Make your own free website on Tripod.com

 Lincoln, Rhode Island

Cemetery Location Descriptions

 Click on the cemetery number for location, description and other information about each cemetery.

Contact information for currently operating cemeteries has been given where known.
All other cemeteries are assumed to be either privately owned or the owner is unknown.

LN001

LN002

LN003

LN004

LN005

LN006 LN007

LN008

LN009

LN010

LN011

LN012

LN013 LN014

LN015

LN016

LN017

LN018

LN019

LN020 LN021

LN022

LN023

LN024

LN025

LN026

LN027 LN028

LN029

LN030

LN031

LN032

LN033

LN034 LN035

LN036

LN037

LN038

LN039

LN040

LN041 LN042

LN043

LN044

LN045

LN046

LN047

LN048 LN049

LN050

LN051

LN052

LN053

LN054

LN055 LN056

LN057

LN058

LN059

LN060

LN061

LN062 LN063

LN064

LN065

LN066

LN067

LN068

LN069 LN070

LN071

LN072

LN073

LN074

LN075

LN076 LN077

LN078

LN079

LN080

LN081

LN082

Return to the Cemetery Database Cemetery Location town list.
Return to the Rhode Island Cemetery Database Home Page.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN001     ST JAMES CEMETERY                       LINCOLN RI



             OLD RIVER ROAD



            4086 burials with 1685    inscriptions from      to 1995



            NOTE: Transcribed by Roger Beaudry between the dates of June 20, 1994 to Sept 3, 1995                               



            Section X and Section X Lot #BABY is a designation assigned by Roger Beaudry. No records 



            exist for the internments in these two areas.                                                                               



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN002     ST STEPHEN'S CEMETERY                   LINCOLN RI



             OLD RIVER ROAD at TEL pole # 355   



            192 burials with 84    inscriptions 



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN003     ST MARY'S ORTHODOX CEMETERY             LINCOLN RI



             OLD RIVER ROAD



            415 burials with 240    inscriptions 



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN004     MANN BURIAL GROUND                      LINCOLN RI



           Location: 250 ft west of EDDY DOWLING HIGHWAY (RTE 146 SOUTH) at TEL pole # 238   



            16 burials with 11    inscriptions from 1781 to 1890



            46  ft x 46   ft in fair condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign 



            in poor condition



            NOTE: Cemetery is located between off ramp from Route 99 and on ramp to Rte 295 South. 



            It is located on arise of land and is surrounded by granite posts with 4 rows of iron 



            rails. This cemetery was transcribed by Roger Beaudry on January 31, 1993.                                                                                  



            Previous surveys were done by the following:                                                                  



            James N Arnold transcribed this cemetery on May 5, 1895 and described it as," On 



            the Judge Mann farm back of his house. Lot protected by granite posts and iron rails 



            and yard in good condition." His transcription is located in Volume 15, pages 2 



            through 4.                                                                              



            Ethel M White transcribed this cemetery during the 1930's and described it as being 



            located "on the Louisquisset Poultry Farm in Lincoln".                                                                        



            Frank T Calef (MD) transcribed this cemetery and called it Lot #1 (pp 1 & 2).                                  



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN005     BALLOU LOT                              LINCOLN RI



           Location: 10 ft south of ALBION ROAD at TEL pole # 58    



            10 burials with 3    inscriptions from 1816 to 1820



            NOTE: Lot is along side road at the bottom of a steep incline. It is badly neglected 



            and overgrown. Ethel M White describes cemetery as being opposite Old Ballou House in 



            1938. Although cemetery is surrounded by stone walls, it has no opening for an entrance.                                                                            



            Arnold also listed this cemetery in his work. He did however lump it together at the end 



            of his transcription for LN006 & LN007 in Volume 15, page 146. The last three stones 



            on that page belong to this lot.              



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN006     BALLOU LOT                              LINCOLN RI



           Location: 100 ft east of EDDY DOWLING HIGHWAY (RTE 146)



            7 burials with 6    inscriptions from 1853 to 1901



            32  ft x 32   ft in poor condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign 



            in poor condition



            NOTE: This cemetery is located at the intersection of Eddy Dowling Highway (Route 146) 



            and the Route 295 overpass. It is on the easterly side of Route 146 and is on the median 



            strip between the North and South lanes of Route 295. It is adjacent to LN007. This lot 



            was surveyed by Roger Beaudry on December 26, 1994. At that time it was in a run down 



            condition, and badly overgrown with trees, briars, and weeds. Previous surveys were done 



            by James Arnold date unknown who recorded both this lot and LN007 as one lot and   



            listed it in his work in Volume 15 page 146. He described it as follows:                                      



                "Albion Section. On hill near fork of road. Louisquisset Pike."                                           



            EDITOR'S NOTE: Prior to the building of Route 295 in the late 1960's, Albion Road crossed 



            Route 146 near this point. The name Louisquisset Pike, although still used by many people, 



            was formally changed to the Eddy Dowling Highway during the 1970's.                                                                            



            Dr F.T. Calef MD also transcribed this lot and merged it with LN007. He gave it the 



            designation of LOT 2 and it is listed in his work on pages 3-5. He describes it simply 



            as follows:                                     



                "South-east from previous yard."                                                                          



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN007     ALLSOP LOT                              LINCOLN RI



           Location: 100 ft east of EDDY DOWLING HIGHWAY (RTE 146)



            25 burials with 10    inscriptions from 1881 to 1928



            57  ft x 32   ft in poor condition; sign in poor condition



            NOTE: This cemetery is located at the intersection of Eddy Dowling Highway (Route 146) 



            and the Route 295 overpass. It is on the easterly side of Route 146 and is on the median 



            strip between the North & South lanes of Route 295. It is adjacent to LN006. This lot 



            was surveyed by Roger Beaudry on December 26, 1994. At that time it was in run down condition, 



            and badly overgrown with trees, briars and weeds. This lot has had a fence erected around it 



            made of pressure treated lumber. No signs of a previous enclosure could be found. It may have 



            been an open lot and the fence erected when Route 295 was built.                                                   



            Previous surveys were done by James Arnold date unknown who recorded both this lot and LN006 



            as one lot and listed it in his work in Volume 15, page 146. He also states in his description 



            that 13 fieldstones were located, none were discovered during the Beaudry survey. Arnold 



            describes cemetery as follows:                



                "Albion Section. On hill near fork of road. Louisquisset Pike."                                           



            EDITOR'S NOTE: Prior to the building of Route 295 in the late 1960's, Albion Road crossed Route 



            146 near this point. The name Louisquisset Pike, although still used by many people, was formally 



            changed to the Eddy Dowling Highway during the 1970's. Dr Frank T Calef MD also transcribed this 



            lot and merged it with LN006. He gave it the designation of LOT 2, and it is listed in his work 



            on pages 3-5. He describes it simply as follows:                                 



                "South-east from previous yard."                                                                          



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN008     JENCKES & MOWRY LOT                     LINCOLN RI



           Location: 10 ft west of ALBION ROAD at TEL pole # 89    



            10 burials with 9    inscriptions from 1832 to 1891



            55  ft x 40   ft in very poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign missing



            NOTE: This cemetery was surveyed by Roger Beaudry on January 2, 1995. At that time the 



            correct description for this lot would be totally trashed. Not one stone was standing and 



            all stones were smashed. Not one intact stone could be found. 9 stones could be pieced 



            together enough to make out data. It is almost certain that these fragment will be tossed 



            about at a later date further desecrating this lot. It should also be noted that the map 



            numbers do not necessarily correspond with the burial location of the stones, but rather 



            the order in which they lay on the ground. 



            James N Arnold transcribed this lot and listed it in his work in Volume 15, pages 16-17. He 



            described lot as follows:                                                                                                      



                "On farm of John A Mowry beside road, lot walled and in fine condition."                                  



            Lot was also surveyed by Ethel M White in the 1930's. She listed its location as:                             



                "1st road on right from Washington Highway near Louisquisset Pike. At side of road 



            on bank."              



