Make your own free website on Tripod.com

 North Smithfield, Rhode Island

Cemetery Location Descriptions

 Click on the cemetery number for location, description and other information about each cemetery.

Contact information for currently operating cemeteries has been given where known.
All other cemeteries are assumed to be either privately owned or the owner is unknown.

NS001

NS002

NS003

NS004

NS005

NS006 NS007

NS008

NS009

NS010

NS011

NS012

NS013 NS014

NS015

NS016

NS017

NS018

NS019

NS020 NS021

NS022

NS023

NS024

NS025

NS026

NS027 NS028

NS029

NS030

NS031

NS032

NS033

NS034 NS035

NS036

NS037

NS038

NS039

NS040

NS041 NS042

NS043

NS044

NS045

NS046

NS047

NS048 NS049

NS050

NS051

NS052

NS053

NS054

NS055 NS056

NS057

NS058

NS059

NS060

NS061

NS062 NS063

NS064

NS065

NS066

NS067

NS068

NS069 NS070

NS071

NS072

NS073

NS074

NS075

NS076 NS077

NS078

NS079

NS080

NS205

NS307

NS500

Return to the Cemetery Database Cemetery Location town list.
Return to the Rhode Island Cemetery Database Home Page.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS001     BUXTON CEMETERY                         NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 5 ft southwest of IRONSTONE STREET (ROUTE 146A) at TEL pole # 620   



            76 burials with 56    inscriptions from 1809 to 1944



            270 ft x 160  ft in good condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in good 



            condition



            Tax Assessors Map #: 1     Plat #: 1     Lot #: 14   



            NOTE:      This cemetery was transcribed on October 13, 1994 by Roger Beaudry. 



            At that time the cemetery was in good condition with no sign of vandalism. The 



            cemetery was overgrown with weeds, but in discussions with a neighbor, it was 



            pointed out that he, the neighbor, did mow the weeds a few times a year. The 



            gate appears to be of newer construction. It is a iron frame with mesh welded 



            within the frame. On the mesh is affixed the name "BUXTON" in iron 



            letters.                                                                                



                 The cemetery is triangular in shape, and covers an area of 18,460 square 



            feet. Its longest leg (240 ft) running parallel to Route 146A (Ironstone Street). 



            It is listed in the North Smithfield land records, but there is no owner of the 



            land given.                                                                          



                 This cemetery was transcribed by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's. The 



            difference between the two transcriptions is minimal, mostly transcription errors.                                                       



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Ironstone St., North of Slatersville."                                 



            Reference List:                                                                                               



                 Reference 4: Death records of the First Universalist Church, Woonsocket, RI                       



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS002     BUXTON CEMETERY                         NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 600 ft north of BUXTON STREET at TEL pole # 42    



            5 burials with 2    inscriptions from 1813 to 1874



            25  ft x 25   ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Cemetery was first surveyed by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's. She 



            described location as Buxton Street Tree Farm. Roger Beaudry surveyed on October 



            28, 1994. At that time the cemetery stood at the edge of a corn field, adjacent 



            to a stone wall. The sign was in excellent condition and was fortunately visible 



            from the road. The cemetery is totally overgrown with trees, brush and weeds. The 



            stone wall has collapsed in some places and fallen into the cemetery. Only two 



            legible stones and 3 field stones were found. The borders of the cemetery are 



            impossible to determine, therefore the use of 25' X 25' was used only because 



            this is the area in which the visible stones were found.                                                                                



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Cider Mill Road, Tice's Place."                                        



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS003     SLATERSVILLE CEMETERY                   NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



             GREENE STREET at TEL pole # 11    



            2079 burials with 1075    inscriptions 



            Tax Assessors Map #: 2     Plat #: 2     Lot #: 38   



            NOTE: This cemetery was surveyed by Roger and Sylvia Bartholemy between 23 August 



            1993 and 3 December 1993.         



            Cemetery covers an area of 4.38 acres and is listed in the land records located in 



            the North Smithfield Town Hall.                                                                                                         



            Note: Cemetery records only begin in 1925. Any lot not specifically mentioned in the 



            records is an assumption on the part of the author. This assumption is based on maps, 



            and other recorded burials. If the lot owner owns more then one adjacent lot, then all 



            numbers are listed, beginning with the lowest number.                    



            Ethel M White transcribed two stones                                                                          



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS004     ST JOHN'S CEMETERY                      NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



             CHURCH STREET



            2227 burials with 1070    inscriptions 



            Tax Assessors Map #: 4     Plat #: 4     Lot #: 40   



            NOTE: Cemetery covers an area of 4.55 acres, and is listed in the land records 



            located in the North Smithfield Town Hall.                                                                                                         



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS005     MOWRY LOT                               NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 1000 ft north of N. SMITHFIELD INDUSTRIAL DRIVE at TEL pole # 28-A  



            31 burials with 31    inscriptions from 1813 to 1968



            NOTE: Originally transcribed by Grace G Tillinghast & Emma B Shaw on May 4, 



            1932 who describe it as: "On road from Union Village to Slatersville"                                                              



            Transcribed by Ethel M White who described it as: "From Isenor Farm - Pond 



            Hill Road, N Smithfield."                                                       



            Transcribed by Irene Nebiker in early 1970's.                                                                 



            Surveyed by Roger Beaudry & Paul Delisle on April 1, 1995. Lot is located 



            adjacent to the western side of the CVS warehouse located on the property. This 



            lot is made up of 5 separate consecutive lots. Beginning at the southern end is 



            Lot A, measuring and surrounded on three sides with granite posts only. There are  



            no stones found in this lot. Lot B measures 14' X 12' and has two stones. It is 



            surrounded with granite posts with iron rails. Lot C contains an obelisk with two 



            names inscribed along with their footstones. It measures and is surrounded with 



            granite posts and iron rails. Lot D contains two stones is has two granite posts 



            on its westerly side. It measures . Lot E is the largest of the five. It measures 



            58' X 61' and contains all the remaining stones. It is totally surrounded by 



            granite post with iron rails.                  



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Near Comstock Road."                                                   



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS006     QUAKER CEMETERY                         NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



             GREAT ROAD (ACTUALLY #11 IN WOONSOCKET)



            NOTE: This lot number was mistakenly assigned to the Quaker Cemetery located 



            across the street from Union Cemetery. 



            This lot is in the City of Woonsocket and not North Smithfield. It is 



            Woonsocket #11.                         



