There are only six cemeteries in East Providence but they are all large. It is estimated that two more may still be found. East Providence started its existence as an English town in the Colony of Plymouth. It was part of Swansea, Seekonk, and Rehoboth, Mass. before being given to Rhode Island. The database contains 2710 of the estimated 20,000 headstones estimated to exist. East Providence is currently only 14% complete.
Newman Cemetery: was recorded in 1978/9 by Robert Trimm. His data was entered into the database and has been supplimented by the 1860 Ira Peck Transcript (at NEHGS) that added 80 gravestones that no longer exist. The data for this cemetery still needs to be checked as it has about a 10% error rate (average for unchecked cemetery transcripts).
Littleneck: Burial permits, vital records from Rehoboth, Swansea, and Seekonk
were used to reconstruct the records for this cenetery in the 1970s. The older
section was recorded and added to the database in 1993.
Cemetery: This cemetery dates back to about 1850 and is awaiting a volunteer to
Cemetery: This cemetery has not been recorded yet.
Gate of Heaven: This is a twentieth-century cemetery and therefore beyond the scope of this project.
31 historical cemeteries were registered in North Smithfield in 1990. Several transcripts exist for North Smithfield and have been added to the database, the largest being that of Irene Nebiker. The records for Union Cemetery, which document many burials without gravestones, have been entered into the database to supliment data taken from the gravestones. Less than half the burials in a cemetery of that age are marked with gravestones.
Slatersville Cemetery, containing about 2000 interments, has been recorded and the cemetery records have been used to add information on burials without gravestones.Today there are 49 of an estimated 56 registered historical cemeteries and 14,222 of an estimated 15,000 names in the database. This town is 95% complete except for checking on about one-third of the cemeteries.
Pawtucket is another town that started as a Massachusetts Colony town. Prior to 1990, there were 8 registered cemeteries. It currently has 9 historical cemeteries of an estimated 10, all of which are large. We have recorded 22,523 gravestones for the database but this town probably has 250,000 burials in all.
Mineral Springs Cemetery data comes from a transcript by Ethel White in the 1930s supplemented by a transcript by Grace Tillinghast, also in the 1930s. This data all needs to be checked and updated.
Oak Grove Cemetery is being recorded now and will be complete by the end of 2001. This important cemetery, started in 1832, has never previously been recorded. It is still being used and has over 10,000 interments.
Notre Dame Cemetery data has been entered from the records of the cemetery. This data all needs to be suplimented with readings from the gravestones.
Walnut Hill Cemetery (adjacent to Oak Grove Cemetery) data has been entered from the rather poor records for the cemetery. The records only include the personís name and burial date, not the death date. Many of the names are spelled wrong in the records. This cemetery is in desperate need of a volunteer to update the data with gravestone recordings.
Old St. Maryís Cemetery was recorded in the early 1990s by the Irish Genealogical Society. There are many early Irish buried there with the Parish, township, and county in Ireland where they were born inscribed on the gravestone. This data still needs to be checked and there are still 30-60 stones down under the sod that need to be located and recorded.
Mount St. Maryís Cemetery is 40 acres and is located on the East Providence line. This rather large cemetery has not been recorded except for one section containing many early Irish burials. We need a volunteer.
St. Francis Cemetery was founded in 1871, is 105 acres, and contains about 125,000 interments. Many of the earliest burials are Irish. We need volunteers to record this cemetery. If a volunteers records just one section (3-5 hours work) and then another, etc. we can finish this one like eating an elephant, one bite at a time.
Riverside Cemetery is a wonderful Victorian cemetery located next to Swan Point Cemetery in Providence. We have no data on this cemetery. We need a volunteer to record it.
In 1990 there were 116 historical cemeteries registered in Scituate. Since then 112 more have been identified and registered with the State, bringing the total to 228 with an estimated total of 235 believed to exist.. The core of this database was built with the James N. Arnold transcript of 1904. This was fortunate timing in that he recorded all of the cemeteries (50) that were moved to make way for the Scituate Reservoir in 1917. This allowed us to register them in their original location, with all of the original burials, and then identify where each gravestone was moved in 1917. The Providence Water Board also recorded the 50 historical cemeteries that they subsequently moved to make way for the reservoir. As part of this project they also photographed each cemetery and building in the reservoir area. Some of these photographs are at the North Situate Library.Data for some of the Scituate cemeteries comes from transcripts done by Nellie Potter in the 1930s. In the 1970 the DAR published a book of transcripts done in the 1960s by the husband of one of the ladies. Volunteers have checked and updated 60 cemeteries and recorded the three large cemeteries in town. There are now 7,745 of an estimated 8,000 names in the database. Scituate is 97% complete.
Return to the Rhode Island Cemeteries Homepage