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN009     OLD RIVER CEMETERY                      LINCOLN RI



           Location: 10 ft west of OLD RIVER ROAD at TEL pole # 257   



            72 burials with 62    inscriptions from 1805 to 1978



            NOTE: Roger Beaudry transcribed this cemetery on November 15, 1992. Previous transcriptions 



            were done by:           



                James N Arnold, who lists it in Volume 15, pages 147-149, and describes it as, 



                "off Albion Road; yard overlooks - at a distance, Albion Church."                                                                    



                Frank T Calef transcribed it, and in his 1940 publication lists it on pages 33-39. 



            He described it as "on the hill, West from Albion."                                                                                  



                Ethel M White transcribed it in the 1930's and called it "Albion Cemetery."  



            or opposite Clark's Dairy Farm, Albion, RI - 1937                                                                                       



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN010     JENCKES-MANTON LOT                      LINCOLN RI



           Location: 500 ft north of GEORGE WASHINGTON HIGHWAY (ROUTE 116)



            37 burials with 25    inscriptions from 1812 to 1991



            63  ft x 84   ft in excellent condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Cemetery was surveyed by Roger Beaudry on January 7, 1995. Cemetery is located to 



            the rear of the Blackstone Valley Electric Co office adjacent to their parking lot. All 



            indications are that the electric company takes great pride in this lot. The stones appear 



            to have been reset, and the lot mowed. A survey was done by Grace G Tillinghast on Sept 3, 



            1932 who described it as, "Near new road, 1932 in orchard." This transcript is in      



            Arnolds records Volume 15, page 145.  Lot was also surveyed by Ethel M White in the 1930's.                   



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN011     WRIGHT BURIAL GROUND                    LINCOLN RI



           Location: 10 ft east of GREAT ROAD at TEL pole # 156   



            14 burials with 13    inscriptions from 1819 to 1930



            63  ft x 70   ft in poor condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign in 



            good condition



            NOTE: Cemetery was surveyed by Roger Beaudry on January 7, 1995. At that time cemetery 



            was in a very rundown condition. One tree had fallen over and ripped the stone out of 



            the ground with it. Although neighbors are close, no one cares about it enough to 



            maintain it. Previous surveys were done by Ethel M White in the 1930's and Grace G 



            Tillinghast who described lot as "Wright Cemetery, Great Road, Limerock Section." 



            Here transcript is in Arnold's Records, Volume 15, page 144. Charles & Martha Benns 



            also recorded lot in 1941 and assigned it number 925. It is recorded in Volume VI page 18. 



            They erroneously listed it as being in North Smithfield.                                                           



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN012     ALDRICH LOT                             LINCOLN RI



           Location: 300 ft west of OLD LOUISQUISSET PIKE (ROUTE 246) at TEL pole # 183   



            11 burials with 8    inscriptions from 1840 to 1891



            46  ft x 27   ft in poor condition enclosed with granite posts; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Cemetery was surveyed by Roger Beaudry on January 8, 1995. This lot is adjacent to 



            LN042, and at the time of this survey was in rather sad repair. It is located in front of 



            a private home, but is obviously not maintained by anyone. Many footstones had obviously 



            been moved to be in line with headstones, in some cases quite a distance from their host 



            headstones. A previous survey was done by Dr Frank Calef in 1941, who recorded it as LOT 10. 



            His transcription can be found on pages 31-32 of his work. He described lot as follows:         



                "At the north end of Limerock, 100 yards to the left of the Louisquisset Pike at 



            the top of the hill."   



            Lot was also transcribed by Ethel White in the 1930's.                                                        



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN013     PHETTEPLACE LOT                         LINCOLN RI



           Location: 25 ft south of LAMPERCOCK LANE at TEL pole # 19    



            8 burials with 8    inscriptions from 1834 to 1930



            33  ft x 35   ft in excellent condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; 



            sign in good condition



            NOTE: Cemetery was surveyed on January 8, 1995 by Roger Beaudry. It is located on the 



            front lawn of the Robidoux family home on Lampercock Lane. They obviously take great 



            pride in this lot and maintain it extremely well. My visit was welcome and greeted 



            with great courtesy. Lot was previously surveyed by James N Arnold on June 1, 1895. It 



            is recorded in Volume 15, pages 21-22, and is described as follows:                                  



                "On the land of James M Phetteplace north of his house in the meadow is a burial 



            ground of his family protected by iron rails and granite posts."                                                                   



            A subsequent survey was done by Ethel M White in the 1930's.                                                  



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN014     HARRIS LOT                              LINCOLN RI



           Location: 50 ft east of EDDIE DOWLING (RTE 146)



            14 burials 



            30  ft x 20   ft in fair condition no enclosure; sign missing



            NOTE: Transcribed by Roger Beaudry on February 20, 1995. Its actual location is 



            north of the intersection of Sherman Ave and Eddie Dowling Highway (Route 146). 



            It is close to the brook which runs under Sherman Ave at this point. The original 



            state listing of historical cemeteries listed this lot as unable to be found. Peter 



            DiCola in his 1984 report listed this as #14. At the time of the Beaudry survey 



            fluorescent surveyors tape outlined this lot. It is unable to be determined who did 



            the survey.                                                   



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN015     WHIPPLE-MOWRY LOT                       LINCOLN RI



           Location: 200 ft west of GREAT ROAD at TEL pole # 129   



            64 burials with 50    inscriptions from 1719 to 1903



            50  ft x 100  ft in poor condition enclosed with granite posts; sign missing



            NOTE: Transcribed by Ira B Peck (1805-1888) who listed its location as "From the 



            burying ground near the Lime Rock Village so called in Smithfield, RI"  



            (NEHGS Mss C1807a-b) Surveyed by Dr Frank Calef who recorded in his transcript as Lot 



            30 and lists it on pages 109-117. He described its location as Molasses Hill, Limerock.                                                            



            Lot was also recorded by Charles & Martha Benns who assigned it #239. It can be 



            found in Volume II, pages 238-239 of their work.                                                                                        



            Ethel M White also transcribed lot during the 1930's.                                                         



            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry on April 15, 1995. Lot contains some of the oldest and 



            most beautiful stones in the town of Lincoln. Neighbors apparently don't think much 



            of the lot. It is the neighborhood dump filled with brush, metal, tires, old doors 



            and windows and all other sorts of refuse.                                    



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN016     TURNER LOT                              LINCOLN RI



           Location: 5 ft east of MARTIN WAY at TEL pole # 3     



            12 burials with 5    inscriptions from 1841 to 1929



            30  ft x 30   ft in fair condition enclosed with a metal fence; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by Ethel M White in the 1930's. It was also transcribed by Frank T 



            Calef who assigned it Lot #9 and recorded it in his work on pages 29-31. He described 



            its location as follows:                             



                "Turn second left (going north) up the hill and the cemetery is on the right.                             