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS007     UNION CEMETERY                          NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



             GREAT ROAD (SMITHFIELD ROAD) at TEL pole # 434   



            7339 burials with 3520    inscriptions 



            Tax Assessors Map #: 9     Plat #: 9     Lot #: 142  



            Owner: Union Burial Society, Smithfield Rd., North Smithfield, RI 02876 (401) 762-5574



            NOTE: Cemetery covers an area of 39.5 acres and is owned by the Union Cemetery 



            Burial Society of North Smithfield.  



            It is listed in the land records located in the North Smithfield Town Hall.                                   



            Any reference made to Bank or Old Bank Burial Ground, pertains to a section of 



            the present day Union Cemetery.



            Some stones were transcribed by Ethel M White during the 1930's.                                              



            Some were transcribed by Grace G Tillinghast during the 1930's. This transcription 



            can be found in Vol 34, Page 1 of the Arnold transcript.                                                                              



            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry & Paul Delisle during the summer, fall & 



            early winter of 1993.                   



            Charles & Martha Benns transcribed a portion of this cemetery and assigned 



            it #230. It can be found in Vol II pp 227-228 and concludes in Vol IV page 69. 



            They write as follows: "This cemetery contains mostly modern graves, but 



            this section has these ancient graves of the Arnold Family and near relatives and 



            is well cared for. Other records of this branch of the Arnold family may be     



            found in Richardson's "History of Woonsocket"">                                                               



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS008     SAMUEL ALDRICH LOT                      NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 500 ft south of POUND HILL ROAD at TEL pole # 29    



            6 burials with 1    inscriptions from 1780 to 1802



            25  ft x 25   ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign missing



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold Aug 29, 1893 (Vol 25, page 396). He 



            described lot as follows: "In pasture in land of Mr Metcalf on west 



            side of road and a short distance east of Woonsocket Hill.   



            Not protected."                                                                                               



            Transcribed by Irene Nebiker on April 12, 1970. Lot was re-surveyed by 



            Roger Beaudry on November 25, 1995. At 



            time of survey lot was located at the end of a long driveway leading up from 



            Pound Hill Road at NEL #29. Lot was to the left of the drive about 100 ft from 



            the home located there. Lot was overgrown with some fallen trees evident. Most 



            of the same stones from the Nebiker survey were still present. Lot size is 



            approximate since lot is open.                                                                                            



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS009     PHILLIPS LOT                            NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 10 ft south of POUND HILL ROAD at TEL pole # 107   



            15 burials with 9    inscriptions from 1841 to 1943



            50  ft x 30   ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign missing



            NOTE: Cemetery was surveyed by Roger Beaudry on November 11, 1994. At that time 



            cemetery was badly overgrown with no visible boundary lines.                                                                                       



            Cemetery is located on the road atop a high wall. It lies between the road and 



            the parking lot to "The Pines" restaurant. While the cemetery shows no 



            signs of vandalism, it is badly overgrown.                            



            Surveyed by Charles and Martha Benns circa 1931-1935, it is listed in Volume II page 



            226 and given the designation of #229. It is described as "on Old Chepachet 



            Road, North Smithfield"                             



            Surveys were also conducted by Ethel M White in the 1930's and Irene Nebiker in the 



            early 1970's. The 1994 survey showed no change from the Nebiker survey.                                                              



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Next to Pines Restaurant, Pound 



            Hill Road."                            



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS010     MORRISON-STREETER LOT                   NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 1000 ft north of OLD SMITHFIELD ROAD at TEL pole # 24    



            14 burials with 13    inscriptions from 1821 to 1889



            40  ft x 40   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in good 



            condition



            NOTE: Cemetery surveyed by Roger Beaudry on November 11, 1994. At that time the 



            cemetery was badly overgrown with trees, both live and dead, underbrush and a 



            large area of periwinkle. The wooden fence which makes up the east wall is 



            dilapidated and in need of repair. When compared to the Nebiker survey of the 



            early 1970's, many stones are missing.                                                                                           



            Reference List:                                                                                               



                  Reference 4: Death records of the 1st Universalist Church, Woonsocket, RI                               



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS011     SMITH LOT                               NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 10 ft east of GREENVILLE ROAD (ROUTE 104) at TEL pole # 79    



            42 burials with 35    inscriptions from 1818 to 1986



            NOTE: Cemetery is surrounded on three sides by granite posts with iron chains.



            The back side is completely open with a growth of pine trees. Generally the 



            cemetery is pretty good condition. There were only 2 stones missing in  



            1992 when compared to the Nebiker survey conducted in the early 1970's.                                       



            This cemetery is also recorded in Arnolds records Volume 25, Page 434. It was 



            transcribed by Grace G Tillinghast on August 1, 1932. It is listed under 



            Smithfield and is described as: "Opposite and West of David Todd Farm."                                                                   



            Cemetery was also partially transcribed by Ethel M White in the 1930's.                                       



            Cemetery was also transcribed by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's and by Roger 



            Beaudry on December 6, 1992.  



            Cemetery was transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns in the 1930's and issued 



            the Lot #594. Its transcription can be found in Volume IV page 39. They have 



            also added the following note.                                   



                "In the above cemetery is a grave marked by field stones and a member 



            of the family says that it is supposed to be the grave of the first Ananias Mowry, 



            there having been three of that name in succession. The house adjoining, which is 



            still owned by the descendants, is 270 years old, as nearly as can be reckoned by   



            documents now existing."                                                                                      



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Greenville Road, (Farnum Pike) next to 



            Paul Smith"                    



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS012     MOWRY LOT                               NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 2000 ft north of IRON MINE HILL ROAD at TEL pole # 41    



            18 burials with 5    inscriptions from 1829 to 1884



            60  ft x 50   ft in poor condition enclosed with granite posts; sign in poor condition



            NOTE: Surveyed by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's, it was re-surveyed by Roger 



            Beaudry on November 26, 1994. It is located in a auto salvage yard and is surrounded 



            by junk autos. Cemetery is quite unique whereas it has a six foot high stone wall 



            running down the center of the lot. The lower level contains all the fieldstones while   



            the upper level contains 5 engraved stones. At the time of the most recent survey, the 



            cemetery was in poor condition. The south and east sides had a badly dilapidated wood 



            fence attached to the granite posts, and the stone wall running through the center had 



            collapsed in the center. The entire cemetery was overgrown with thick briars which are 



            associated with rose bushes. There was also about a half dozen upright bed springs     



            which were at one time used as trellises for the roses. The field stones were buried 



            under a blanket of weeds and leaves.                                                                                                   



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS013     MANN/HOLLEY LOTS                        NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 250 ft east of OLD SMITHFIELD ROAD at TEL pole # 57    



            24 burials with 20    inscriptions from 1831 to 1899



            NOTE: Cemetery is a combination of two separate cemeteries.  The one which contains 



            the Mann family is surrounded by a stone wall with 3 openings, two to the outside 



            and one to the adjoining cemetery. Cemetery #2 which contains the Holley family is 



            surrounded by granite posts with iron rail sand one opening to the outside, closed 



            with a chain. Both are badly in need of cleaning. there are fallen trees in the 



            cemetery and some stones were buried quite deep. Since there are two distinct families 



            buried here, I have changed the name from Mann Lot to Mann/Holley Lots, so as to more 



            closely reflect the difference.                                               



            Cemetery was surveyed by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's and Roger Beaudry on 



            November 27, 1992.            



