm north of next farm, on the east side of the road, a burial



            yard of Brown, and other families. Yard is fenced with granite posts, iron rods, in fine condition, lot fair" 



                                                                                                                          
            Additional burials were also recorded by Grace G Tillinghast, Oct 8, 1930. (Vol 25 page 278)                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol III page 329) who assigned it #371. They describe lot as "Brown &  



            Mowry Families, Smithfield"                                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as "Pleasant View Ave, E.G. Costa"                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry February 8, 1997. Lot is found behind some pine trees adjacent to garage at 55   



            Pleasant View Ave. Stone #11 is bordered by granite posts with no rails. The area is about 22 ft x 15 ft.     



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM041     LATHAM LOT                              SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 300 ft east of CEDAR SWAMP ROAD at TEL pole # 16    



            49 burials with 37    inscriptions from 1790 to 1916



            150 ft x 60   ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign in fair condition



            Tax Assessors Map #:       Plat #: 43    Lot #: 18   



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold August 25, 1919 (Vol 25 pp104-112). He described it as follows:                 



                  "In back of the second house north from the Mowry Four Corners, in the edge of the woodland and on the  



            east side of the road, on top of hill, there are several lots here, badly neglected most of them."            



                                                                                                                          
            In addition to Arnold's transcription, Grace G Tillinghast (Vol 25, page 112) transcribed 7 additional stones 



            in 1932.                                                                                                      



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ethel M White.                                                                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns who assigned it #783. Their transcription can be found in Vol 5 page 11.



            Their description is only "Latham Family, Smithfield"                                                         



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it simply as "Cedar Swamp Road"                                       



            He also states at the end of his transcription that many fieldstone graves, partially destroyed by gravel     



            removal.                                                                                                      



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry November 21, 1998. This burial yard has three distinct sections. Section "A" is  



            an area 28' x 14' enclosed with granite posts and iron rails. Section "B" is adjacent to "A",is enclosed only 



            by granite posts and is 10' x 12'. The rest of the graves are in an open area. The entire area of the burial  



            ground is approximately 150' x 60' including Sections "A" & "B".                                              



                                                                                                                          
            Some excavation has taken place adjacent to the burial ground.                                                



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM042     WATERMAN-BURLINGAME LOT                 SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 200 ft west of CHURCH STREET at TEL pole # 6     



            58 burials with 44    inscriptions from 1731 to 1884



            70  ft x 100  ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25, pp221-234) Sept 13, 1919. He describes lot as follows:                 



                  "Greenville Cemetery, Third Division, North West. At Greenville a short distance back from the Putnam   



            Ave road and in sight of it, back of the church, is another series of burial lots."                           



                                                                                                                          
            Arnold noted that one lot "is picketed on granite posts, yard neglected," and for the rest of the stones, "in 



            the space now the graves are without order and not protected, considerable brush and briers."                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol I pp87-88) who assigned it number 77. They described it simply as  



            "Waterman in Smithfield"                                                                                      



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as "Greenville, next to Tennis Club"                               



                                                                                                                          
            NOTE: All three transcriptions merged this cemetery with SM039.                                               



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry February 15, 1997. Lot contains some of the oldest stones found in this town. It 



            was cleared in late March 1997. Many stones are toppled. There is an area about 20 ft sq (Section A)          



            surrounded by granite post with no rails. The rest of this lot is open with no enclosure of any kind. Lot is  



            located adjacent to SM039.                                                                                    



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 14                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM043     BARNES-SMITH LOT                        SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 1500 ft south of MOUNTAINDALE ROAD at TEL pole # 15    



            22 burials with 17    inscriptions from 1846 to 1923



            36  ft x 48   ft in poor condition enclosed with a wooden fence; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold August 28, 1919 (Vol 25 pp 113-116). He discribes it as follows:                



                 "On the Old Barnes Place, back from Wolf Hill Rd, west side on edge of wood. This burial yard is well    



            fenced with pickets, well painted, granite posts, yard in fair order."                                        



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who describes it as "Mountaindale Road"                                             



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry March 9, 1997. Lot is in very poor condition. The wooden fence surrounding lot is



            all but rotted away. Many stones are down. Lot is to the right of field about 1500 feet behind NEL 15.        



                                                                                                                          
            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM044     HILL LOT                                SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 80 ft east of ROUTE 295 NORTH, AT OFF RAMP FROM RTE 44 WEST at TEL pole # 295474



            10 burials with 10    inscriptions from 1845 to 1896



            30  ft x 20   ft in poor condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Ethel M White transcribed and listed it as follows.                                                           



                                                                                                                          
            "Barnes Farm Graniteville, Waterman Ave & Putnam Pike - 1937"                                                 



            also listed it as:                                                                                            



            "Another cemetery on Barnes Farm"                                                                             



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by James N Arnold August 25, 1919 (Vol 25 pp92-94) and described as follows:                      



                   "On the Putnam Pike west side of road in meadow land on farm known as the Barnes farm, yard fenced,    



            granite posts and iron rods, yard in fair condition."                                                         



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar along with SM047. He described its location as:                                     



                "Near Rt 44 & 295 (Sebille Road)"                                                                         



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry December 23, 1996. This cemetery was not relocated when route 295 was built. It  



            has suffered some vandalism.                                                                                  



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM045     GREENVILLE CEMETERY                     SMITHFIELD RI



             SMITH AVE at TEL pole # 21    



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 4 & 6, 1919 (Vol 25 pp 180-218). He describes it as follows:               



                   "Greenville cemetery. Second Division, South West. In the cemetery on the opposite side of the road,   



            with a large tomb in front, beside the road. The cemetery is poorly fenced. These lots are mostly in fair or  



            good order."                                                                                                  



            James N Arnold also states on page 212 that "Here were several graves of the Harris Family with a fine granite



            block. These have been recently removed to Swan Point."                                                       



                                                                                                                          
            Additional information was added by Grace G Tillinghast (Vol 25, pp218-218A) in 1932, and by Emma H Robertson 



            (Vol 25, page 218A) in 1938.                                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol IV page 148). They assigned it #749 and described it as follows:   



                     "From large cemetery at Greenville"                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ethel M White                                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar                                                                                     



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry June 27, 1997 thru                                                               



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 



       Page No. 15                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM046     MOWRY LOT                               SMITHFIELD RI



             REMOVED TO HIGHLAND MEMORIAL PARK,JOHNSTON,RI



            17 burials with 2    inscriptions 



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold August 25, 1919 (Vol 25, pp102-3). He describes location as follows:            



                  "At the Mowry Four corners on the Putnam Ave North West in open lot, is a small yard, lot fenced granite



            posts and iron rails, yard in fair condition."                                                                



                                                                                                                          
            Along with Arnold's transcription are two stones added by Grace G Tillinghast.                                



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as N W of Mowry's Corner.                                          



                                                                                                                          
            This cemetery was removed to Highland Memorial Park, Johnston, RI (JN008), in the early 1970's. It originally 



            was located on Putnam Pike (Route 44) at NEL #129. It would have been located adjacent to a Benny's store. The



            reason for the relocation was for the construction of a business, but this never occured. In 1998, the land is



            still undeveloped.                                                                                            



                                                                                                                          
            Cemetery records indicate that the remains of 13 of the original 17 bodies were interred in the "Acacia"      



            section, Lot #21A & #22. The original stones were not moved to Highland, and only 4 names appear on 2 bronze  



            placques. It's not possible to determine what happened to the other 4 bodies. The one mystery about this      



            relocation is that all cemetery records indicate that the re-internment took place on March 18, 1954 for all  



            thirteen  bodies. This would be about twenty years before the all acounts say the bodies were moved.          