            Grace G Tillinghast transcribed lot and it is located in Arnold's work Volume 15 page 



            143. She describes location as "Berkeley Section, off Mendon Road."                                                              



            Lot was transcribed by Roger Beaudry on January 28, 1995. At that time lot was in 



            generally fair condition. It was surrounded by a tall chain link fence with a gate also 



            chain link. The odd thing about the lot, is that it is adjacent to an area of about 



            30' X 40' which is outlined by granite posts. Although there were no stones visible, it 



            looked more like a cemetery then this lot did. No earlier transcripts could be found 



            which made reference to this ever being a cemetery.                                                                      



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN017     SHERMAN BURIAL GROUND                   LINCOLN RI



           Location: 10 ft east of GREAT ROAD at TEL pole # 82    



            5 burials with 5    inscriptions from 1825 to 1883



            30  ft x 35   ft in excellent condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; 



            sign in good condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by Roger Beaudry on January 15, 1995. Lot sits atop a stone wall 



            adjacent to the road. At the time of this survey, lot was well cared for by persons 



            unknown. Grass showed signs of being mowed and all stones were standing.                                                                                                



            Previous survey was done by Ethel M White in the 1930's.                                                      



            Charles and Martha Benns did survey during early 1930's and gave it number 239. It 



            is recorded in Volume II, page 238 of their work.                                                                                       



            Grace G Tillinghast surveyed lot in 1932. It's recorded in Volume 25, page 435. It 



            is erroneously listed as being a Smithfield cemetery. She describes lot as follows:                                                    



                "Near house of ----Briggs which was first old school house."                                              



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN018     JENCKES LOT                             LINCOLN RI



           Location: 300 ft west of GREAT ROAD at TEL pole # 77    



            9 burials with 9    inscriptions from 1793 to 1849



            30  ft x 30   ft in good condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign 



            in good condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by Grace G Tillinghast whose record is found in Arnold's work Volume 



            15, page 138. She describes it as "Jencks Yard on Great Road".                                                                            



            Charles and Martha Benns transcribed Lot and List it as #237.                                                 



            Roger Beaudry transcribed lot on February 19, 1995. At that time the lot was in fairly 



            good order. Someone was obviously maintaining it. It is located behind #804 Great Road 



            adjacent to a stone wall which forms its northern boundary.                                                                                            



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN019     JENCKES & BRIGGS LOT                    LINCOLN RI



             DEXTER ROCK ROAD at TEL pole # 2     



            25 burials with 22    inscriptions from 1789 to 1943



            30  ft x 50   ft in fair condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign in 



            good condition



            NOTE: Frank T Calef transcribed lot in 1941. His transcription, listed as Lot 11a, is 



            found on pages 40-43 and he describes it as:                                                                                              



                "A short distance beyond Butterfly Factory to the fork of roads"                                          



            Charles & Martha Benns transcribed lot and assigned it #236. Their transcription is 



            in Volume II page 237.    



            James N Arnold transcribed lot. It is in Volume 15, pages 72-74. He describes it as 



            "Beside the road leading toward the Pike north of B. Comstock house, lot walled 



            but badly neglected."                                  



            Grace G Tillinghast added to Arnold's transcription on Sept 3, 1932. Her transcription 



            is located in Volume 15, page 143. Her description of lot is "Great Road to Albion, 



            opposite side of Col Aldrich house." She also mentions it on page 138 but says only 



            that "Briggs Lot on knoll opposite of Col Aldrich House"       



            Ethel M White transcribed lot in the 1930's.                                                                  



            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry on January 21, 1995. At the time of this transcription it 



            appeared as though the lot had undergone a cleanup, many trees had been cleared and brush 



            removed. The yard was generally covered with weeds. The only down side to the cleanup was 



            the fact that some stones had been moved from their original location, and that footstones 



            and headstones did not match up. In fact some footstones were in line with headstones. Such 



            a restoration did not do justice to the lot.                                                 



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN020     JENCKES LOT                             LINCOLN RI



           Location: 20 ft north of JENCKES HILL ROAD at TEL pole # 24    



            19 burials with 13    inscriptions from 1858 to 1985



            30  ft x 40   ft in good condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign in 



            fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by Roger Beaudry on January 21, 1995. At the time of this survey lot 



            was in fair condition with only overgrown weeds and some downed iron rails to mar the 



            beauty of the lot. A strange feature of this lot is that is completely enclosed by posts 



            and rails, there is no gate or opening to gain entrance. The downed iron rails may have 



            been taken down to gain entrance for the recent burials. Another feature is the abundance 



            of new burials in this lot. It appears that some of the older stones were also replaced 



            with new granite stones.                                                                                                       



            Charles and Martha Benns transcribed lot and assigned it number 424. It can be found in 



            Volume III page 353. They also list the following note:                                                                            



                "from Providence Journal May 24, 1935- "In Lincoln, May 22nd, Mary Elizabeth, 



            widow of Rufus Jenckes, in her 95th year. Funeral services at the residence, Smith A Jenckes, 



            Jenckes Hill Road, Saturday, May 25th, at 2:30 p.m.""                                                                                                   



            Ethel M White transcribed lot in the 1930's.                                                                   



            Dr Frank T Calef transcribed lot and assigned it Lot #21 and described it as:                                 



                "Just west of the Bradley place on the North side of the road."                                           



            His transcription can be found on page 55-56 of his work.                                                     



            James N Arnold transcribed lot and it described it thus:                                                      



                "On the Rufus Jenckes farm beside road, granite posts and iron rails, in fine 



            order." Transcription can be found in Volume 15, page 8.                                                              



            Also in Volume 15 on page 135 can be found an additional survey by Emma B Shaw done in 



            1926. She describes lot as:                                                                                                           



                "Jenckes Hill on road (right hand side) going over the hill, past the Bradley 



                Farm."                      



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN021     JENCKES LOT                             LINCOLN RI



           Location: 20 ft west of OLD LOUISQUISSET PIKE (ROUTE 246) at TEL pole # 83B   



            12 burials with 12    inscriptions from 1799 to 1897



            40  ft x 45   ft in excellent condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; 



            sign in good condition



            NOTE: Lot transcribed by Roger Beaudry on January 14, 1995. At time of survey lot 



            was in excellent condition and located at the entrance to Community College of Rhode 



            Island's Lincoln campus. The campus grounds crew obviously maintain this lot. Previous 



            surveys were done by Ethel M White in the 1930's, Dr Frank Calef in 1941 who lists it 



            in his work as Lot 28, on pages 100-101. He describes its location as:                      



                "Continuing along the Pike, just before reaching the next fork in the road. 



            Is on the West side, close to the wall."                                                                                                    



            James N Arnold also transcribed lot on May 19, 1895. It is recorded in his work in Volume 



            15, pages 5-6. He describes location of lot as follows:                                                                         



                "On the Daniel Jenckes farm north of the house, yard fenced with granite posts 



            and iron rails, in good order."                                                                                                       



            A further transcription was done by E. B. Shaw on page 134. She describes location as:                        



                "Graveyard on Smithfield Ave., near entrance to Lincoln Woods."                                           



            Editor's note: The Smithfield Ave entrance is on the opposite side of the park from the 



            actual location of this lot.                                                                                                     



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN022     SPAULDING LOT                           LINCOLN RI



           Location: 150 ft east of BARBARA WAY AT MARIA ST at TEL pole # 1     



            11 burials with 9    inscriptions from 1791 to 1901



            53  ft x 30   ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by  Ethel M White in the 1930's. It was also done by Dr Frank T Calef 



            whose 1941 transcription lists it as follows:                                                                                          



                "On the same road farther north. 800 ft from road, on the bank of the river."                             



            He assigned it Lot #7, and it appears on pages 24-25.                                                         



            Charles & Martha Benns also transcribed lot during the 1930's and assigned it Number 



            926. The gave its location as River Road, Smithfield, an obvious error.  This transcription 



            can be found in Volume 6, page 18. 



                 Grace G Tillinghast transcribed lot in 1930's and its transcription can be found in 



            Volume 15, pages 137-138. She described lot, which she combined with the Wilkinson Lot 



            (LN055), as follows.                             



                "Spalding Farm, River Road, a yard and graves each side near the Blackstone River."                       



            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry on January 28, 1995. At this time lot has been quite heavily 



            vandalized in spite of its close proximity to homes. Many stones have been smashed.                                               



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN023     WILKINSON LOT                           LINCOLN RI



           Location: 150 ft east of BARBARA WAY AT MARIA ST at TEL pole # 1     



            40 burials with 21    inscriptions from 1812 to 1886



            66  ft x 80   ft in fair condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by Frank T Calef and recorded as Lot #8 on pages 25-29.                                           



            Lot was also transcribed by Charles & Martha Benn's who list it as #909. Its 



            transcription can be found in Volume 6 page 10 of their work. It has been mistakenly 



            listed as a Smithfield cemetery.                       



            Transcribed by Grace G Tillinghast and recorded in Arnolds transcript Volume 15, pages 



            137-138. She has transcribed this lot along with Spaulding Lot (LN022) and lists them 



            as one. Her description of this lot is as follows:                                                                                                      



                "Spalding Farm, River Road, a yard and graves each side near the Blackstone 



            River."                       