            Reference List:                                                                                               



               Reference 4: Death records of the First Universalist Church, Woonsocket, RI                              



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS014     FOLLET LOT                              NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 75 ft north of FOLLET STREET at TEL pole # 31    



            16 burials with 10    inscriptions from 1867 to 1991



            30  ft x 30   ft in excellent condition no enclosure; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Cemetery was surveyed by Robert Beaudry on November 11, 1994. It was found 



            to be in excellent condition and well cared for.                                                                                               



            Previous survey had been done by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's.                                           



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Follett Street, across from Keene St"                                  



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS015     INMAN LOT                               NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 10 ft north of DOUGLAS PIKE (ROUTE 7) at TEL pole # 138   



            15 burials with 4    inscriptions from 1844 to 1846



            55  ft x 15   ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign in good condition



            Tax Assessors Map #: 10    Plat #: 10    Lot #:      



            NOTE: James N Arnold transcribed cemetery on April 24, 1908 and it is recorded in 



            Volume 25, pages 290-291. It is listed under Smithfield. He describes cemetery as:                                                            



                "On the Douglas Pike beside the road a distance West from the Field Station 



            crossing, in the woods, lot not protected, overrun with brush."                                                                           



            Charles & Martha Benns transcribed cemetery between the years 1931-1935 and lists 



            this cemetery in Volume II page 226. They assigned #228 and described it as:                                                             



                "On Douglas Pike, 1 mile from Oak Valley, North Smithfield."                                              



            Ethel M White transcribed cemetery in 1930's                                                                  



            Irene Nebiker transcribed it in the early 1970's                                                              



            Roger Beaudry transcribed cemetery on November 12, 1994. It was in poor condition and 



            completely overgrown with weeds and trees. 2 of the 4 inscribed stones were down. The 



            lot has no visible boundaries, and the size was arrived at by measurements on record 



            at North Smithfield Town Hall. This cemetery is recorded on the Plat plan, but it is 



            located in two separate lots. (see map). Plat 10 Lot 132 is owned by Brian W & 



            Hope M Lagner by deed dated Dec 17, 1973, (Book 83 Page 1241). Plat 10 Lot 150 is owned 



            by John Voccola by deed dated July 17, 1973 (Book 83, Page 213).                                                                                 



                The cemetery sits atop a high wall, along the road.                                                       



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Douglas Pike"                                                          



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS016     NICHOLS-MOWRY LOT                       NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 300 ft south of DOUGLAS PIKE (ROUTE 7) at TEL pole # 158   



            10 burials with 4    inscriptions from 1848 to 1919



            65  ft x 25   ft in fair condition enclosed with a metal fence; sign in good 



            condition



            Tax Assessors Map #: 10    Plat #: 10    Lot #: 159  



            NOTE: Cemetery originally transcribed by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's, it 



            was re-surveyed by Roger Beaudry on November 19, 1994. Cemetery sits atop a small 



            rise overlooking pond. Fence and gate are in good condition.    



            Cemetery is in fair shape with very tall weeds growing within its borders.                                    



            Cemetery is not shown in any land records located in the North Smithfield Town Hall.                          



            Transcribed by Ethel M White who describes it as:                                                             



            "Route 104 - turn and go to Spring Lake Road pass Pine Crest Lake, North 



            Smithfield"                          



            Transcribed by Grace G Tillinghast Oct 8, 1930 (Vol 3, page 41). "Left hand 



            side of road to Nasonville.       



            Enclosed lot with large monument."                                                                            



            ****Note this lot is listed as a Burrillville cemetery by GGT.                                                



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Junction of Douglas Pike, Mowry Road 



            & Pound Hill Road."               



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS017     SMITH LOT                               NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 10 ft north of DOUGLAS PIKE (ROUTE 7) at TEL pole # 128   



            12 burials with 12    inscriptions from 1805 to 1903



            30  ft x 35   ft in poor condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; 



            sign in good condition



            Tax Assessors Map #: 10    Plat #: 10    Lot #: 184  



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold and listed in Volume 25, pages 291-293, 



            under Smithfield. He described the cemetery as:                                                                                                  



                "On the Douglas Pike close to the corner of the Field Station road 



            and in the sight of it, lot protected by iron rails and granite posts, wall 



            and lot in good order. Stones all marble."                              



            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns (Vol III, page 393). They assigned it 



            #497 and described lot as follows: "Smith Family, Burrillville."                                                                                 



            NOTE: Burial yard is most definitely in North Smithfield, not Burrillville.                                   



            Additional transcriptions were done by Ethel M White in the 1930's and Irene Nebiker 



            in the early 1970's. Cemetery transcribed by Roger Beaudry on November 12, 1994. At 



            that time it sat atop a very low wall running parallel to the street. It is overrun 



            with high weeds and some stones are down. Cemetery is mapped out in the land records 



            located in the North Smithfield Town Hall. Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. 



            "Douglas Pike, N East of Mattity Road."                                 



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS018     YOUNG LOT                               NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 20 ft north of MATTITY ROAD at TEL pole # 35    



            2 burials with 2    inscriptions from 1862 to 1865



            10  ft x 10   ft in excellent condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Originally transcribed by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's and again by 



            Roger Beaudry on November 12, 1994. These two graves  are located next to a 



            private driveway. The owner of the property maintains the two graves which has 



            become part of his front lawn. No boundaries exist for the burial ground.                            



            Transcribed by James N Arnold Sept 26, 1891, but mistakenly listed as a 



            Burrillville cemetery in Vol 3, page 15. "Beside the road and on the south 



            side of the railroad, nearly opposite the piggery, in open lot, not protected."                                                                                                   



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Mattity Road next to F. Fulasz's driveway."                            