                                                                                                                          
            This cemetery was transcribed by Roger Beaudry on November 14, 1998.                                          



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM047     BARNES LOT                              SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 100 ft east of ROUTE 295 NORTH, AT OFF RAMP FROM RTE 44 WEST at TEL pole # 295475



            29 burials with 25    inscriptions from 1822 to 1915



            60  ft x 60   ft in fair condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold August 25, 1919 (Vol 25, pp 94-99). He described lot as follows:                



               "On this same farm (SM044) near the barn and fence, another burial yard, fenced with granite post and iron 



            rods, lot in fine condition."                                                                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ethel M White who described it as:                                                             



               "At Graniteville- Waterman Ave toward Greenville."                                                         



                                                                                                                          
            One stone transcribed by Grace G Tillinghast 1932, (Vol 25, p99).                                             



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar along with SM044. He described it as "Near Rte 44 & 295 (Sebille Road)"             



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry December 23, 1996. This lot was moved in the early 1970's to make way for route  



            295. It is currently adjacent to SM044. Some stones were replaced by granite stones made to look like slate   



            stones.                                                                                                       



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM048     JAMES ARNOLD LOT                        SMITHFIELD RI



            north of ORCHARD AVENUE at TEL pole # 7     



            Tax Assessors Map #:       Plat #: 53    Lot #: 44   



            NOTE: If lot ever existed it was never transcribed or mentioned by any previous researcher. Town Plat maps shows the



            lot clearly as being half on lot #44 and half in the road. A survey of the area on October 31, 1998 by Roger  



            Beaudry could find no sign of any burial ground. If stones of any kind ever existed, they have been removed.  



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 16                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM049     SMITH LOT                               SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 10 ft south of SMITH AVENUE at TEL pole # 13    



            158 burials with 111    inscriptions 



            200 ft x 150  ft in poor condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign missing



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 4, 1919, (Vol 25, pp 153-179). Hes describes it as follows:                



                  "Greenville cemetery, First Division, North East. At Greenville between the pond and the road leading   



            west from the post office there is quite a cemetery divided into divisions and lots. The first of these, the  



            north east one, is covered by quite a forest growth. We are told that abouth here are a number of graves that 



            have field stones only. One grave has around it a picket fence*, now in very poor condition. from appearances 



            there are a number of graves on the right and a very recent one, has a flag. We find a distance north east    



            from here, these graves without protection.** Beside this lot are a series of lots surrounded by iron rails   



            and granite posts. Some of these lots show neglect while some are in fine order."                             



            Arnold also describes second part of lot as follows:                                                          



                   "In the second division of this yard, and like this fenced with granite posts and iron rails, all the  



            lots in this section are in fair and good condition"                                                          



                                                                                                                          
            Some burials also transcribed by Grace G Tillinghast (Vol 25 pp 218-218A) in 1932.                            



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ethel M White                                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar.                                                                                    



                                                                                                                          
                                                                                                                          



            *Wolfenden stone                                                                                              



                                                                                                                          
            **Easton stones                                                                                               



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry February 22, 1997. Cemetery is made up of five very distinct areas. The furthest 



            west "Section A" is an area about 140 ft X 60 ft and is surrounded by granite posts with iron rails. Within   



            this section is an area about 40 ft x 40 ft "Section A1." The next area "Section B" is about 140 ft x 60 ft   



            and is not enclosed. About 75 ft east of this section is an area 16 ft x 16 ft surrounded by granite posts    



            with iron rails "Section C." The last area "Section D" is located about 50 ft east of "Section C." It is an   



            open area of undetermined area which contains two stones.                                                     



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM050     WINSOR LOT                              SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 10 ft east of PROSPECT ST at TEL pole # 7     



            42 burials with 34    inscriptions from 1776 to 1938



            50  ft x 100  ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold August 28, 1919, (Vol 25 pp127-137). He describes lot as follows:               



                 "On the William Winsor farm near the house, is the family burial yard. This lot is in fine order and well



            walled."                                                                                                      



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ethel M White who described it as:                                                             



                  "Pleasant View Ave in field - cow pasture."                                                             



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns, (Vol IV page 117), who gave it #687.                                   



            They described it as follows:                                                                                 



                   "Winsor family, Greenville"                                                                            



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar                                                                                     



                   "Prospect St, Greenville"                                                                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry February 8, 1997. Lot has had some sign of clearing by persons unknown.          



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 17                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM051     STEPHEN KEECH LOT                       SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 75 ft south of BREEZY KNOLL ROAD at TEL pole # 2     



            5 burials with 5    inscriptions from 1868 to 1890



            30  ft x 30   ft in excellent condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25 page 142) who described it as follows:                                  



                 "On the Elder Allen place in open lot a much neglected yard, fenced with iron rails and granite posts."  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol II page 199) & given #183. They describe lot "Keech Family,        



            Greenville"                                                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry Feb 8, 1997. Lot is in excellent condition, being maintained by property owner,  



            Mr Larry Iadevaia. All iron rails had been replaced, and straw was spread to inhibit the growth of weeds.     



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM052     STEERE-EDDY LOT                         SMITHFIELD RI



             TARKLIN ROAD at TEL pole # 36    



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold,October 7, 1919, (Vol 25, pp 343-346). He does not describe location of lot.    



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who describes lot as "Colwell Road"                                                 



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM053     BENJAMIN SAYLES LOT                     SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 5 ft west of RESERVOIR ROAD at TEL pole # 1     



            10 burials with 2    inscriptions from 1825 to 1879



            25  ft x 43   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in poor condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by Ethel M White who described it as follows:                                                     



                   "Abigail Enches Farm, Limerock, Lincoln - 1937"                                                        



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol IV page 28) who assigned it #571 and described its location as:    



                   "Sayles Family, Smithfield"                                                                            



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as "Reservoir Road"                                                



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry November 24, 1996. Cemetery has a stone wall on the North and East sides, the    



            other two sides are open. At the time of transcription lot was badly overgrown and neglected. A large tree    



            branch had fallen across it and vines covered the lot. The close proximity of a house has not guaranteed this 



            cemetery's upkeep.                                                                                            



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM054     UNKNOWN LOT                             SMITHFIELD RI



             RESERVOIR ROAD



            NOTE: An intensive investigation of the area failed to turn up this lot. If it did exist, it may have been destroyed



            when Route 295 was constructed in the area.                                                                   



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM055     SAYLES-NEWELL LOT                       SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 450 ft west of RESERVOIR ROAD at TEL pole # 41    



            25 burials with 25    inscriptions from 1836 to 1923



            42  ft x 80   ft in poor condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign ???