            Surveyed by Roger Beaudry on April 22, 1995. Lot sits along bank of Blackstone Canal in 



            very picturesque section of Lincoln. It is located behind 7 Maria St. It is surrounded 



            on three sides by stone wall and on west by Blackstone Canal. There are a few missing 



            stones from earlier surveys and one stub of a slate stone. Some stones have been toppled 



            but some one has been attempting to maintain lot. A sign has been erected but has    



            been erroneously given the number of 55.                                                                       



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN024     SPRAGUE-DEXTER LOT                      LINCOLN RI



           Location: 10 ft south of SPRAGUE AVENUE at TEL pole # 3     



            100 burials with 57    inscriptions from 1710 to 1920



            90  ft x 150  ft in good condition enclosed with granite posts; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns who recorded it as Lot #244 and 



            described it as follows:                



                "Dexter & Sprague families - Arnold Estate in Lonsdale"                                                   



            Their transcription can be found in volume II pages 241-242.                                                  



            James N Arnold recorded stones in this lot and described it as follows:                                       



                "On the Asa Clark Farm, beside road, a burial yard of Dexters and other 



            families, lot fenced, some neglected."                                                                                                   



            His transcription can be found in Volume 15 pages 58-71                                                       



            Grace G Tillinghast also transcribed lot in August 1932. Her transcription can be 



            found in Volume 15, pages 150-151.                                                                                                      



            Frank T Calef transcribed lot and assigned it Lot #6, he described lot as follows:                            



                "North of Prospect Hill, Lonsdale on the East side of the road"                                           



            His transcription can be found on pages 14-23.                                                                



            Ethel M White transcribed lot in the 1930's and referred to it as the "Old Sprague 



            Cemetery"                  



            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry on April 22, 1995. Lot is in generally good condition 



            except for bicycle path through it. Some stones have been moved to accommodate this path. 



            Other stones have just obviously been moved. Example are a head and footstone set up in 



            a line, or two half of the same stone set into the ground in different areas. The most 



            disturbing part of this lot is that virtually all members of the Keane & Whipple    



            families mentioned in earlier surveys have their stones missing from the current survey. 



            Their whereabouts are unknown at this time.                                                                                         



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN025     FRIENDS BURIAL GROUND                   LINCOLN RI



           Location: 60 ft west of SMITHFIELD AVE at TEL pole # 8     



            170 burials with 131    inscriptions from 1778 to 1993



            120 ft x 200  ft in excellent condition enclosed with a metal fence; sign in good 



            condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by Frank T Calef who lists it in his work as Lot 24. Its 



            transcription can be found on pages 59-66. He describes lot as:                                                                                   



                "At the old Quaker Church at Saylesville."                                                                



            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns who assigned it #234, its transcription 



            can be found in Volume II pages 234-236. They have combined this lot with the 



            adjoining Arnold Lot (LN026).                                   



            Transcribed by James N Arnold on June 16, 1895. His transcription can be found in 



            Volume 15, pages 37-46. He described lot as follows:                                                                                     



                "At the Lower Smithfield Friends Meeting House in the rear of the house, 



            a cemetery in fair order."       



            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry on May 13, 1995. Cemetery was found to be in excellent 



            condition, and still in use.                                                                                                          



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN026     ARNOLD LOT                              LINCOLN RI



           Location: 10 ft west of SMITHFIELD AVE at TEL pole # 9     



            95 burials with 70    inscriptions from 1796 to 1993



            50  ft x 250  ft in excellent condition enclosed with a metal fence; sign in good 



            condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by Frank T Calef who assigned it Lot #25 and records it in his 



            work on pages 67-75. He describes lot as:                                                                                                       



                "Yard adjoining previous lot West."                                                                       



            Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns, they assigned it lot #234. Its 



            transcription can be found in Volume II, pages 234-236. They have combined this 



            lot with the adjoining Friends Burial Ground (LN025) in their transcription. They 



            have also added three names to this lot under their number 235 found in Volume II page    



            237. They describe this as "A few graves left in a lot near #234 - Saylesville"                               



            James N Arnold transcribed lot on June 16, 1895. His transcription can be found in 



            Volume 15, pages 46-58. He described lot as:                                                                                             



                "In the Arnold Burying yard, beside this yard (Friends Burial Ground), fenced 



            but neglected." 



            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry on April 22, 1995. Lot was in excellent condition and 



            still in use.              



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN027     WHIPPLE-NORTHUP LOT                     LINCOLN RI



           Location: 10 ft west of SMITHFIELD AVE at TEL pole # 2     



            15 burials with 14    inscriptions from 1830 to 1949



            103 ft x 75   ft in good condition enclosed with a metal fence; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by Frank T Calef and given Lot #22. His transcription can be found 



            on pages 57-8 of his work. He describes location as                                                                                         



                "Just east of the Quaker Church at Saylesville."                                                          



            Transcribed by J T in 1992.                                                                                   



            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry on Feb 16, 1995. It was in generally good condition and 



            was being maintained by persons unknown.                                                                                              



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN028     CHRIST CHURCH CEMETERY                  LINCOLN RI



           Location: 10 ft north of JOHN STREET at TEL pole # 56    



            652 burials with 230    inscriptions from 1843 to 1993



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold on July 2, 1895. He describes lot as follows:                                   



                "In Christ Church burial yard at Lonsdale."                                                               



            His transcription can be found in Volume 15, pages 76-125.                                                    



            Grace G Tillinghast also transcribed cemetery on August 4, 1932. Her transcription 



            may be found in Volume 15, pages 139-142.                                                                                                



            Transcribed by Roger Beaudry on May 27, June 10, & June 16, 1995.  Cemetery was 



            found to be in fairly good condition and in use. Yard is a bit neglected with tall 



            grass and weeds event.                                



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN029     ST AMBROSE CEMETERY                     LINCOLN RI



             SCHOOL STREET at TEL pole # 27    



            699 burials with 339    inscriptions 



            NOTE: Transcribed by Paul Papineau during summer of 1994.                                                           



            Transcribed by James N Arnold on June 9, 1895. He described lot as:                                           



                "In the Roman Catholic French Church Yard at this place lot has but few 



            internment as yet, and is not much improved."                                                                                                    



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN030     WHITAKER-MOWRY LOT                      LINCOLN RI



           Location: 5 ft south of SAYLES HILL RD (IN FRONT OF HOLIDAY RET.HOME) at TEL pole # 11    



            44 burials with 19    inscriptions from 1823 to 1892



            NOTE: Cemetery is a raised platform adjacent to sidewalk. Along the sidewalk is a 



            stone wall about 3 feet high with no fence. The other three sides have a post a rail 



            fence. The posts are ornate cast iron.                     



            This cemetery was transcribed by Roger Beaudry on November 8, 1992. Previous surveys 



            were done by the following:                                                                                                    



            James N Arnold transcribed this lot on June 9, 1895 and described it thus: "On 



            the Renasoleur Mowry Farm west of his house beside the wood surrounded by an iron 



            fence, yard in good order."  This survey can be found in Volume 15, pages 27 thru 36.                                                      



            Ethel M White transcribed this cemetery during the 1930's                                                     



             "On Sayles Hill Road to Manville"                                                                            



            F. T. Calef (MD) transcribed this lot and assigned it Lot #31. In his   survey published 



            in 1940, pages 117a thru 120 he described its location as:                                                                        



             "Going east from Louisquissett Pike to Manville."                                                            



            This cemetery has been recorded and checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN031     OLNEY BURIAL GROUND                     LINCOLN RI



             TWIN RIVER RD - LINCOLN WOODS STATE PARK at TEL pole # 2     



            24 burials with 16    inscriptions from 1798 to 1885



            100 ft x 80   ft in fair condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign missing



            NOTE: Cemetery was transcribed by Ethel M White and by Dr Frank T Calef. Dr Calef 



            assigned #5 to this lot and described it as:                                                                                              



                "A short distance over the North Providence line off the Louisquissett 



            Pike to the east."                 