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS019     MOWRY-HALL LOT                          NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 100 ft north of PROVIDENCE PIKE (ROUTE 5) at TEL pole # 131   



            34 burials with 16    inscriptions from 1806 to 1887



            60  ft x 66   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in poor condition



            Tax Assessors Map #: 15    Plat #: 15    Lot #: 42   



            NOTE: Doris Pennell Mowry & Robert E Mowry per deed dated May 2, 1994, 



            (28.6 acres). Cemetery is located on part of this land and is not recorded as a cemetery 



            on any town map. Cemetery has been badly neglected and allowed to become overgrown with 



            weeds. It appears as though an afternoon of work by a conscientious group could restore  



            this cemetery quite easily.                                                                                   



            Benns lists this cemetery as #232 (Matthewson Family Cemetery)                                           



            In addition to Benns transcription, this cemetery has been transcribed by, Irene Nebiker 



            in the early 1970's, Roger Beaudry on December 31, 1992, and by Grace G Tillinghast in 



            1932. The later transcription is recorded in James N Arnolds work in Volume 25, Page 435, 



            and listed under the town of Smithfield. She describes the cemetery thus:                                                                                  



                "Right hand side going from David Todd's farm. Yard near ball field; granite 



            posts and iron chains."      



            NOTE: cemetery is surrounded by fieldstone wall. She may have confused this with another.                     



            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns who assigned it #232. This transcription is 



            found in Volume II page 229. They describe it as follows:                                                                                  



                "Mathewson Family near Farnum Pike & Providence Pike, N. Smithfield"                                      



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Corner of Greenville Road & Providence 



            Pike, North of North Smithfield High School."                                                                                                 



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS020     MOWRY-STEERE LOT                        NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



             POMONA AVENUE at TEL pole # 6x5   



            NOTE: Reference List:                                                                                               



                Reference 4: Death records of the 1st Universalist Church, Woonsocket, RI                             



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Grange Road (Gardner's)"                                               



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS021     ALDRICH LOT                             NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



             FARNUM PIKE at TEL pole # 156   



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS022     MOWRY LOT                               NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 250 ft south of GREENVILLE ROAD (ROUTE 104) at TEL pole # 164   



            55 burials with 54    inscriptions 



            42  ft x 107  ft in fair condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; 



            sign in good condition



            NOTE: Cemetery was transcribed by Grace G Tillinghast on August 1, 1932 and 



            her transcription is listed under Smithfield in Arnold's records Volume 25, 



            page 280-281. It was also transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns and 



            is listed as #900 in Volume 5, pages 117-118.  Ethel M White transcribed it 



            in the 1930's and it described it as:                                                                                                           



                "Being across from the Primrose Gas Station"                                                              



            Cemetery was also transcribed by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's and by Roger 



            Beaudry on November 26, 1994. 



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Next to sand & gravel entrance 



            Greenville Road N. side of Calcagni's house."                                                                                                       



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS023     BROWN LOT                               NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 10 ft east of CRANBERRY LANE (OFF ROCKY HILL RD) at TEL pole # 20-1A1



            7 burials with 7    inscriptions from 1867 to 1978



            25  ft x 25   ft in excellent condition enclosed with granite posts and iron 



            rails; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Cemetery transcribed by both James N Arnold, & Grace G Tillinghast. 



            Dates not known. It is listed in Volume 25 page 395, and listed under Smithfield. 



            The cemetery is described as:                                          



                "On the Ahaz Mowry farm in open lot protected by granite posts and iron 



            rails. Yard in good order."       



            In the 1970's cemetery was also transcribed by Irene Nebiker and on December 31, 



            1994 by Roger Beaudry & Paul Delisle. At the time of the last survey, this 



            lot was in excellent condition with signs that the lot was being tended to, by 



            persons unknown.                                                                                



            Cemetery transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns and listed as Lot #871. It is 



            recorded in Volume 5, page 102. They mistakenly list this lot as being in Smithfield.                                                        



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Rocky Hill Road, Plante's Farm."                                       



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS024     SAYLES LOT                              NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



             IRON MINE HILL ROAD at TEL pole # 138   



            43 burials with 41    inscriptions from 1778 to 1917



            155 ft x 93   ft in fair condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in good 



            condition



            Tax Assessors Map #: 17    Plat #: 17    Lot #: 46   



            NOTE: Cemetery was first surveyed by Charles & Martha Benns who listed it 



            as #731 in Volume IV page 159 of their work. Cemetery was also surveyed by Ethel 



            M White in the 1930's, Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's and by     



            Roger Beaudry on November 26, 1994.                                                                           



            At the time  of the last survey, the cemetery was found to be in rather fair 



            shape except for the abundance of nearly waist high weeds throughout the area. A 



            condition which could easily be taken care of by some conscientious neighbors.                                                                                      



            This cemetery covers an area of .34 acres and is listed in the North Smithfield 



            land records. There is, however, no owner of the land given.                                                                          



            Reference List:                                                                                               



                   Reference 4: Death records of the First Universalist Church, Woonsocket, RI



                   Reference 7: Death records of St James Episcopal Church (1836-1897) Woonsocket, RI



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Iron Mine Hill Road, near Old Sayles Hill Road."                       



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS025     SMITH-HARRIS LOT                        NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 150 ft west of PROVIDENCE PIKE (ROUTE 5) at TEL pole # 173   



            8 burials with 8    inscriptions from 1865 to 1950



            25  ft x 25   ft in poor condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; 



            sign in fair condition



            NOTE: This cemetery was surveyed by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's and again 



            by Roger Beaudry on November 25, 1994. At the time of survey, cemetery was badly 



            overgrown with weeds and brush.                               



            Charles & Martha Benns list 7 stones in this cemetery in Volume IV page 69. 



            They list it as a continuation of #230 which is the old portion of Union Cemetery. 



            This cemetery is miles away from Union Village. They head the page with "At 



            Union Village, near Woonsocket"                                                                 



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "John Harris--Providence Pike"                                          



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS026     WING LOT                                NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 30 ft east of PROVIDENCE PIKE (ROUTE 5) at TEL pole # 169   



            12 burials with 12    inscriptions from 1814 to 1989



            35  ft x 40   ft in good condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in good 



            condition



            NOTE: First surveyed by Ethel M White in the 1930's, it also has been surveyed 



            by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's, and by Roger Beaudry on November 25, 



            1994. Burial lot was found to be in good order and was obviously being maintained 



            by someone. The grass was well kept and the stones in good order.                            



            Charles and Martha Benns transcribed lot in the 1930's. They assigned lot #583 to 



            it and it is located in Volume IV page 33. They mistakenly listed its location as 



            Smithfield, RI.                                     



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Stanley Mowry, Old Greenville Road, 



            Providence Pike."                  