            NOTE: Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol IV page 28) who assigned it #570. They described lot as follows:   



                    "Sayles & Newell Families, Smithfield"                                                                



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Irene Nebiker in early 1970's                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as follows:                                                       



                    "Reservoir Road"                                                                                      



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry November 23, 1996. At NEL #41 proceed north about 2/10 of a mile. Enter woods    



            where road takes a sharp turn to the right. Head toward the reservoir. You will find lot about 450 feet in    



            close to shore of reservoir.                                                                                  



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 18                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM056     WILLIAM MOWRY LOT                       SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 500 ft east of ROCKY HILL ROAD at TEL pole # 37    



            10 burials with 8    inscriptions from 1821 to 1857



            40  ft x 24   ft in very poor condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign missing



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Oct 18, 1891 (Vol 25, pp390-392). He describes lot as follows:                  



                    "On the William Mowry Esq farm once owned by William A Howard. Lot protected by iron rails and granite



            posts. Yard neglected."                                                                                       



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ethel M White who described it as:                                                             



                 "Near Woonsocket Reservoir - Rocky Hill Rd - Smithfield"                                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Irene Nebiker during the early 1970's.                                                         



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as follows:                                                       



                 "Rocky Hill Rd, S.E. of Tobin Farm next to reservoir"                                                    



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry Feb 7, 1998. Cemetery can be found by travelling 3/10 of a mile past telephone   



            pole #37. On right is a path which leads to the Woonsocket Reservoir. Follow path about 200 ft and take fork  



            to the right. Travel down to the water past an old corn crib and foundation to the cemetery. Lot is in        



            deplorable condition. All engraved stones have been broken and scattered about.                               



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM057     PHETTEPLACE LOT                         SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 35 ft north of SWAN ROAD at TEL pole # 5     



            8 burials with 7    inscriptions from 1822 to 1906



            40  ft x 42   ft in fair condition enclosed with a metal fence; sign in poor condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold  Sept 18, 1919 (Vol 25, pp246-247). He described lot as follows:                



                 "Close to the Spragueville School House on opposite side of the road, is a burial yard some neglected,   



            fenced by iron pickets on granite base."                                                                      



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol II, page 201). They assigned it                                    



            number #189 and described it as: "In Smithfield at Spragueville"                                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as "Swan Road"                                                     



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry December 23, 1996. Lot has a beautiful iron fence surrounding it which has       



            unfortunately has been left to rust away. many sections are loose and one is being held up by a pipe driven   



            into the ground.                                                                                              



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM058     SWAN FAMILY LOT                         SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 300 ft south of SWAN ROAD at TEL pole # 17    



            6 burials 



            52  ft x 52   ft in fair condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 18, 1919 (Vol 25 page 247-248). He describes lot as follows:               



                   "Continueing up this road* we find no sight of the road, but on the other side and back some distance, 



            a yard well protected with granite posts and iron rods, but yard is some neglected."  Arnold also makes note  



            of the fact that. "There is a line of graves who have markers, but they appear to have been removed           



            elsewhere."                                                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            *Swan Road                                                                                                    



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol II page 202) who assigned it #190. They describe location as       



            "Jaswell Farm in Spragueville"                                                                                



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who describes lot as "Swan Road (Jaswell) Swan Cemetery. Granite posts and iron     



            rails still surround this yard which also contains the footstones of above. The headstones and graves have    



            been removed to Union Cemetery, North Smithfield."                                                            



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry December 23, 1996. Only 5 footstones are located in lot. Stones were removed to  



            Union Cemetery before 1919.                                                                                   



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 19                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM059     STEPHEN APPLEBY LOT                     SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 550 ft south of SWAN ROAD at TEL pole # 32    



            12 burials with 12    inscriptions from 1836 to 1904



            50  ft x 50   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in poor condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 18, 1919 (Vol 25 pp 249-252). He describes lot as follows:                 



                  "On the Appleby farm back from the road, yard well walled and faced with cement, wall in good order,    



            yard neglected."                                                                                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who describes lot as "Appleby Cemetery, Swan Road, Matteo's."                       



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry April 25, 1998. Lot is one of the most heavily overgrown lots surveyed. Extremely



            difficult to get into. Lot is located to the rear of 80 Swan Road.                                            



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM060     ARNOLD & POLK LOT                       SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 75 ft south of BEVERLY CIRCLE at TEL pole # 9     



            16 burials with 16    inscriptions from 1859 to 1936



            32  ft x 24   ft in fair condition enclosed with granite posts; sign in poor condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold August 29, 1919 (Vol 25, pp139-141) who described it as follows:                



                  "In the Polk burial ground at Greenville, near and in sight of the Putnam Ave, beside the pond. Lot     



            fenced with chains between granite posts, yard in fine order."                                                



                                                                                                                          
            Additional burials in this yard taken by Grace G Tillinghast (Vol 25, p141)                                   



                                                                                                                          
                                                                                                                          



            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol IV p119) who gave it #690 and described it as "Polk Family,        



            Greenville"                                                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry February 8, 1997. Lot has been cleared, but every stone is down. Lot is located  



            on a hill behind home at 8 Beverly Circle.                                                                    



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM061     AARON MOWRY LOT                         SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 500 ft west of AUSTIN AVENUE at TEL pole # 28    



            25 burials with 17    inscriptions from 1821 to 1885



            50  ft x 50   ft in poor condition enclosed with a metal fence; sign in poor condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold, Sept 19, 1919, (Vol 25, pp254-259). He described lot as follows:               



                 "On the Aaron Mowry farm so called anciently, now owned by Mr Williams, back from the road north of the  



            Greenville factory, lot picketed, and wants repairing, lot very much neglected."                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol III page 362). They assigned it number 441 and referred to it as   



            "Mowry family, West Greenville."                                                                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by  Ron Farrar who described lot as "Austin Ave"                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry February 22, 1997. A part of the cemetery shows some signs of clearing, but the  



            majority of it is still badly overgrown. No stones were found standing, all were down and/or broken. Although 



            lot was once surrounded by an ornate iron fence, it is badly rusted and down.                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Lot may be found by following a road adjacent to St Philip's School. Where road turns sharpely to the left    



            continue straight into woods. Follow stone wall about 100 feet until you come to lot.                         



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 20                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM062     ALFRED SMITH LOT                        SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 5 ft south of HANTON CITY TRAIL at TEL pole # 4     



            16 burials with 7    inscriptions from 1816 to 1893



            24  ft x 56   ft in poor condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign missing



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Oct 11, 1919 (Vol 25 pp358-360). He describes lot as follows:                   



                 "On the road leading over the hill east from the woolen mill and beside it a burial lot granite posts and



            iron rails, 3 sides walled"                                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
             Transcribed by Ron Farrar who describes lot as; "Hanton City Road, Stillwater"                               



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry April 18, 1998. Lot is heavily vandalized and in poor condition.                 



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM063     EMOR SMITH LOT                          SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 500 ft south of WHITMAN STREET at TEL pole # 3     



            50 burials with 5    inscriptions from 1787 to 1821



            75  ft x 75   ft in very poor condition enclosed with granite posts; sign missing



            NOTE: Transcribed by Roger Beaudry March 15, 1997. Lot is located behind a parking lot on Waterman Ave and can be   



            easily seen from the street. Due to chain link fencing around the parking lot, burial ground can only be      



            accessed by entering from Whitman St. Cemetery is made up of two sections. The first section is an area of    



            approximately 40' X 30' and is enclosed by granite posts. This area contains all but one of the engraved      



            stones and about a third of the fieldstones. The remaining engraved stone and fieldstones are located outside 



            this area, and causes the entire burial ground to cover an area about 75 feet square.  Some engraved stones   



            have been shattered and one large stone toppled.                                                              



                                                                                                                          
                EMW has described this cemetery as being opposite Esmond Mills on path leading by State Police Barracks in



            1937.                                                                                                         



                                                                                                                          
                Charles & Martha Benns transcribed lot (Vol III, page 331) and gave it #373. They descrbe it as:          



                 "Smith Family at Esmond, Smithfield"                                                                     



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by James N Arnold August 20, 1919 (Volume 25 pp 29-33). He describes lot as follows:              



                 "On the ____Smith farm opposite the mill at Esmond in open lot, yard fenced with granite posts and iron  



            rails, in good condition. Yard much neglected."                                                               



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as:                                                                



                 "Rear of Mine Safety Parking Lot, Esmond"                                                                



                                                                                                                          
            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM064     THOMAS SPRAGUE LOT                      SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 150 ft east of RICHARD STREET at TEL pole # 5     



            14 burials with 11    inscriptions from 1815 to 1871



            60  ft x 60   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 18, 1919 (Vol 25, pp242-245). He describes lot as follows:                 



                "At Mountaindale back from the mill north and close to the pond. Lot walled, faced both sides and capped, 



            yard neglected."                                                                                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who describes lot as "Richard St, Pole 5"                                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry March 8, 1997. Although there is a sign up, it incorrectly labels lot as SM033.  