            Lot was transcribed by Roger Beaudry on January 28, 1995. At this time, the lot was 



            located on the western side of Olney Pond adjacent to a parking area. This cemetery 



            has been heavily vandalized, almost all stones have been toppled, and or broken. There 



            appears to be some stones missing from earlier transcriptions.        



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN032     DARLING LOT                             LINCOLN RI



           Location: 400 ft west of GREAT ROAD at TEL pole # 165   



            8 burials with 7    inscriptions from 1841 to 1877



            50  ft x 50   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Transcribed by Grace G Tillinghast whose work is listed in Arnold's Volume 15, 



            page 144. This lot is described as "Yard in field opposite Jenckes & Manton 



            Yard"  She also noted the existence of 3 field stones.             



            Surveyed by Roger Beaudry on February 20, 1995. It is located along wall to the rear 



            of home. It was badly overgrown and neglected at the time of the survey.                                                            



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN033     HILL CEMETERY                           LINCOLN RI



           Location: 400 ft west of GREAT ROAD at TEL pole # 166   



            3 burials with 3    inscriptions from 1960 to 1990



            20  ft x 20   ft in excellent condition no enclosure; sign in good condition



            NOTE: Surveyed by Roger Beaudry on March 11, 1995. Three stones stand in the middle 



            of a horse pasture behind the Hill home. Stones are new and in excellent condition.                                                         



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN034     ALDRICH LOT                             LINCOLN RI



           Location: 500 ft west of OLD LOUISQUISSETT PIKE (ROUTE 246) at TEL pole # 158A  



            38 burials with 36    inscriptions from 1806 to 1889



            100 ft x 175  ft in fair condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Surveyed by Frank Calef who lists it in his book as Lot 30, it is recorded on 



            pages 102-108. He describes it as follows:                                                                                                   



                "On the west side of the Pike near Limerock four corners"                                                 



            Surveyed by Roger Beaudry on February 26, 1995. It was overgrown and the size of the 



            yard was far larger then the amount of stones contained within. It was overgrown with 



            trees and weeds, but not too vandalized.         



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN035     WILKINSON LOT                           LINCOLN RI



           Location: 250 ft east of OLD RIVER ROAD at TEL pole # 349   



            8 burials with 1    inscriptions 



            54  ft x 62   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign in fair condition



            NOTE: Originally transcribed by James N Arnold on June 9, 1896. His transcription can 



            be found in Volume 15, pages 131-134. He describes it as follows:                                                                          



            "The Wilkinson burial yard on the farm of Alonzo Vose at Manville. Lot walled and 



            yard in good order."        



            Roger Beaudry transcribed lot on February 19, 1995. At this time yard has deteriorated 



            badly. The only remaining stone it the large monument which contains names of the James 



            Wilkinson family. There is also a base visible a short distance from the monument. 



            Monument has been either hacked at with a hammer or shot at, but many chunks are missing.                                                                                      



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN036     LAPHAM/WILCOX LOT                       LINCOLN RI



           Location: 1000 ft west of OLD RIVER ROAD at TEL pole # 276   



            20 burials with 1    inscriptions 



            25  ft x 35   ft in very poor condition no enclosure; sign missing



            NOTE: Surveyed by Roger Beaudry on January 14, 1995. This cemetery is reached by taking 



            path opposite Crestwood Lane and following it over a brook until a Cedar Grave appears 



            on the right, lot is located in this  grove. It had only one engraved stone, which was 



            badly broken. The only words which could be read were March 25th & 4th year of her age.                                                                                                   



            James N Arnold transcribed this lot on June 9, 1896. He described it as follows.                              



                "On farm of Arnold Mann back of his house in open lot, not protected."                                    



            This transcription can be found in Volume 15, page 130.                                                       



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN037     BROWN LOT                               LINCOLN RI



           Location: 50 ft east of BRIARWOOD RD at TEL pole # 17    



            40 burials 



            NOTE: Transcribed by Ralph Soucy on Oct 11, 1973. He listed location as:                                            



                "About 100 feet past the southern end of Main St, Albion; and about 100 feet 



            to he east toward the Blackstone River. 6 graves, 15' X 15'.                                                                        



            It is fortunate that Mr Soucy transcribed the stones standing at the time, because 



            through this transcript I was able to tie it into a survey done by James N Arnold.                                                      



            Transcribed by John P DiCola in 1984 who records size as 14' X 10' and lists only 2 



            headstones. He notes that the condition of lot is fair but that several stones in the 



            area had been plowed over.                        



            Roger Beaudry surveyed area on March 11, 1995. At that time there was absolutely no 



            trace of the lot, all stones had been removed and the area was now part of a lawn. A 



            sad testimony to the heartlessness of the neighbors.                                                                                                    



            Surveyed by James N Arnold on July 9, 1895. Described as follows:                                             



                "At Albion south-east from the factory, a few rods in corner of lot not protected"                        



            His transcription can be found in Volume 15, pages 126-129.                                                    



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN038     ANGELL LOT                              LINCOLN RI



           Location: 150 ft south of ROLLINGWOOD DRIVE at TEL pole # 5     



            30 burials with 12    inscriptions from 1812 to 1894



            30  ft x 40   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign missing



            NOTE: surveyed by Roger Beaudry on March 11, 1995. Cemetery although adjacent to the 



            back yard of #15 Rollingwood Drive, is in extremely poor condition. No one has 



            working in it for a long time.                              



            Previous surveys done by Romeo Soucy on July 28, 1973. His record is as follows:                              



                "On Lantern Road in back of NEL #2 at the rear of the house, approximately 



            500' from the edge of the field. Cemetery walled in. Size 60 x 40 burials 34 veterans 0. 



            Condition Poor owner Leslie Angell."           



            Frank T Calef transcribed Lot and gave it #16. Transcript found on pages 45-47. 



            Described as:                 



                "Behind the first house east of Pullens Corner"                                                           



            Charles & Martha Benns transcribed and assigned it #432. Transcription in Volume 



            III page 357.                



            James N Arnold transcribed and it is in Volume 15, pages 10-12. He described lot as:                          



                "On the Walter Angell farm now called near Pullen Corner, neglected."                                     



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN039     NEWMAN LOT                              LINCOLN RI



           Location: 150 ft south of KIRKBRAE DRIVE at TEL pole # 5     



            20 burials with 11    inscriptions from 1799 to 1907



            80  ft x 25   ft in fair condition no enclosure; sign missing



            NOTE: Transcribed by Roger Beaudry on February 20, 1995. Lot sits atop a stone wall 



            to the rear of #9 Kirkbrae Drive. It is generally neglected.                                                                             



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN040     CAPT RUFUS JENCKES LOT                  LINCOLN RI



           Location: 1000 ft south of JENCKS HILL ROAD at TEL pole # 18    



            21 burials with 7    inscriptions from 1795 to 1875



            40  ft x 40   ft in poor condition enclosed with granite posts and iron rails; sign 



            missing



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold in Volume 15 pages 8 & 9.  He describes lot 



            as "On farm now owned by Charles Bradley formerly known as Rufus Jenckes Farm, 



            quite a distance from the house, granite posts and iron rails." 



            Emma B Shaw also transcribed in 1926. Her transcription is also in Volume 15 page 135. 



            Her description is as follows :                                                                                                     



                "On Bradley farm, in field, south of mansion house.*                                                      



                *Note: this yard south of the Mansion House, contains many other graves, marked by 



            rough fieldstones, the enclosure is fenced in by a fence of iron rods held up by granite 



            posts, but everything is in bad shape. Outside of this yard is a single grave, unmarked, 



            but fenced in by iron rails. I was told that this was the grave of a female member of 



            the family who made "a mistake" in morals."         



            Frank T Calef also transcribed lot and gave it number 19. His transcription is found 



            in pages 50-54. He has made the mistake of merging LN040 and LN051 in this transcript. 