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS027     WILKINSON CEMETERY                      NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 50 ft west of GRANGE ROAD at TEL pole # 27    



            11 burials 



            70  ft x 100  ft in very poor condition enclosed with granite posts; sign missing



            Tax Assessors Map #: 15    Plat #: 15    Lot #: 62   



            NOTE: Cemetery originally surveyed by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's. Resurveyed 



            by Roger Beaudry on November 27, 1994. At that time, cemetery was enclosed by granite 



            posts only on the west and south side, and a stone wall on the north side. It was 



            totally open to the east. Cemetery sits adjacent to the Primrose Grange Hall, and   



            its condition can only be described as deplorable. It is totally overgrown with trees, 



            brush, and tall weeds. Leaves and fallen branches were high enough to cover most of 



            the fieldstones.                                 



            Land records in the North Smithfield Town Hall give the size of the lot as .016 acres, 



            and lists no owner. In past surveys, this lot was referred to as the Andrews Lot, town 



            records list it as the Wilkinson Lot. The registered name has been changed to the latter.                                                               



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970, "Primrose Grange, Grange Road. 12 to 14 



            fieldstone graves."             



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS028     SMITH LOT                               NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 700 ft south of ROCKY HILL ROAD at TEL pole # 23    



            8 burials 



            32  ft x 25   ft in fair condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in good 



            condition



            NOTE: Surveyed by Roger Beaudry & Paul Delisle on February 25, 1995. Only 



            fieldstones are present.                  



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS029     PAINE LOT                               NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 350 ft north of ROCKY HILL ROAD at TEL pole # 10    



            5 burials with 1    inscriptions from 1827 to 1827



            25  ft x 40   ft in good condition no enclosure; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Cemetery was first transcribed by Irene Nebiker in the 1970's and again by 



            Roger Beaudry & Paul Delisle on December 31, 1994. It is located in the 



            furthest west corner of a field behind the Melnyk home. It is well cared for.                                                                                                    



            Previous to last survey, lot was known as "Unknown Name Lot". It was 



            given name of "Paine Lot" by Beaudry & Delisle, to commemorate its 



            only engraved stone.                                                              



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Rear of Russell Melnyk, Rocky Hill Road."                              



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS030     GRAYSON LOT                             NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 1000 ft east of GRANGE ROAD at TEL pole # 34    



            10 burials with 6    inscriptions from 1844 to 1891



            39  ft x 40   ft in good condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; 



            sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's.                                                             



            Surveyed by Roger Beaudry & Paul Delisle on April 1, 1995. Lot is located 



            in the extreme western portion of a cow pasture. It has for its eastern and northern 



            borders the intersection of two stone walls, its other two borders are granite posts 



            with iron rails. Some of the rails have been replaced with newer galvanized rails.  



            Lot was generally in good order.                                                                              



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Grange Road, across from H. Phillips."                                  



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS031     OLD ALDRICH BURIAL GROUNDS              NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 30 ft south of GREAT ROAD



            102 burials with 76    inscriptions from 1833 to 1980



            Tax Assessors Map #: 9     Plat #: 9     Lot #: 410  



            NOTE: Covering an area of 1.00 acres, this cemetery is clearly laid out in the 



            town of North Smithfield plat book. Its name is officially "Old Aldrich 



            Burial Grounds of Hotchkiss Cemetery." It lies between "Old Town Burial   



            Grounds" (NS036) to the West and "Union Cemetery Annex" (NS037) to 



            the South and East. This cemetery as well as the two others mentioned are badly 



            neglected and vandalized.                                               



            Anyone working in NS031, NS036, & NS037 should look at these three cemeteries 



            as one group. Without a proper land survey, it is almost impossible to determine 



            where one cemetery ends and the others begin. In the case of stones which no longer 



            exist but were mentioned in previous surveys, I have listed them where I felt  



            the best belonged.                                                                                            



                This cemetery is laid out in small family plots as follows:                                               



                    Section "A"-Area surrounded by granite posts w/iron rails.                                            



                    Section "B"-Is an open area.                                                                          



                    Section "C"-Is an open area with corner posts only.                                                   



                    Section "D"-Is a raised area with granite corner posts, no other borders.                             



                    Section "E"-Is an open area between Sections "C" & "F".                                               



                    Section "F"-Is an area surrounded by granite posts w/iron rails and gate.                             



                    Section "G"-Is an area surrounded by granite posts w/iron rails.                                      



                    Section "H"-Is an area surrounded by granite posts w/iron rails.                                      



                         Referred to in Union Cemetery Records as "Owen Allen Lot"                                        



                    Section "I"-Is an area surrounded by granite posts w/no rails.                                        



                        Referred to in Union Cemetery Records as "Andrew Potter Lot"                                      



                    Section "J"-Is a triangular lot surrounded on two sides by a dirt road 



            which merge together at the tip of the triangle.                                                                                              



            Transcribed by Ethel M White                                                                                  



            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry during fall & early winter 1992                                                  



            Transcribed by Grace G Tillinghast May 4, 1932. Her transcription can be found in Arnold's 



            records Vol 25, pp 414-430 she lists it as "Old Cemetery at Union Village"                                                       



            Charles & Martha Benns transcribed a few stones under #230 in Vol IV page 69                                  



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar  circa 1970. "Quaker Cemetery, 146A"                                                



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS032     MOWRY LOT                               NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 350 ft east of SAYLES HILL ROAD at TEL pole # 87    



            15 burials with 1    inscriptions from 1875 to 1875



            30  ft x 50   ft in poor condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; 



            sign in good condition



            NOTE: Surveyed by Irene Nebiker in  1977. Resurveyed by Roger Beaudry Nov 25, 



            1995. At the time of the last survey, lot was in deplorable condition. Some of 



            the granite post were down and the iron rails had been twisted. It appears that 



            at one time the lot had some sort of heavy equipment attempt to obliterate it. 



            The way the post had been knocked over does not appear to have happened by 



            nature. There is a sign in excellent condition except for the fact that it has 



            been stuck in the ground some 100 feet away for reason(s) unknown. The only   



            engraved stone ii the lot was down and covered by leaves and a fallen branch.                                 



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS033     MOWRY-SMITH LOT                         NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 100 ft north of RANKIN PATH at TEL pole # 5     



            13 burials with 7    inscriptions from 1835 to 1905



            32  ft x 32   ft in fair condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; 



            sign in good condition



            NOTE: Cemetery transcribed by James N Arnold and recorded in Volume 25, pages 



            294-295 under Smithfield. He describes cemetery as:                                                                                                  



                "On the Douglas Pike on the Patrick Hasseline farm, once the Smith Place 



            below the railroad crossing in from the road. Lot fenced by iron rails and granite 



            posts."                                                   



            Cemetery also transcribed by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's.                                               



            Cemetery was re-surveyed by Roger Beaudry on November 26, 1994. At the time of this 



            survey there was but one footstone and 2 field stone markers still in their original 



            position. All other engraved stones were leaning against the granite posts. How they 



            became dislodged from their original position is a matter of speculation.  