            Lot is in need of clearing.                                                                                   



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 21                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM065     CAPT ELIJAH DAY LOT                     SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 5 ft west of FACTORY POND CIRCLE at TEL pole # 13    



            22 burials with 2    inscriptions from 1845 to 1845



            65  ft x 43   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold August 29, 1919 (Vol 25, pp143-146). He describes lot as follows:               



                 "On farm now owned by Dr Hughes known as the John Day farm, near Greenville, yard well walled, lot grown 



            over with brush & briers." A later transcription in Volume 17 page 48, lists this lot as being in Johnston and



            records it as, "Road to Greenville, near Fountain Spring, back of orchard. Yard much over-grown, stones badly 



            broken."                                                                                                      



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol VI page 30) who assigned it #948 and described it as "Day Family,  



            Greenville"                                                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who describes lot as "Greenville Ave, Factory Pond"                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry February 8, 1997. Lot is in terrible condition. Many stones are broken and       



            scattered about. Although in an affluent neighborhood, no one seems to care enough to clear it.               



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM066     HUTCHINSON LOT                          SMITHFIELD RI



            west of DOUGLAS PIKE (ROUTE 7) at TEL pole # 85    



            3 burials 



            NOTE: Transcribed by Emma H Robertson 1937 (Vol 25, page 437). She describes lot as follows:                        



                  "Lippitt Farm on left side of Douglas Pike in Georgiaville, up back in woods. Lewis Menard runs the     



            farm"                                                                                                         



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who describes lot as follows:                                                       



                  "Ridge Road, rear of Ethiers"                                                                           



                                                                                                                          
            Registered by Roger Beaudry November, 1996.                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            This lot was located on a small hill adjacent to the Alpine Motel. Over the years , the hill eroded, and the  



            lot disappeared.                                                                                              



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM067     ATWILL SAYLES LOT                       SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 5 ft northeast of RIDGE ROAD at TEL pole # 25    



            21 burials with 12    inscriptions from 1865 to 1991



            40  ft x 70   ft in excellent condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by Ethel M White                                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol IV page 30) who assigned it #579. They called it Sayles & Burbank  



            Families, Smithfield                                                                                          



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by James N Arnold August 21, 1919,(Vol 25 pages 68-9). He describes it as follows:                



                 "Directly opposite of the above two burial lots* on the opposite side of the road, is another burial lot,



            well walled and in fine condition"                                                                            



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar:                                                                                    



                  "Ridge Road, rear of Story's"                                                                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry November 30, 1996. Lot was in excellent condition and well maintained by the     



            owner of the property.                                                                                        



                                                                                                                          
                                                                                                                          



                                                                                                                          
            *SM068 & SM072                                                                                                



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 22                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM068     BALLOU LOT                              SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 5 ft southwest of RIDGE ROAD at TEL pole # 25    



            5 burials with 4    inscriptions from 1878 to 1906



            34  ft x 34   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: next to Luther cemetery #72                                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ethel M White                                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol IV page 28) who gave it #573. They describe it as "Ballou Family,  



            Smithfield"                                                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25, page 67) August 21, 1919 as part of a larger transcription. He         



            describes this cemetery as follows:                                                                           



                 "Beside this yard is another one, well walled but locust trees are growing up fast."                     



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar along with SM072. He referred to both lots as:                                      



                  "Luther & Ballou, Ridge Road"                                                                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry November 30, 1996.                                                               



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM069     WINSOR LOT                              SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 100 ft north of PUTNAM PIKE (ROUTE 44) at TEL pole # 1     



            36 burials with 11    inscriptions from 1901 to 1995



            63  ft x 83   ft in excellent condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 24, 1919 (Vol 25, page 279). He describes lot as follows:                  



                 "At the reservoir where it crosses the Putnam Pike is a burial yard near the road, yard has granite posts



            and iron rods, in fine order, lot fair."                                                                      



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as follows:                                                       



                   "Putnam Pike, Waterman Heights, near Glocester line"                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry February 17, 1997. Cemetery is located directly behind Powder Hill Creamery at   



            777 Putnam Pike. It is on a hill behind building. According to store owner, he figures that the cemetery is   



            perhaps 90% in Smithfield and 10% in Gloucester. The lot is still in use and well maintained.                 



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM070     ROBERT HARRIS LOT                       SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 600 ft north of LYDIA ANN RD at TEL pole # 38    



            12 burials with 5    inscriptions from 1811 to 1853



            32  ft x 32   ft in good condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol III, page 310). They assigned it #333 and described it as follows: 



                    "Harris Family, Smithfield"                                                                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry November 24, 1996. Lot is located about 600 ft to the rear of 214 Lydia Ann Rd.  



            adjacent to a stone wall. All stones were down but footstones were up.                                        



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM071     WILLARD SMITH LOT                       SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 20 ft east of JENCKS HILL ROAD at TEL pole # 117   



            5 burials with 3    inscriptions from 1824 to 1856



            20  ft x 20   ft in fair condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by Dr Frank T Calef and mistakenly listed as a Lincoln Cemetery. He assigned lot #4 to it and it  



            is recorded on page 9. He describes its location as:                                                          



                "At the Mowry Smith place near the Smithfield Lincoln Town line. This cemetery is near a signboard which  



            says "Prov. 9 mi. Manville 5 mi." a wood road turns off the main road to the west."                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as follows:                                                        



                 "Jenckes Hill Road, next to Madison Industries"                                                          



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry November 29, 1996. At this time, lot contained 3 stones all lying flat. The      



            burial yard is surrounded on the west and north by a stone wall and on the other two sides by some planted    



            shrubs.                                                                                                       



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 23                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM072     LUTHER/ANGELL LOT                       SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 5 ft southwest of RIDGE ROAD at TEL pole # 26    



            6 burials with 7    inscriptions from 1837 to 1892



            34  ft x 30   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Amanda Ballou House; next to Ballou Cemetery #68                                                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ethel M White                                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol IV page 29) who assigned it #578 and called it "Luther Family,     



            Smithfield"                                                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25 pages 66-7) on August 21, 1919 as part of a larger transcription. He    



            describes it as follows:                                                                                      



                  "On the old Smithfield Road popularly called Lantern Road, beside the road, next to that farm known as  



            the Jonathan Angell place, lot well walled, yard covered with brush and locust."                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar along with SM068. He refers to both lots as                                         



                  "Luther & Ballou, Ridge Road"                                                                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry November 30, 1996. Almost all stones are down or out of position. The map shows  



            where they were found, not necessarily where they belong.                                                     



                                                                                                                          
            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM073     TUCKER FAMILY BURIAL GROUND             SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 200 ft north of FANNING LANE at TEL pole # 6     



            26 burials with 25    inscriptions from 1823 to 1894



            60  ft x 80   ft in good condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold August 29, 1919 (Vol 25 pp147-152). He describes lot as follows:                



                 "On the Jackson Tucker farm so anciently known, some distance from the house, and near the wood, is a    



            burial yard of his family, yard fenced with pickets and iron rods, lot in fine order."                        