            Both lots are on this road but are a few miles apart.                                                                                                        



            He describes lot as "Back of the Bradley place in the pasture"                                                



            Roger Beaudry transcribed lot on February 26, 1995. At that time lot was in bad shape. 



            Lot could best be entered by driving to the extreme end on the Davies Vocational School 



            drive and walking toward the radio antennae located at the extreme southwest corner of 



            a field. a path leading to the lot is on your right about 200 feet. The enclosed unmarked 



            lot which Emma Shaw speaks of was no where to be seen, but it does appear that many 



            fieldstone graves are on the western side of the lot.                                                    



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN041     UNKNOWN LOT                             LINCOLN RI



           Location: 225 ft east of OLD GREAT ROAD at TEL pole # 91    



            1 burials 



            NOTE: First mentioned by Ralph Soucy who registered it with the state in May of 1973. 



            He described it as follows.   



                "Near "Grandfather's Falls" Crookfall Brook. Lot measures about 



                10" X 10" and is partially enclosed with iron rails and granite pillars. 



            It contains only one base of a headstone. No other markers. Discovered May, 1973."                                                                                                        



            John P DiCola in October of 1984 described lot as follows.                                                   



                "Condition very poor, one post and no stones standing."                                                   



            Roger Beaudry surveyed area on February 26, 1995. He was unable to find any trace of 



            the cemetery.            



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN042     FOLLETT LOT                             LINCOLN RI



           Location: 300 ft west of OLD LOUISQUISSET PIKE (ROUTE 246) at TEL pole # 183   



            0 burials with 0    inscriptions 



            NOTE: On January 8, 1995, Roger Beaudry interviewed Everett & Esther Wilbur 



            concerning LN012 which was adjacent to their property. They informed me that the lot 



            adjacent to LN012, which was on their property was once a cemetery. They believed it 



            to be a Follett lot since that family once owned their land. They further stated that 



            it was their belief that all bodies had been removed around the turn of the century 



            and re-interred in Riverside Cemetery in Pawtucket, RI. The lot is still obvious and 



            is surrounded by granite posts only.        



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN043     JEREMIAH SMITH BURIAL GROUND            LINCOLN RI



           Location: 300 ft north of WILBUR ROAD at TEL pole # 37    



            8 burials with 6    inscriptions from 1834 to 1880



            24  ft x 24   ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Surveyed by James N Arnold on June 2, 1895, he described lot as follows:                                      



                "On the Jeremiah Smith farm west of his house at Lime Rock in open lot not 



            protected."                    



            Transcription may be found in Volume 15, pages 23-24.                                                         



            Lot has also been surveyed by Ethel M White during the 1930's.                                                



            Surveyed by Roger Beaudry on January 14, 1995. It is located to the rear of 50 & 



            52 Wilbur Road and is best accessed between the two homes. At the time of this survey, 



            cemetery was unregistered and in generally poor condition, many broken limbs were 



            scattered throughout the area, and the Jeremiah Smith stone had been broken by one. It 



            was told to Roger Beaudry by Dr Houghton, that it is believed that the granite posts 



            and iron rails which are now located in front of the Jeremiah Smith Home once enclosed 



            this lot.                              



            John P DiCola also mentions this lot in his October 1984 paper.                                              



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN044     HARRIS LOT                              LINCOLN RI



           Location: 1000 ft north of WILBUR ROAD



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold on June 2, 1895 and described as:                                               



                "On this same farm back of the road in corner of lot are 3 graves unprotected 



            supposed to be Harris"      



            This transcription is contained in Volume 15 page 23.                                                         



            This lot was pointed out to Roger Beaudry on January 8, 1995 by Dr Raymond Houghton, 



            the current owner of the property. Dr Houghton was most cordial and helpful in locating 



            many other lots in the immediate vicinity.     



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN045     HARRIS/SMITH LOT                        LINCOLN RI



             WILBUR ROAD



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold, he described it as follows:                                                    



            "On the land of James M Phetteplace in yard south of house, overgrown with 



            wood and underbrush, neglected, am told by Mr Phetteplace graves of Benjamin Harris 



            and 6 of his children. 2 large, 3 small 2 large 4 small graves, all on the same line 



            as Mr Harris, of whom not known.                



            1 grave at feet of this line, same.                                                                           



            At head of Mr Harris line 3 small and 2 large, not known.                                                     



            At head again 4 large it is said Rufus Smith and wife buried here.                                            



            At head again Daniel Smith who was drowned at the lime kiln hole about 1853.                                  



            Also 4 children  1.____ 2. Sarah E  3. Norma.  4. Mary J                                                      



            Augustus Wright father of Stephen Wright of Lime Rock was first buried here but was 



            moved to his present resting place."                                                                                               



            Transcription can be found in Volume 15, page 15.                                                             



            John P DiCola in his 1984 work lists an obliterated cemetery in front of house at 5 



            Cynthia Rd. This Road is south and almost opposite the area which was once the land 



            of Mr Phetteplace. I am making the assumption that these two lots are one and the same. 



            The only difference is that he lists burial ground as possibly containing Wilburs.                                                                                                      



            Roger Beaudry surveyed area on March 11, 1995 and could find no trace of any cemetery 



            on the front lawn at 5 Cynthia Road.                                                                                                 



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN046     UNKNOWN LOT                             LINCOLN RI



             LAMPERCOCK LANE



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold, it is described as follows:                                                    



            "On his farm northwest from his house on brow of hill in pasture near a large 



            oak tree; 3 graves of whom not known"                                                                                                        



            Transcription is found in Volume 15, page 15.                                                                 



            Lot also mentioned in John P DiCola work in 1984.                                                             



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN047     ALDRICH LOT                             LINCOLN RI



             DEXTER ROCK ROAD



            NOTE: Described by Arnold in Volume 15, page 74.                                                                    



            "Beside this yard (LN019) well walled but neglected."                                                         



            Roger Beaudry surveyed area adjacent to LN019 and could find no trace of any other 



            burial yard save the Ballou Lot (LN048). If lot ever existed in the location described 



            by Arnold, then it has been lost.                  



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN048     BALLOU LOT                              LINCOLN RI



           Location: 50 ft west of DEXTER ROCK ROAD at TEL pole # 2     



            3 burials with 3    inscriptions from 1815 to 1826



            10  ft x 10   ft in poor condition no enclosure; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Adjacent to LN019 can be found three stones. These stones, all Ballous were first 



            transcribed by Emma B Shaw in 1926 who described it as:                                                                                  



                "Outside of yard: Spaulding Farm."                                                                        



            Roger Beaudry surveyed lot on Jan 21, 1995. The same three stones were present, but the 



            size of the burial ground could not be determined. The size of 10' X 10' roughly covers 



            the area of the three graves.            



            Frank T Calef and Charles & Martha Benns have both added these names to the larger 



            Jenckes & Briggs Lot (LN019).                                                                                                      



            Ethel M White transcribed two of the stones in the 1930's.                                                    



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN049     CUSHING LOT                             LINCOLN RI



           Location: 150 ft west of ANGELL ROAD at TEL pole # 26    



            3 burials with 2    inscriptions from 1865 to 1868



            33  ft x 31   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns and given #431. Transcription in Volume 



            III page 356.                   



            Transcribed by Frank T Calef who assigned it Lot #15. Its transcription is on page 44. 



            and described as "Just North West of the Pullen Corner School"                                                                       



            Roger Beaudry surveyed on March 5, 1995. Cemetery was located just behind home now under 



            construction. Lot was badly overgrown and the only two stones visible were down.                                                    



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN050     ANGELL LOT                              LINCOLN RI



           Location: 500 ft west of ANGELL ROAD at TEL pole # 38    



            6 burials with 1    inscriptions from 1847 to 1847



            200 ft x 115  ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns who assigned it #430. It is listed in 



            Volume III page 356.              