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Rankin Path, (Off Douglas Pike). Badly 



            damaged."                      



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS034     HERENDON LOT                            NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 150 ft south of PHEASANT RUN ROAD at TEL pole # 2     



            2 burials with 2    inscriptions from 1791 to 1799



            20  ft x 20   ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Surveyed by Roger Beaudry on Sept 23, 1995. At the time of the survey,



            cemetery was on property which was being sold as a house lot. Only two stones 



            could be found and area was not enclosed in any way. The size of lot is only 



            an estimate.                                                                                             



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Hanton Road (Cross St) West of power 



            lines."                           



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS035     BAKER LOT                               NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 1000 ft east of PROVIDENCE PIKE (ROUTE 5) at TEL pole # I53I  



            9 burials with 8    inscriptions from 1839 to 1874



            50  ft x 37   ft in good condition enclosed with granite posts; sign missing



            NOTE: This cemetery was discovered and recorded on December 24, 1992. It is 



            to the rear of 2000 Providence Pike behind a home owned by Mr & Mrs Steven 



            Biron. Mr Biron was a childhood friend of Roger Beaudry, and told him of the 



            cemetery found on his land when his home was built in the late 1980's. It 



            turned out that the cemetery was not recorded either by the state in the 1970 



            survey or by Irene Nebiker in her survey of the early 1970s. Mr & Mrs Biron 



            have restored the lot and take care to maintain it, and have reset the stones 



            that were down. This cemetery was named by Roger Beaudry, the Baker Lot, for 



            obvious reasons.  The cemetery itself is surrounded on two sides by stone walls 



            and on two sides with granite posts with missing rails.                



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Rear of Baker Farm (Aubuchon)"                                         



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS036     OLD TOWN BURIAL GROUND                  NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 30 ft south of GREAT ROAD



            136 burials with 101    inscriptions from 1830 to 1979



            Tax Assessors Map #: 9     Plat #: 9     Lot #: 411  



            NOTE: Covering an area of 1.25 acres, this cemetery is clearly laid out in the 



            town of North Smithfield plat book. It lies between the Old Aldrich Burial 



            Ground of Hotchkiss Cemetery to the East (NS031), Union Cemetery to the West 



            (NS007), and the Union Cemetery Annex to the South (NS037). Except for Union 



            Cemetery proper all other cemeteries are badly overgrown and neglected. Only 



            a few family plots in Union Cemetery Annex are maintained by Union Cemetery.                                                                                            



                   Anyone working in NS031, NS036, & NS037 should look at these three 



            cemeteries as one group. Without a proper land survey, it is almost impossible 



            to determine where one cemetery ends and the others begin. In the case of stones 



            which no longer exist but were mentioned in previous surveys, I have listed them 



            where I felt they best belonged.                                                                                           



                This cemetery is made up of small family plots laid out as follows:                                       



                    Section "A"- Area surrounded by granite posts w/iron rails.                                           



                    Section "B"- An open area between Sections A & C.                                                     



                    Section "C"- Area surrounded by ornate iron posts and rails.                                          



                                 There were no stones or fragments found within its borders.                              



                    Section "D"- Area surrounded by granite posts w/iron rails.                                           



                    Section "E"- Area surrounded by granite posts with no rails.                                          



                    Section "F"- Area surrounded by granite posts with a heavy cable.                                     



                                 This area is maintained by Union Cemetery.                                               



                    Section "G"- Area is outlined by four granite blocks.                                                 



                    Section "H"- Area surrounded by granite posts with no rails.                                          



                    Section "I"- An open area between sections H & J.                                                     



                    Section "J"- Area is surrounded by granite posts w/iron rails.                                        



                    Section "K"- Area is outlined by four granite blocks with letter



                                 "H" carved in each one.               



                    Section "L"- area is surrounded by granite posts with iron rails.                                     



                                 No stones or fragments were found, however two depressions were 



                                 clearly visible.         



                    Section "M"- Area is surrounded by granite posts with iron rails.                   



                                 There is also a iron gate.                                                                                                    



                    Section "N"- Open area adjacent to "M". No stones or 



                                 fragments were found.                            



            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry in the Fall and early winter of 1992                                             



            Charles & Martha Benns mention a few stones in #230 in Volume IV page 69.                                      



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970 "Quaker Cemetery, 146A"                                                  



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS037     UNION CEMETERY (ANNEX)                  NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



            south of GREAT ROAD



            209 burials with 135    inscriptions from 1807 to 1992



            NOTE: This cemetery name and number is being given to that remaining area which 



            does not include Old Aldrich Burial Ground (NS031), Old Town Burial Ground (NS036), 



            or Union Cemetery proper (NS007). The Superintendent of Union Cemetery in 



            discussions with Roger Beaudry and Paul Delisle has stated that this area does not 



            belong to the Union Cemetery Corporation. They maintain a lot in this cemetery as 



            well as one in the Old Aldrich Cemetery, only because of perpetual care agreements 



            which pre-date his tenure as Superintendent. The town records also show this section 



            being owned by Union Cemetery.                                                              



                Anyone who plans to do any research in this cemetery should also look at 



            "Old Town" & "Old Aldrich" since it is almost impossible to 



            tell which stones belong to which cemetery. This "Annex" consists of row upon 



            row of stones with only a few family plots. As with "Old Town" & "Old 



            Aldrich" I have attempted to place stones mentioned in previous surveys but which 



            no longer exist in their proper cemetery.                             



                The few family plots which exist are broken down as follows:                                              



                    Section "A"-Open with no visible borders. It is maintained by Union 



                        Cemetery. Cemetery records refer to this lot as the "John White Lot."                                       



                    Section "B"-Granite corner markers, raised, and broken into four sections.                            