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as "Tanglewood, Fanning Lane"                                     



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry February 22, 1997. Lot is located directly behind home at 53 Fanning Lane. Lot   



            had been cleared and generally well kept by the owner of the property Neil Oster. Lot is filled with pine     



            trees whose needles blanket the lot and prevent the growth of anything else. Most stones are down and covered 



            by pine needles. Arnold's transcription mentioned about a dozen or so field stone graves, none were found,    



            perhaps they were buried by the thick blanket of pine needles.                                                



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM074     WILLIAM SWAN FAMILY LOT                 SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 500 ft north of SWAN ROAD at TEL pole # 33    



            43 burials with 4    inscriptions from 1814 to 1838



            35  ft x 85   ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 18, 1919 (Vol 25 pp 248-249). He describes lot as follows:                 



                  "On the William Swan farm back some distance from the road, on a ridge of woodland, has no protection   



            whatsoever."                                                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Charles and Martha Benns make note in their transcription of #190 (Vol II page 202) that this lot is located: 



                  "Diagonally across the road, back in the woods."                                                        



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry April 18, 1998. Lot sits behind 87 Swan Road on a ridge overlooking a sand bank. 



            Many fieldstones evident in lot.                                                                              



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 24                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM075     PHILIP SWEET LOT                        SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 450 ft west of OLD COUNTY ROAD at TEL pole # 27S   



            29 burials with 16    inscriptions from 1806 to 1889



            60  ft x 50   ft in very poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold on August 22, 1919 (Vol 25 pp76-84) and described as follows:                   



                                                                                                                          
                "On a hill directly west from the Loomis farm and across the road some distance on the Old Sweet farm, so 



            known. 2 burial lots, one fenced (SM076) the other walled, brush plenty, fence and wall in good order."       



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns who gave it #790, and merged it with SM076. (Vol V, p14). "Sweet Family,



            Smithfield."                                                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who merged it with SM076 and described it as follows:                               



                    "Old County Road, rear of school"                                                                     



                                                                                                                          
            Registered by Roger Beaudry, Spring 1995.                                                                     



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry December 23, 1996. Like the adjacent SM076, this lot has been heavily vandalized.



            Only 3 stones and a few foot stones were found standing at the time of this transciption. Most stones had been



            shattered and scattered about. The map attempts to reconstruct lot per Arnold transcription of 1919.          



                                                                                                                          
            *see SM076                                                                                                    



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM076     ISAAC SWEET LOT                         SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 450 ft west of OLD COUNTY ROAD at TEL pole # 27S   



            6 burials with 6    inscriptions from 1881 to 1897



            25  ft x 20   ft in very poor condition no enclosure; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold on August 22, 1919 (Vol 25 pp84-5) who described it thus:                       



                                                                                                                          
                "On a hill directly west from the Loomis farm and across the road some distance on the Old Sweet farm, so 



            called. 2 burial lots, one fenced, the other walled (SM075), brush plenty, fence and wall in good order."     



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns who gave it #790 and merged it with SM075. (Vol 5, p14). "Sweet Family, 



            Smithfield."                                                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who merged it with SM075 and described it as follows:                               



                 "Old County Rd, rear of school"                                                                          



                                                                                                                          
            Registered by Roger Beaudry, Spring, 1995.                                                                    



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry December 23, 1996, Lot has been heavily vandalized, all stones, although heavy   



            polished granite, have been pushed over.                                                                      



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM077     UNKNOWN LOT                             SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 10 ft south of INDIAN RUN TRAIL at TEL pole # 1     



            10 burials 



            25  ft x 30   ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Registered by Roger Beaudry Spring, 1995.                                                                     



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry January 25, 1997. Lot is located on the corner of Pleasant View Ave and Indian   



            Run Trail. At time of survey only fieldstones were located in lot.                                            



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 25                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM078     EPHRAIM WHIPPLE LOT                     SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 200 ft east of CROSS STREET at TEL pole # 3     



            90 burials with 64    inscriptions from 1821 to 1907



            200 ft x 65   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign not installed yet



            Tax Assessors Map #:       Plat #: 23    Lot #:      



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold on August 20, 1919 (Vol 25, pp 34-54). He described it as follows:              



                  "At Georgiaville, east of river, on the Ephraim Whipple farm, in edge of wood, lot fenced with wire and 



            poorly walled. Yard much overgrown with briars and brush."                                                    



                                                                                                                          
            Registered by Roger Beaudry, Spring 1995.                                                                     



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as "Georgiaville, High St, Cross St"                               



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry November 28, 1998, lot is located to the rear of Lot's #53 & 54A (19 & 21 Cross  



            St). It is in poor condition and has become a neighborhood dump. Some stones recorded by Arnold could not be  



            located in 1998.                                                                                              



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM079     ARMINGTON LOT                           SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 300 ft east of STILLWATER ROAD at TEL pole # 12    



            5 burials with 4    inscriptions from 1840 to 1864



            28  ft x 23   ft in good condition enclosed by a raised platform; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold on August 21, 1919 (Vol 25, page 55). He describes it as follows:               



                                                                                                                          
                "A few rods north of the above* (Georgiaville) is another and small yard walled and capped, and yard in   



            fair shape."                                                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who describes it as                                                                 



                  "Regina Johnson"                                                                                        



                                                                                                                          
            Registered by Roger Beaudry Spring, 1995.                                                                     



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry March 15, 1997. Yard is located to the rear of 29 Stillwater Road.               



                                                                                                                          
            *SM078                                                                                                        



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM080     BROWN LOT                               SMITHFIELD RI



            east of HARRIS ROAD at TEL pole # 50    



            5 burials 



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold August 12, 1919 (Vol 25, page 28). He describes it as follows:                  



                "On the Brown Farm north of the Harris farm, (whose burial yard has been just noted), beside the road, a  



            burial yard fenced with granite posts and iron rods, lot shows some neglect"                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns who assigned it #339 (Vol 3, page 314). They describe it simply as:     



                "Brown Family on Harris Road, Smithfield"                                                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as follows:                                                        



                "North of Harris Farm, old Brown Farm"                                                                    



                                                                                                                          
            Registered by Roger Beaudry August 1996.                                                                      



                                                                                                                          
            The location is approximate. Many newer homes have been built in the area, and it is believed that this lot   



            may have been destroyed during the construction of one of these homes.                                        



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 26                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM081     ABIAL MOWRY LOT                         SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 35 ft north of WARREN STREET at TEL pole # 3     



            25 burials with 13    inscriptions from 1841 to 1938



            50  ft x 50   ft in fair condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25, pp86-8) August 22, 1919. He described lot as follows:                  



                 "Southeast from Esmond village between it and the old road, is a burial lot fenced with granite posts and



            iron rods, yard some neglected."                                                                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described its locations as:                                                     



                 "Warren St off Dean Ave"                                                                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Registered by Roger Beaudry Sept 1996.                                                                        



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry Oct 31, 1998.                                                                    



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM082     ELIZABETH OLNEY LOT                     SMITHFIELD RI



            north of PUTNAM PIKE (ROUTE 44) at TEL pole # 129   



            7 burials 



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25 page 103 1/2). He describes lot as follows:                             



                  "On the same farm (as SM046) a few rods east in a bushes and pasture land"                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who describes it as "Next to Benny's"                                               