            Frank T Calef transcribed it and assigned it Lot #17 on pages 47-48. He described it as 



            "Back of first house south of the Pullen Corner School"                                                                            



            Transcribed by James N Arnold in Volume 15, pages 9 & 10. He described lot as "On 



            the Oliver Angell farm back from the house in open lot, not protected.                                                                    



            Roger Beaudry transcribed lot on March 5, 1995. At the time of this transcription only one 



            headstone and a few footstones were found. Lot was located to the rear of 197 Angel Road.                                         



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN051     WILBUR BURIAL GROUND                    LINCOLN RI



           Location: 2000 ft north of JENCKES HILL ROAD (BEHIND LIME ACRES PARK)



            22 burials with 16    inscriptions from 1810 to 1893



            65  ft x 65   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold and recorded in Volume 15 pages 12-14. He describes 



            location as "On farm of Dexter Wilbur, some distance from the house, lot walled in 



            fair order."                                       



            Transcribed by Ethel M White "Old Dexter Wilbur Farm now owned by Henry Welcome 



            Ballou, Miss Estelle G Collier - 1938                                                                                                        



            Transcribed by Frank T Calef and recorded as Lot 19 pages 50-54. He mistakenly merged 



            this burial ground with LN040 located a few miles away. This lot begins with burial #8. 



            He describes lot as "Back of Bradley Place in the pasture". This description 



            does not apply to this lot, but rather LN040.                                  



            Roger Beaudry surveyed lot on March 4, 1995. Access to lot is easiest by following path 



            which begins in the Northeast corner of parking lot near ball field. This path travels 



            right by lot on the right. Lot was generally overgrown and some stones had been smashed.                                                         



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN052     HARRIS BURIAL GROUND                    LINCOLN RI



           Location: 150 ft north of PREAKNESS DRIVE OPPOSITE BRIDLE DRIVE at TEL pole # 8     



            28 burials with 12    inscriptions from 1809 to 1894



            97  ft x 59   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by Ethel M White and mentioned by John P DiCola in his 1984 transcript.  



            Roger Beaudry transcribed lot on January 28, 1995. At the time of this transcript, lot 



            was in poor condition. Many footstones were scattered about, and most headstones were 



            toppled and many broken. Some bases were located, but it was impossible to tell what 



            stones should be there. This lot is now located in an extremely upscale sub-division.                                                                                                 



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN053     SMITH HUTCHINSON LOT                    LINCOLN RI



           Location: 300 ft west of GREAT ROAD at TEL pole # 155   



            7 burials with 1    inscriptions from 1844 to 1844



            NOTE: Surveyed by Roger Beaudry on March 11, 1995. The single stone may be found by 



            traveling up a private driveway opposite pole #155. Where drive takes a sharp turn to 



            the left, the stone can be found leaning against a stone wall on the right, before the 



            turn. Stone is in poor condition and was found at this same location and in the same 



            condition 11 years previous by John P DiCola.                                                           



            James N Arnold transcribed lot on June 30, 1895. He described lot as follows:                                 



                "In corner of lot at Lime Rock a distance east of the Darling Yard not 



            protected and neglected" He also made reference to 6 field stone graves, but no trace 



            of them could be found. It is unknown if this stone even sits at the correct site.                                                                          



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN054     HUTCHINSON LOT                          LINCOLN RI



           Location: 200 ft east of COUNTRYSIDE DRIVE



            11 burials with 7    inscriptions from 1842 to 1895



            20  ft x 30   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Surveyed by Roger Beaudry on March 11, 1995. At time of survey cemetery was 



            completely overgrown with very long briars. Some stones were toppled but this appears 



            to be more due to nature then vandals. Lot is behind home at 5 Countryside Lane where 



            it intersects with Sylvia Way.                                  



            Previously mentioned by John P DiCola.                                                                       



            Frank Calef transcribed Lot and gave it #18. It can be found on pages 49-50. He 



            described location as:        



                "Bradley Farm off Louisquissett Pike. Rear of first house on the north 



            side."                             



            Lot surveyed by James N Arnold. His transcript can be found in Volume 15, pages 7 & 



            8. He describes lot as:   



                "On farm known as Jesse Mathewson farm, now owned by C. F. Bartlett back of



            house; lot walled, in fine order."                                                                                                       



            Additional graves were recorded by Emma H Robertson and can be found in same volume 



            page 7a.                  



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN055     MCINTIRE LOT                            LINCOLN RI



           Location: 75 ft south of SHERMAN AVENUE at TEL pole # 15-1  



            2 burials with 2    inscriptions from 1849 to 1866



            12  ft x 12   ft in good condition enclosed with a wooden fence; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by Roger Beaudry on March 11, 1995.  Previously done by John P DiCola. 



            Lot contains only two stones which are lying down face up. They are surrounded by a rail 



            fence put up by the owner of the property. 



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN056     ARNOLD LOT                              LINCOLN RI



           Location: 300 ft west of LLADNAR DRIVE at TEL pole # 6     



            5 burials with 2    inscriptions from 1833 to 1833



            70  ft x 50   ft in very poor condition; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Surveyed by Roger Beaudry on March 11, 1995. At that time cemetery was located 



            behind home at #12 Lladnar Drive. Lot has been dug in and only 2 partial stones could 



            be found.                                          



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN057     PITCHER LOT                             LINCOLN RI



           Location: 200 ft south of GREENWOOD LANE at TEL pole # 10    



            15 burials 



            20  ft x 20   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Surveyed by Roger Beaudry on March 11, 1995. Previously recorded by John P DiCola. 



            Lot is located directly behind home at #21 Greenwood Lane. Only fieldstone markers were 



            found. The name Pitcher is a name given by Mr DiCola. He believed that the people buried 



            here may have had that name although that particular family name is not common to the area.                                                                                       



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN058     UNKNOWN LOT                             LINCOLN RI



           Location: 300 ft north of WASHINGTON HIGHWAY (RTE 116) at TEL pole # 122   



            NOTE: Mentioned first in Ralph Soucy's work:                                                                        



                "Unlisted Lincoln                                                                                         



                    August 24, 1979. Name unknown this date . About 1000' from Rte 116 across 



            A. T. Cross, on top sand bank. Four unmarked, but shaped stones obviously planted on 



            end, pointed end down - and at least two depressions obviously as result of cave-in. 



            Lincoln Police & A T Cross officials notified."                   



                *Planted stones: Portion of stone is discolored from ground action on surface while 



            top of stone shows signs of weathering.                                                                                         



            John P DiCola mentions it in his work also as 100 yards North of pole #122 off Route 



            116 (Washington Highway). He lists condition as very poor and no stones visible.                                              



            Roger Beaudry surveyed area on March 11, 1995. No indication of any burial ground could 



            be found in the area surveyed. Much excavation has taken place in the area and lot could 



            simply have been taken away.              



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN059     RICHARD ANGELL CEMETERY                 LINCOLN RI



           Location: 450 ft west of ANGELL ROAD at TEL pole # 53    



            35 burials with 21    inscriptions from 1813 to 1891



            100 ft x 50   ft in poor condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign not installed yet



            NOTE: Transcribed by Roger Beaudry on March 11, 1995. Cemetery lies behind two homes 



            at 261/265 Angell Road. Lot is in poor condition with many broken and fallen stones. It 



            has become overgrown with brush & trees.             



            Previous survey done by Charles & Martha Benns. It is located in Volume III page 356 



            and has been assigned Lot #429.                                                                                                         



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN060     JENCKS/PHETTEPLACE/WHIPPLE LOT          LINCOLN RI



           Location: 150 ft west of GREAT ROAD at TEL pole # 11    



            9 burials 



            NOTE: Recorded by John P DiCola in his 1984 work as follows:                                                       



                "50 yards west of Pole #11 off Great Road in Limerock, Condition very poor, 9 



            headstones with family names of Jenckes, Phetteplace & Whipple."                                                                           



            A survey of area on March 11, 1995 failed to turn up any sign of the cemetery. Area in 



            question is near Blackstone River and if there ever was a cemetery here, it has been 



            completely covered over with dirt and trash that cover this area.                                                                                   



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN061     UNKNOWN LOT                             LINCOLN RI



           Location: 150 ft west of OLD LOUISQUISSET PIKE (RTE 246) at TEL pole # 16    



            NOTE: Recorded by John P DiCola in his 1984 work. He stated at the time that Lot was 



            very poor and that it had been plowed over. There were no visible headstones at that 



            time.                                                   



            A survey by Roger Beaudry on March 11, 1995 failed to find any sign of a cemetery in 



            this area.               