                    Section "C"-Setoff by low granite corner markers.                                                     



                    Section "D"-Open area between sections "C" & "E".                                                     



                    Section "E"-Surrounded by granite posts with no rails.                                                



                    Section "F"-Surrounded by granite posts with no rails.                                                



                    Section "G"-Open area after Section "F".                                                              



            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry in Fall and early winter 1992                                                    



            Charles & Martha Benns mention a few stones under #230, Vol IV page 69.                                       



            Transcribed by Ethel M White who described it as:                                                             



                 "Aldrich Cemetery near Union Cemetery, N Smithfield"                                                     



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970, "Quaker Cemetery, 146A"                                                 



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS038     SOUTHWICK/USHER/INMAN LOT               NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



             GREAT ROAD, FORMERLY LOCATED ON POUND HILL RD



            32 burials with 10    inscriptions 



            NOTE: This cemetery was originally located on the farm of E. Carpenter on Pound 



            Hill Road. The government took over the land in order to build a Nike Site. This 



            cemetery was removed from the farm and relocated in Union Cemetery (NS007) in 



            North Smithfield. It is presently located at the extreme eastern part of the 



            cemetery between Plat 14 Lot 100 and the Old Town Burial Ground. It is not specified 



            on any of Union Cemetery's maps, and there's no record of any internments. For the 



            purpose of this report, it is to be considered a separate cemetery within North 



            Smithfield. Government documents concerning this move lists 32 burials, and only 12 



            stones. The numbering used corresponds to that used by the Government.                                                                               



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970 "Quaker Cemetery, 146A"                                                  



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS039     ALDRICH BURIAL GROUND                   NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



             PARK SQUARE (REMAINS MOVED NS7,UNION CEMETERY)



            22 burials 



            NOTE: The remains of 22 skulls and bones were removed from the present day 



            site of the Super Stop & Shop at Park Sq on the N. Smithfield/Woonsocket 



            line on 12 August, 1958 and reinterred in Union Cemetery. A photo appeared in 



            the Woonsocket Call of August 4, 1958 with the following caption:                                             



                   "CHECKING 200 YR OLD TOMBSTONES. S Burton Mowry, superintendent of 



            Union Cemetery, checking headstones of Aldrich Family Cemetery in North Smithfield 



            where skeletal remains, some 230 years old, are being removed to make way for North 



            Smithfield Shopping Center in area behind Park Square Diner. Remains will be buried in  



            Union Cemetery."                                                                                              



            The remains were all buried in a common grave at Union Cemetery, and no stones appear 



            to have been moved, the fate of the stones in photo are unknown.                                                           



            Arnold's records Volume 25, page 438 lists this cemetery as being in Smithfield. The 



            data, collected by Mrs Emma B Shaw date unknown, lists 6 stones, and is described as 



            follows.                                                                        



                   "This cemetery, as one turns going north from Louisquisset Pike to go  to 



            Union Village, is off on the left on a knoll. There is a tall tree standing alone and 



            under this tree are the following stones, also many not marked:"                                                                                                  



                   Aldrich, Simeon                 1726-7   aged 21 years                                                 



                   Aldrich, Levi                   1726-7   aged 19 years                                                 



                   Aldrich, Walter S. son of                                                                              



                          Andrew J & A-----        d. Sept 2, 1837   7m 20d                                               



                   Aldrich, Reuben                 1726-7   aged 23 years                                                 



                   Aldrich, Hannah                 1732     aged 7 years (?)                                              



                   Aldrich, Lydia                           aged 2 years                                                  



            In the 1958 photograph in the Woonsocket Call, one of the stones pictured is that of 



            Hannah Aldrich. This leaves little doubt that the cemetery described by Shaw and the 



            one at Park Square are one in the same.       



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS040     BLACKMAR CEMETERY                       NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 10 ft east of PROVIDENCE PIKE (ROUTE 5) at TEL pole # 169   



            2 burials 



            25  ft x 50   ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Irene Nebiker's survey in the early 1970's indicates that this area adjacent 



            to Wing Lot (NS026) is called the Blackmar Cemetery. Her notes indicate that its 



            boundaries are (2) RI Highway markers to the East and a retaining wall parallel to 



            Providence Pike to the West. This area is approximately 25 feet X 50 feet. When    



            surveyed by Roger Beaudry on November 25, 1994, it contained two rough fieldstones 



            that could possibly have been used for headstones. As of the date of survey, Irene 



            Nebiker has not been contacted in order to determine her source of information. 



            This cemetery is being registered on the strength of her notes.          



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS041     MOWRY-SAYLES LOT                        NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 500 ft north of MATTITY ROAD at TEL pole # 22    



            34 burials with 14    inscriptions from 1777 to 1851



            52  ft x 60   ft in good condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; 



            sign not installed yet



            NOTE: This cemetery was transcribed by James N Arnold on April 24, 1908. It is 



            listed in Volume 25, Pages 287-289, under Smithfield. He describes this cemetery as:                                                              



                "One the John Sayles Farm now owned by Mr Field at Field's Station in sight 



            of the station. Lot fenced by iron rails and granite posts, yard covered with brush 



            & briers."                                              



            Cemetery was also transcribed by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's.                                           



            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry & Paul Delisle on February 25, 1995. Owner of property 



            (David Gold) has begun to restore lot. Brush has been cleared and some stones which had 



            been buried were found. Mr Gold had even gone so far as to replace some missing granite 



            blocks with new ones made of pressure treated wood cut to the same size.                                                                                                         



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "North Smithfield, Mattity Road"                                        



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS042     CHATMAN LOT                             NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 600 ft south of IRON MINE HILL RD at TEL pole # 6     



            6 burials with 6    inscriptions from 1862 to 1887



            25  ft x 20   ft in poor condition enclosed with granite posts; sign not installed 



            yet



            NOTE: This cemetery was transcribed by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's and by 



            Roger Beaudry on December 11, 1994. Previous to the Nebiker transcription, this 



            cemetery had not been registered or recorded. At the time of the Beaudry transcription, 



            the lot was badly overgrown with trees and brush and in need of maintenance. On the    



            whole, the stones are upright and in good condition. To get to this lot follow cart 



            path opposite pole #6 for about 500 ft. On the right there is a small hill, this lot 



            is located on top of the hill.                     



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Between Iron Mine Road & Victor Girard, 



            Near Greenville Road"          



            Note: transcribed with NS043 & NS044.                                                                         



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS043     UNKNOWN LOT                             NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 600 ft south of IRON MINE HILL RD at TEL pole # 6     



            8 burials 



            30  ft x 30   ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Cemetery was first recorded by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's and by Roger 



            Beaudry on December 11, 1994. This fieldstone lot is approximately 20 ft south west 



            of NS042. It is an open area and therefore the size of the lot is an estimate only. 