                                                                                                                          
            Registered by Roger Beaudry Sept, 1996                                                                        



                                                                                                                          
            NOTE: Mr Farrar states that this lot no longer exists and that it was either moved or destroyed when Benny's  



            parking lot was extended. In his transcription he states that there was one marked stone and 6 fieldstone     



            graves.                                                                                                       



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM083     PETER BARNES LOT                        SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 1500 ft south of MOUNTAINDALE ROAD at TEL pole # 15    



            12 burials with 1    inscriptions 



            30  ft x 30   ft in fair condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25 p116). He describes it as follows:                                      



                 "A short distance North West from the above yard (SM043), in the woods, is a burial yard with field      



            stones only, no protection to yard. Some thoughtful person has placed a granite block here on the face of     



            which is the following."                                                                                      



                                                                                                                          
            Transcibed by Ron Farrar who describes it as follows:                                                         



                   "Large granite stone, N.W. of Barnes Cemetery"                                                         



                                                                                                                          
            Registered by Roger Beaudry September 1996.                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry March 9, 1997. Lot consists of an open area approximately 100' North West of     



            SM043. Only one large granite stone is engraved, and it is flanked on two sides by fieldstone markers. These  



            markers may be the burial spot for the people named on large stone. Lot is to the right of field about 1500   



            feet behind NEL 15.                                                                                           



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM084     AMBROSE EDDY LOT                        SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 5 ft south of CHAMBERLAIN ST at TEL pole # 3     



            23 burials with 10    inscriptions from 1850 to 1912



            30  ft x 80   ft in good condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 13, 1919 (Vol 25, pp235-239). He describes lot as follows:                 



                 "Between Greystone  and Esmond and between the Farnum Pike and the river is a burial yard in fine order  



            and has granite posts and iron rails."                                                                        



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Frank T Calef 1923. "South of road from Centredale to Esmond."                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ethel M White who described it as:                                                             



                 "Eddy-Sweet-Smith lot at Esmond"                                                                         



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who describes it as:                                                                



                "Corner of School St and Chamberlain St, Esmond"                                                          



            he also notes that lot was heavily vandalized.                                                                



                                                                                                                          
            Registered by Roger Beaudry Sept 1996.                                                                        



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry March 9, 1997. Lot has been excellently maintained by someone. Lawn is mowed and 



            almost all stones from previous surveys have been located.                                                    



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 27                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM085     LITTLE GREENVILLE CEMETERY              SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 10 ft east of CHURCH ST W at TEL pole # 6 1/2 



            43 burials with 25    inscriptions from 1977 to 1994



            220 ft x 180  ft in excellent condition enclosed with a metal fence; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Registered by Roger Beaudry November 2, 1996.                                                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry February 15, 1997. According to sign, cemetery was dedicated in October, 1976.   



            Cemetery has relatively few stones and they are all flush to the ground. It is well maintained and in         



            excellent condition.                                                                                          



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM086     DR THOMAS NUTTING LOT                   SMITHFIELD RI



             REMOVED TO OLD GREENVILLE CEMETERY (SM045)



            11 burials with 1    inscriptions 



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold August 22, 1919 (Vol 25 pages 70-71) who recorded it's location as follows:     



                   "At Georgiaville close by the meeting house and nearly opposite the mill, South side, lot fenced in    



            good order, yard same."                                                                                       



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry November 17, 1996. At this time the above lots only stone had been removed to Old



            Greenville Cemetery (SM045). The move was done between 1919 and 1996.                                         



                                                                                                                          
            Registered by Roger Beaudry November 17, 1996.                                                                



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM087     BROWN-EVANS LOT                         SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 600 ft east of BAYBERRY ROAD at TEL pole # 8     



            20 burials with 12    inscriptions from 1824 to 1895



            50  ft x 70   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign not installed yet



            Tax Assessors Map #:       Plat #: 50    Lot #: 23   



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25, pp386-389). He described lot as follows:                               



                  "In corner of pasture lot, no protection and neglected, on same farm*"                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who desacribes lot as, "Pimenta's Olgovie (Log Road)".                              



                                                                                                                          
            *Evans farm (see SM530)                                                                                       



                                                                                                                          
            Registered by Roger Beaudry November, 1996                                                                    



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry Oct 31, 1998. Lot is open on the west and north and has a stone wall on the east 



            & south. Lot is located some 500 ft behind 17 Bayberry Road.                                                  



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM088     HIRAM MASON LOT                         SMITHFIELD RI



            north of ROCKY HILL ROAD at TEL pole # 37    



            30 burials 



            60  ft x 40   ft in fair condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25, page 392). He describes lot as follows:                                



                   "On farm belonging to William A Howard, adjoining the William Mowry farm, in open lot & unprotected."  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's.                                                             



                                                                                                                          
            Registered by Roger Beaudry November, 1996                                                                    



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry May 1, 1999. Cemetery can be found by travelling 3/10 of a mile past telephone   



            pole #37. On right is a path which leads to the Woonsocket Reservoir. Flowpath about 600 ft. Before you cross 



            over a brook on the left is a small hill. Climb hill about 100 ft to stone wall. Past stone wall about 250 ft 



            the land will begin to slope down. the field stones can be found scattered on slope of hill. The area of the  



            lot is guessed at based on the rough area covered by the fieldstones.                                         



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 28                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM089     ROBERT HARRIS LOT                       SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 30 ft north of SHADOWBROOK LANE at TEL pole # 7     



            5 burials with 5    inscriptions from 1875 to 1934



            24  ft x 24   ft in good condition enclosed with granite posts; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by Ethel M White who described lot as follows:                                                    



                 "junction of road rt #5 - straight ahead to Woonsocket turn right on road to Lincoln Woods"              



                                                                                                                          
            Transacribed by Grace G Tillinghast Oct 8, 1930, (Vol 25, page 413). She described lot as follows:            



                  "Left hand side of Farnum Pike on Harris farm. Farm house faces on Spragueville Road."                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns #226 (Vol II, page 225). They described lot as follows:                 



                  "Harris family near Farnum Pike & Greenville Ave, Smithfield"                                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar whio described lot as follows:                                                      



                  "Shadowbrook, corner 116 & 5, Stump Pond"                                                               



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed and registered by Roger Beaudry November 24, 1996.                                                



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM090     ANGELL FAMILY LOT                       SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 150 ft east of DOUGLAS PIKE (RTE 7) at TEL pole # 210   



            18 burials with 16    inscriptions from 1902 to 1981



            24  ft x 54   ft in good condition enclosed with a metal fence; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: A few stones in this new area were transcribed under SM003. Since those transcripts, this new area has been   



            established by the Angell Family and incorporated into this new cemetery.                                     



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed and registered by Roger Beaudry November 23, 1996.                                                



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM091     WATERMAN DEXTER LOT                     SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 2000 ft northeast of DOUGLAS PIKE (RTE 7) at TEL pole # 78    



            8 burials with 5    inscriptions from 1803 to 1830



            35  ft x 35   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by Ethel M White who described it as                                                              



                 "On Bell Farm - Douglas Pike."                                                                           



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Emma H Robertson (Vol 25 page 437). She describes lot as follows:                              



                 "Belle Farm on right of Douglas Pike, run by Sabetta & Son"                                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who describes it as follows:                                                        



                 "Bell's Farm, Douglas Pike"                                                                              



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed and registered by Roger Beaudry November 30, 1996. Lot is badly overgrown with briars. A stone    



            wall completely surrounds lot with no opening or gate present. Lot is located about 150 feet to the north of  



            the parking lot for Twelve Oaks Restaurant.                                                                   