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN062     BROWN LOT                               LINCOLN RI



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold on December 27, 1891.                                                           



                "On the Freelove Angell place some distance from the house beside the woods, 



            lot entirely overgrown with briars and brush and difficult to find, a burial yard of 



            the Brown family where graves are marked by rude stones only.                                                                                                  



            First in line of four graves and then a second line of a dozen at the foot.                               



            A burning shame that a family so wealthy as this one should be so indifferent to 



            their ancestry. Note by J.N.A." This appears in Volume 15 page 1.                                                                             



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN063     LUTHER LOT                              LINCOLN RI



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold on November 19, 1893.                                                           



                "On the land of Mr Slocum on the Louisquissett Pike near the school house 



            in corner of lot, a burial yard, have nothing but rude markers. We are told that 



            Calvin Luther and James Luther and wife and the small grave is of whom unknown"                                                                                              



            Transcription is in Volume 15 page 1.                                                                         



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN064     UNKNOWN LOT                             LINCOLN RI



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold on August 11, 1919.                                                             



                "In Lincoln on the Medbury Farm west of the Angell road, on the back road 



            a yard from whence most of the graves have been taken up, in the midst of the woods."                                                        



            Transcription found in Volume 15, page 1.                                                                     



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN065     ANGELL LOT                              LINCOLN RI



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold on May 12, 1895:                                                                



                "On the Judge Daniel Jencks' farm in the meadow was once a burial yard which 



            has been obliterated by the plow. They were said to have been ANGELLS."                                                                   



            Volume 15, page 5                                                                                             



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN066     BRAYTON LOT                             LINCOLN RI



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold May 12, 1895.                                                                   



                "On the same farm* at the gravel bank was once a burial yard which has 



            become obliterated. Were said to have been BRAYTONS."                                                                                          



            *Judge Daniel Jenck's farm                                                                                    



            Volume 15, page 5.                                                                                            



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN067     HAMMOND LOT                             LINCOLN RI



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold May 12, 1895:                                                                   



                "On farm now owned by Mr Mitchell in open meadow was once a burial yard 



            now obliterated. Think they may have been HAMMONDS."                                                                                          



            Volume 15, page 5                                                                                             



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN068     WRIGHT LOT                              LINCOLN RI



             LIMEROCK RD - THOMAS MANTON YARD



            NOTE: Transcribed by Ethel M White.                                                                                 



            Transcribed by James N Arnold. His transcription appears in Volume 15, page 17.                               



            "In rear of school house at Lime Rock in corner of lot, unprotected."                                         



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN069     EDWARD SMITH LOT                        LINCOLN RI



             LIMEROCK-GEORGIAVILLE ROAD



            NOTE: Transcribed by Frank Calef who described its location as:                                                     



                "Limerock-Georgiaville Rd. White house on the West"                                                       



            He assigned lot #20 and it is recorded on page 54.                                                            



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN070     GUILE/HARRIS LOT                        LINCOLN RI



             OFF LOUISQUISSETT PIKE



            NOTE: Transcribed by Frank Calef, he describes location as:                                                         



                "Almost in Limerock. Just off the Louisquissett Pike on the road to                                       



            Butterfly Factory."                                                                                           



            He assigned it #29. Its transcription is on page 102.                                                         



            This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN071     SMITH LOT                               LINCOLN RI



             DANIEL SMITH FARM



            NOTE: Recorded by James N Arnold in Volume 15, page 15:                                                             



                "On the Daniel Smith Farm, father of Rufus now lives - - a few rods south 



            from here in orchard, not protected: 2 graves."                                                                                         



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN072     DARLING LOT                             LINCOLN RI



             DR MANN FARM



            NOTE: Recorded by James N Arnold in Volume 15, page 15:                                                             



            "On Dr Mann farm known also as the Arnold Jenckes Farm near the fence: --The yard 



            not protected were several others more or less obliterated of whom not known."                                                           



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN073     BALLOU LOT                              LINCOLN RI



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold in Volume 15, page 18:                                                          



                "On opposite side of road* in meadow, lot not protected, two graves:"                                     



            * from school house at Lime Rock                                                                              



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN074     WHITMAN/MOWRY LOT                       LINCOLN RI



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold in Volume 15, page 18:                                                          



                "On land of Patrick Wallen north of house in open lot beside road, yard 



            plowed down, stones removed to dump heap. How many graves in this lot not known, but 



            probably a score."                                      



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN075     WHIPPLE LOT                             LINCOLN RI



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold who recorded it in Volume 15, pages 20-21.                                      



                "On the William Whipple farm, stones now taken up & removed, lot plowed 



            down. List of names given by L.A. Sayles."                                                                                                      



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN076     BROWN LOT                               LINCOLN RI



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold on June 9, 1895. It is recorded in Volume 15, 



            page 25.                          



                "West of Albion Company's hay barn in open lot, not protected."                                           



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN077     UNKNOWN LOT                             LINCOLN RI



            NOTE: Recorded by James N Arnold in Volume 15, page 25.                                                             



            "North of this yard (See LN076) on opposite side of street in open lot was once 



            a burial ground which has been plowed down, of what family not known."                                                                       



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN078     ARNOLD LOT                              LINCOLN RI



            NOTE: Recorded by James N Arnold in Volume 15, page 72.                                                             



                "On farm now belonging to John Mitchell west of his house and a few rods 



            from the road in open lot was once two graves now obliterated, of whom not known, 



            but supposed to be ARNOLDS."                              



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN079     UNKNOWN LOT                             LINCOLN RI



            NOTE: Recorded by James N Arnold in Volume 15, page 72                                                              



                "On bank of river near the Friends Meeting House covered with are 9 graves 



            of whom not known."            



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN080     UNKNOWN LOT                             LINCOLN RI



            NOTE: James N Arnold records in Volume 15, page 75.                                                                 



                "On land of Benjamin Comstock back of his house in the pasture we were 



            told by Mrs Bibby that there was once a burial yard but a portion of them have been 



            removed elsewhere, a few old ones remain. Mr Comstock and his son say they have seen 



            no graves and are positive there are none on the farm."                            



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN081     UNKNOWN LOT                             LINCOLN RI



            NOTE: Transcribed by Charles & Martha Benns in Vol II page 237. They assigned 



            it #235 and described it as follows:  



            "A few graves left in a lot near #234-Saylesville"                                                            



            James N Arnold also makes reference to the same three stones in Vol 25 page 432, 



            (North Smithfield). After listing the three stones he writes: "Other graves 



            in this year have been removed.                             



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



 
Top
         HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: LN082     BENONI PAINE BURIAL GROUND              LINCOLN RI



             [REMOVED TO UNION CEMETERY N. SMITHFIELD]



            3 burials with 3    inscriptions 



            NOTE: Transcribed by James N Arnold and recorded in Volume 25, page 432 (N.                                         



            Smithfield). He originally lists location as unknown but the following hand written 



            note is in the margin:    



                "At the end of the Union Cemetery near the road which separates it from the 



            Old Aldrich Cemetery.         



            (Note: this refers to the present location of these stones.) These three stones were 



            removed from the Benoni Paine farm on the old Smithfield Road to Union Cemetery on 



            Dec 24, 1912 by Alonzo Mowry" Union Cemetery records indicate that these 3 



            stones were indeed removed from the farm and that it was located in Lincoln. Records 



            list date of removal as Dec 14, 1912.                                                     



            This cemetery has not been recorded.



Return to the Cemetery Database Cemetery Location town list.
Return to the Rhode Island Cemetery Database Home Page.