            The area is overgrown with trees and brush.                                      



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Between Iron Mine Road & Victor Girard, 



            near Greenville Road." Note--Transcribed with NS042 & NS044                                                                          



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS044     MOWRY LOT                               NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 600 ft south of IRON MINE HILL RD at TEL pole # 6     



            2 burials with 2    inscriptions from 1854 to 1870



            10  ft x 10   ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: This lot first recorded by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's, and again 



            by Roger Beaudry on December 11, 1994. These two stones are located approximately 



            25 ft south west of NS043. The size of the lot is an estimate based on the two 



            stones found. If it weren't for the Nebiker survey, this writer would have entirely 



            missed these two stones. One stone was buried and the other had been entirely covered 



            by a fallen limb.                    



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Between Iron Mine Road & Victor Girard, 



            near Greenville Road."         



            Note---transcribed with NS042 & NS043                                                                         



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS045     UNKNOWN LOT                             NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 150 ft south of ROCKY HILL ROAD at TEL pole # 28    



            5 burials 



            20  ft x 20   ft in fair condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Almost opposite path into Jonathan Paine. Behind green cottage. Per 



            Nebiker diary circa 1970. Lot was transcribed by Roger Beaudry  & Paul 



            Delisle on February 25, 1995. The stones are east of a small cottage some 



            distance into the woods along an old trail.                                                      



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS046     UNKNOWN LOT                             NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 100 ft south of ROCKY HILL RD at TEL pole # 32    



            25 burials 



            50  ft x 50   ft in fair condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: First pointed out by Irene Nebiker in her early survey done during the 



            1970's. Surveyed by Roger Beaudry on   



            February 25, 1995. Fieldstones cover a rather large area.                                                     



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS047     UNKNOWN LOT                             NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 10 ft east of WOONSOCKET HILL RD at TEL pole # 76    



            4 burials 



            17  ft x 18   ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: This cemetery was originally surveyed by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's.                                   



            Surveyed by Roger Beaudry & Paul Delisle on April 1, 1995. Lot is located 



            on road between two newly built homes. At the time of the survey lot was overgrown 



            with weeds with only 3 fieldstone headstones and a base for what once contained a 



            marble stone. Its footstone still survives with the initials L.M.                       



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS048     OLIVER SMITH CEMETERY                   NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 375 ft east of ROCKY HILL ROAD at TEL pole # NEL41 



            18 burials with 13    inscriptions from 1827 to 1894



            50  ft x 25   ft in very poor condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25, pp393-394). He described lot as follows:                               



            "On the Oliver Smith farm, once so known, in the midst of the woods, not 



            protected, a burial yard of the family."                                                                                                  



            A few stones transcribed by Grace G Tillinghast (Vol 25, page 393).                                           



            Recorded by Ethel M White                                                                                     



            Recorded by Charles & Martha Benns who assigned it #353 and recorded it in Volume 



            III page 320. They described it as follows:                                                                                                



                   "Smith Family, North Smithfield, RI"                                                                   



            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry on July 11, 1996. Cemetery is badly overgrown and some 



            stones are down, but I believe this is due to nature more then vandals.                                                              



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Rocky Hill Road, near A. Forget."                                      



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS049     UNKNOWN LOT                             NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



           Location: 150 ft east of POND HOUSE ROAD at TEL pole # 4     



            6 burials with 1    inscriptions from 1840 to 1840



            10  ft x 40   ft in fair condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by Nebiker in early 1970's.                                                                       



            Transcribed and registered by Roger Beaudry March 2, 1997. In 1997, the only 



            engraved stone recorded by Nebiker could not be found. Map shows its approximate 



            location.                                               



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS501     UNKNOWN CEMETERY                        N SMITHFIELD RI



            NOTE: Recorded by Arnold Vol 25 (Smithfield) bottom of page 435.                                                    



            Arnold records this lot as being located "Near Woonsocket, on old stage 



            road from Woonsocket to Worcester". I believe this may have been along 



            the present day Great Road. Although he records it as being in Smithfield,   



            Arnold's record of recording many N Smithfield cemeteries under Smithfield may 



            mean this this one is also located there.                                                                                                



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS502     UNKNOWN LOT                             N SMITHFIELD RI



            NOTE: Recorded by Grace G Tillinghast and mentioned in Arnold Records Volume 



            25 page 430. She describes it as        



            follows:                                                                                                      



            "A stone in a hen yard on a farm near Slatersville, once a Comstock Place."                                   



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS503     MOWRY ALDRICH LOT                       N SMITHFIELD RI



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold (Vol 25, page 296). He describes lot as 



            follows: " On the Jeremiah Mowry farm on road leading South from the 



            Douglas Pike a little south of the junction, in open lot, not protected, 



            covered with brush, lot clear."                                                   



            Transcribed by Irene Nebiker in the early 1970's                                                              



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970  and incorrectly identified as NS001                                      



            "West of 104, Farnum Pike."                                                                                   



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS504     PAINE LOT                               NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



             ROCKY HILL RD



            NOTE: Ethel M White transcribed and describes its location as:                                                      



            "half way up Rocky Hill Rd after you pass the old State Farm - 1937 "                                         



            and as: "Rocky Hill Road- old farm house on right"                                                                    



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS506     UNMARKED CEMETERY                       NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



             PREMISY HILL



            NOTE: Reference List:                                                                                               



                  Reference 4: Death records of the 1st Universalist Church, Woonsocket, RI                                



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS509     UNMARKED CEMETERY                       NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



             ESKERIN SWAMP



            NOTE: All fieldstone markers according to the Nebiker diary.                                                        



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS510     UNMARKED CEMETERY                       NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



             REAR OF CART PATH OFF LOG ROAD S OF 2ND BLDG



            NOTE: Description according to the Nebiker diary circa 1970                                                         



            Transcribed by Ron Farrar circa 1970. "Log Road"                                                              



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS512     UNMARKED CEMETERY                       NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



             OFF FIRE TRAIL S OF IRON MINE HILL ROD



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS515     UNMARKED CEMETERY                       NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



             PROVIDENCE PIKE N OF POLE 61



            NOTE: old house not far from school R/S 1931 EMW                                                                    



            On road to Slatersville                                                                                       



            Transcribed by Irene Nebiker                                                                                  



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS516     UNMARKED CEMETERY                       NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



             N OF ROAD LEADING TO MILTON WESTS FARM



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS517     UNMARKED CEMETERY                       NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



             SOUTH OF OXFORD ROAD, NEAR NIKE SITE



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: NS518     BALLOU-TIFFT CEMETERY                   NORTH SMITHFIELD RI



             TIFFT ROAD



            NOTE: Reference List:                                                                                               



               Reference 4: Death records of the First Universalist Church, Woonsocket, RI                            



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



            This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.



 

Return to the Cemetery Database Cemetery Location town list.
Return to the Rhode Island Cemetery Database Home Page.