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM092     UNKNOWN LOT                             SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 30 ft north of LOCUST CIRCLE at TEL pole # 10    



            25 burials with 2    inscriptions 



            50  ft x 50   ft in very poor condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Registered by Roger Beaudry November 2, 1996.                                                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry March 15, 1997. Lot contains mostly fieldstone graves one of which is bearly     



            legible.                                                                                                      



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 29                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM093     ARTHUR HAWKESLEY LOT                    SMITHFIELD RI



            
            NOTE: Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as:                                                                



                  "Ridge Road between Autieri's & Gallo's."                                                               



                                                                                                                          
            Registered by Roger Beaudry November, 1996.                                                                   



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM094     DR SIMEON BROWN LOT                     SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 600 ft east of ACCESS RD TO ISLAND WOOD COMMERCE PARK at TEL pole # 3     



            5 burials with 3    inscriptions from 1786 to 1827



            25  ft x 25   ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described it as follows:                                                        



                    "Kinney Farm (Trask)                                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Registered by Roger Beaudry November, 1996.                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry November 23, 1996. At time of transcription, cemetery was on the edge of land    



            being developed by Fidelity Investments for their new facility.                                               



                                                                                                                          
            Island Wood Commerce Park is located directly across the street from Bryant College on Douglas Pike.          



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM095     NATHAN ALDRICH LOT                      SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 200 ft south of ROGLER FARM ROAD at TEL pole # 12    



            20 burials with 1    inscriptions from 1869 to 869 



            60  ft x 25   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described its location as:                                                      



                    "Northwest corner near Brayton Road & Rogler Farm Road."                                              



                                                                                                                          
            Registered by Roger Beaudry November, 1996.                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Lot is located to the rear of #16 Rogler Farm Road.                                                           



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM096     CHARLES BURLINGAME LOT                  SMITHFIELD RI



            
            NOTE: Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as follows:                                                       



                   "Between Log Road & Bayberry"                                                                          



                                                                                                                          
            Registered by Roger Beaudry November, 1996.                                                                   



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM097     BROWN LOT                               SMITHFIELD RI



            
            NOTE: Transcribed by Ron Farrar who describes lot as follows:                                                       



                   "West of Rocky Hill Road & Tobin Farm, Benjamin Brown Farm"                                            



                                                                                                                          
            Registered by Roger Beaudry November, 1996                                                                    



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM098     THURBER LOT                             SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 500 ft south of HARRIS ROAD at TEL pole # 39    



            9 burials with 9    inscriptions from 1944 to 1993



            35  ft x 35   ft in excellent condition enclosed with a metal fence; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Registered and transcribed by Roger Beaudry May 15, 1999.                                                     



                                                                                                                          
            Lot is located in field behind home at 211 Harris Road.                                                       



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 30                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM099     ELDER JOSHUA WINSOR LOT                 SMITHFIELD RI



             REMOVED TO WINSOR LOT (SM031) 1948



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold August 28, 1919 (Vol 25, pp 117-118). He describes lot as follows:              



                 "On the Elder Joshua Winsor farm in open pasture not protected, we found the following."                 



                                                                                                                          
            The transcription also contained the following handwritten note:                                              



                 "Three of these stones moved to T. K. Winsor cemetery off Austin Ave, Greenville by T. K. Winsor in 1948,



            the only stones remaining then. K. K. Moore 8/21/64."                                                         



                                                                                                                          
            This lot is 1948 was referred to as being on the Appleby property, Pleasant View Ave. Housing development in  



            the area prompted the move.                                                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            According to letter from KK Moore dated 26 Sept 1976, 4 graves were removed to SM032*. These were the graves  



            of Elder Joshua, his two wives Mary & Deborah, and son Joshua. What happened to the other graves is uncertain.



                                                                                                                          
            Ethel M White may have also transcribed some of the stones in this lot.                                       



                                                                                                                          
            *Correct location is SM031.                                                                                   



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM100     UNKNOWN LOT                             SMITHFIELD RI



            
            NOTE: In Ron Farrar's transcript of SM029 (Colwell Lot),he makes mention that:                                      



                "A smaller cemetery lies about 200 ft along a path southward. It contains 5 or 6 fieldstone graves."      



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM101     UNKNOWN LOT                             SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 725 ft east of DOUGLAS PIKE (ROUTE 7) at TEL pole # 182   



            10 burials 



            50  ft x 40   ft in good condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Registered by Roger Beaudry February 7, 1998. This small lot is a cluster of trees in a field. At the time of 



            this transcription a new road was being put in from Douglas Pike to a new Industrial Park.  The stand of trees



            can be seen straight ahead as the road turns to the left. This area once contained the town poor farm.        



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM102     NOAH FARNUM LOT                         SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 200 ft northwest of RUSSELL LANE at TEL pole # 5     



            20 burials with 16    inscriptions from 1818 to 1890



            35  ft x 40   ft in very poor condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25 pp335-339). He described lot as follows:                                



                   "On the Col Winsor Farnum Farm on the Stillwater road north of pond in back of road lot fenced with    



            wall. Yard badly neglected."                                                                                  



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed and registered by Roger Beaudry March 28, 1998. Lot can be found to the rear of 10 Russell Lane.  



            It is in very poor shape with not one stone standing.                                                         



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM103     ISRAEL ALDRICH LOT                      SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 1000 ft south of BENJAMIN BURLINGAME ROAD at TEL pole # 25    



            40 burials with 3    inscriptions from 1823 to 1836



            65  ft x 50   ft in fair condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Registered and transcribed by Roger Beaudry April 25, 1998.                                                   



                                                                                                                          
            Previous to this date, this cemetery was merged with SM013. It is clearly a separate cemetery located         



            approximately 25 feet east of SM013 across a dirt road. The stones in this lot were previously transcribed be 



            James N. Arnold, Ethel M White, and Ron Farrar as part of their transcription of the neighboring SM013.       



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 



       Page No. 31                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM104     CALEB NEWELL LOT                        SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 20 ft west of SANDERSON ROAD (ROUTE 5) at TEL pole # 8     



            8 burials with 8    inscriptions from 1846 to 1887



            45  ft x 25   ft in good condition enclosed with granite posts; sign in good condition



            Tax Assessors Map #:       Plat #: 43    Lot #: 8    



            NOTE: Originally recorded as Johnston #4, lot is clearly in the town of Smithfield. It is marked on the town Plat   



            maps. Lot contains a sign which says Smithfield #4, but that number is already assigned. The new number of    



            SM104 was assigned by Roger Beaudry when it was registered as a Smithfield Cemetery on August 6, 1998.        



            Previous survey was done by Charles & Martha Benns #32 (Vol 1, page 45). They describe lot as "Newell Family, 



            on road from Greenville to Manton, Johnston."                                                                 



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by James N Arnold, August 25, 1919. "On the road leading from Mowry Four Corners to the Johnston  



            town line, beside the road, yard fenced with pickets, lot and yard in fair condition."                        



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM105     BENJAMIN WILLIAMS CEMETERY              SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 400 ft east of RIDGE ROAD at TEL pole # 63    



            5 burials 



            65  ft x 90   ft in fair condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign ???



            Tax Assessors Map #:       Plat #: 42    Lot #: 80   



            NOTE: Registered by Roger Beaudry on October 31, 1998. Lot is located behind home at 190 Ridge Road. Only           



            fieldstones were found. The name Benjamin Wlliams Cemetery is mentioned in the deed to the property.          



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM106     EMOR OLNEY LOT                          SMITHFIELD RI



            east of AUSTIN AVE at TEL pole # 19    



            Tax Assessors Map #:       Plat #: 44    Lot #: 29C  



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold, (Vol 25, pp 252-3). He described lot as follows:                               



                 "At Greenville north of the church on the Keech farm, in corner of the lot, but no other protection"     



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol III page 362). They assigned it number 443 and describe it only as 



            "West Greenville"                                                                                             



                                                                                                                          
            Registered by Roger Beaudry October 31, 1998. Permission to visit the lot, located to the rear of 43 Austin   



            Ave, was denied by the owner of the property. I am making the assumption that this lot is the same one        



            described by both Arnold & Benns. It is not known whether lot still exists.                                   



                                                                                                                          
            A visit by Phil Thomas on Nov 6, 1998 verified that this is indeed the Olney lot. A few stones are imbedded in



            the ground, face up and others are heaped up near a stone wall.                                               



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM107     UNKNOWN LOT                             SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 150 ft north of LIMEROCK ROAD at TEL pole # 57    



            2 burials 



            10  ft x 10   ft in fair condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed and registered by Roger Beaudry on May 22, 1999. Lot is found adjacent to home at 122 Limerock    



            Road. It consists of two large fieldstones in a heavily wooded area.                                          



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM502     PETTITT LOT                             SMITHFIELD RI



            
            NOTE: Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol III page 310). They have added these stones to the end of #333 with



            the description:                                                                                              



                  "On same farm another location"                                                                         



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 



       Page No. 32                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM504     UNKNOWN LOT                             SMITHFIELD RI



            
            NOTE: Mentioned by James N Arnold (Vol 25, page 69) who describes it as follows:                                    



                   "On the Benoni Lippitt farm back of the house in open lot, now pasture and grown up to huckleberries   



            and briers, a burial yard in which all are of field stones."                                                  



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM508     JOHN ANGELL SR LOT                      SMITHFIELD RI



            
            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold August 12, 1919 (Vol 25 pp16-18). He describes lot as follows:                  



                 "On the Thomas Angell Farm near the Lincoln town line and back from the road some distance, yard has     



            granite posts and iron rails, lot is badly neglected."                                                        



                                                                                                                          
            He also notes at the end of his transcription that:                                                           



                 "In this yard are several graves that have only field stones. The brush here is so dense that it makes   



            work tedious"                                                                                                 



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM509     UNKNOWN LOT                             SMITHFIELD RI



             SWAN ROAD



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 18, 1919 (Vol 25 page 247). He describes lot as follows:                   



                  "From this last burial yard* on the same side of the road in corner of lot is a burial yard of about a  



            dozen graves, all marked with field stones only, being those who had no place of burial and so were buried in 



            this free yard."                                                                                              



                                                                                                                          
            *SM057                                                                                                        



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM516     FIELD STONE LOT                         SMITHFIELD RI



            
            NOTE: Mentioned by James N Arnold (Vol 25 page 1) He describes the lot as follows:                                  



                "June 2, 1895- On the Darling Farm near William A Inches, beside the road and unprotected, one grave that 



            of a colored woman, known as "Black Patience." Her grave is marked by field stones only."                     



                                                                                                                          
            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM517     VIALLS LOT                              SMITHFIELD RI



            
            NOTE: Mentioned by James N Arnold (Vol 25 page 1). He records it as follows                                         



             "August 11, 1919- In the large tract of woodland that lies between the Lincoln Town line and the East side of



            the Douglas Pike, we are told there are two small burial yards marked with field stones.                      



                 1st, these are said to have been mostly Vialls.                                                          



                                                                                                                          
                 2nd, on the so called Tillinghast place, John Tillinghast went to California and never returned. These   



            are all small graves."                                                                                        



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 



       Page No. 33                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM518     TILLINGHAST LOT                         SMITHFIELD RI



            
            NOTE: See SM517 for description                                                                                     



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM519     JAMES ARNOLD LOT                        SMITHFIELD RI



            
            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold August 29, 1919 (Vol 25 page 138). He described its location as follows:        



                  "On the James Arnold farm so called anciently, in corner of meadow with no protection. If there were    



            more graves than these two we now read, their marker have been removed."                                      



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM520     BOWEN LOT                               SMITHFIELD RI



            
            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold August 29, 1919 (Vol 25 page 142). He describes it as follows:                  



                  "On the Gilbert Eddy farm, formerly called the Elder Allen farm, at Greenville, beside the pond, east   



            side, in open field and much covered with brush. There are we should say, about 25 graves here in two rows,   



            and some small graves marked with field stones only."                                                         



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM521     UNKNOWN LOT                             SMITHFIELD RI



            
            NOTE: Transcribed  by James N Arnold (Vol 25, page 252). He listed no stones but described lot as follows.          



                 "On the Tucker Farm now owned by A John, in corner of road, is a small burial lot, granite posts and iron



            rails. The burials have all been removed elsewhere."                                                          



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM522     UNKNOWN LOT                             SMITHFIELD RI



            
            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold, (Vol 25, page 252). He listed no stones, but described lot as follows:         



                  "On the Thomas Winsor farm beside road is a large burial yard, but all the burials have been removed    



            elsewhere."                                                                                                   



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM524     WINSOR LOT                              SMITHFIELD RI



             AUSTIN AVENUE



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 19, 1919 (Vol 25, pp260-261). He described lot as follows:                 



                  "On the Aaron Mowry farm, formerly Winsor, in open lot unprotected, in back from the road."             



                                                                                                                          
            Transcribed by Ron Farrar who described lot as: "Austin Ave, West of T K Winsor."                             



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM525     THORP LOT                               SMITHFIELD RI



            
            NOTE: Transcribed by james N Arnold Sept 24, 1919 (Vol 25, page 279). He describes lot as:                          



                "On the Cornell farm, since the Tucker farm, east side of road and near the east end of the Waterman      



            Reservoir."                                                                                                   



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 



       Page No. 34                                       LIST OF CEMETERIES                                         Date: 03/28/01



         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM526     WATERMAN LOT                            SMITHFIELD RI



            
            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 24, 1919 (Vol 25, page 279). He describes lot as follows:                  



                  "On the east side of the Waterman Reservoir there was a burial yard that when the water was raised      



            overflowed the yard. We are told they were Waterman and allied families."                                     



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM528     UNKNOWN LOT                             SMITHFIELD RI



            
            NOTE: James N Arnold transcribed lot Sept 24, 1919 (Vol 25, page 279). He describes lot as follows:                 



                  "East of here a matter of some 25 rods in open pasture on land now owned by George P Grant is a burial  



            yard containing some dozen graves, all field stone marked. Of what families we were not able to learn."       



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM529     UNKNOWN LOT                             SMITHFIELD RI



            
            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25 page 341). He described lot as follows:                                 



                  "On the opposite side of the road from the above yard* and back in the pasture is a burial yard, old    



            field stones, some 20 or 30 in number of whom we could not learn."                                            



                                                                                                                          
            *Opposite SM026                                                                                               



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM530     UNKNOWN LOT                             SMITHFIELD RI



            
            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25, page 386). He describes lot as follows:                                



                 "On the Evans farm near the District School House Winkeye in corner of pasture a burial yard of whom not 



            known, field stones only. No protection."                                                                     



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: SM531     UNKNOWN LOT                             SMITHFIELD RI



            
            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25, page 389). He describes lot as follows:                                



                "On this farm* in pasturee 4 graves said to be indians, field stones only, but of whom not known."        



                                                                                                                          
            *Mason Mowry farm (see SM010)                                                                                 



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.