Click on the cemetery number for location, description and other information about each cemetery.Contact information for currently operating cemeteries has been given where known.
Return to the Cemetery Database Cemetery Location town list.
Return to the Rhode Island Cemetery Database Home Page.
HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: BA001 TYLER POI CEMETERY BARRINGTON RI Location: 15 ft TYLER POI RD at TEL pole # 1 300 burials with 205 inscriptions from 1702 to 1897 200 ft x 220 ft in good condition enclosed with a stone wall; sign ??? NOTE: At the end of Tyler Point Road, where the Warren River splits into the Barrington and Palmer Rivers, near the Barrington Yacht Club. At the time that 20 Revolutionary War veterans were buried here, this ground was already an old cemetery. In his 1898 "History of Barrington, Rhode Island" Thomas W. Bicknell traces its history in detail (pp. 466-468). The cemetery is in the area of the first meeting house and training field, established at the end of King Philip's War. Although the town tried to acquire the burial ground as early as 1727, "New Meadow Neck Burial Ground" remained in private hands until March 18, 1854 when Jesse Davis and wife deeded it to the town. A photo of the training field and cemetery ca. 1898 appears on p. 464. This cemetery has been recorded and checked.Top
HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: BA002 FOREST CHAPEL CEMETERY BARRINGTON RI Location: 15 ft from GOV BRADFORD DR at TEL pole # 19 2000 burials NOTE: Incorporated in 1863, bought July 1871. See Bicknell, p. 471. This cemetery has not been recorded.Top
HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: BA003 PRINCE'S HILL BURIAL GROUND BARRINGTON RI Location: 25 ft east of COUY ROAD at TEL pole # 118 3000 burials with 2096 inscriptions from 1728 to 1994 500 ft x 200 ft in good condition enclosed with a metal fence; sign in good condition NOTE: Long before the present Barrington Town Hall was built, this land next to it was in use as a cemetery. To meet the needs of the town for a burial ground on the east side of the Barrington River, the town gave Ebenezer Allen 5 pounds for one half acre of land for a burial place at Prince's Hill in 1728. An addition to the southeast was added in 1806. A second addition, to the northwest was made in 1826, and a third addition of 11/4 acres was later made. See Bicknell's "History of Barrington, Rhode Island," pp. 469-470. Recorded in 1939 by Benns' #949. Recorded 1993-1995 by the Bristol Chapter of the DAR under the direction of Sally Small. 26 Revolutionary War veterans and 62 Civil War veterans are buried here. This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.Top
HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: BA004 MATTHEW WATSON CEMETERY BARRINGTON RI Location: 600 ft MIDDLE HIGHWAY at TEL pole # 109 30 burials NOTE: Bicknell describes this lot as showing signs of neglect in 1898. He was interested in it because "it contains the dust of Matthew Watson, who was born in the seventeenth, living through the eighteenth, and died in the nineteenth century, at the remarkable age of 107 years" (p. 471). It was transcribed by Emma B. Shaw for the James N. Arnold (JNA) collection. This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.Top
HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: BA005 ST MARIE DELCOMPO CEMETERY BARRINGTON RI Location: 20 ft BARRINGTON AVE AY UPLAND WAY at TEL pole # 22 500 burials This cemetery has not been recorded.Top
HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: BA006 ALLIN BURIAL GROUND BARRINGTON RI Location: 15 ft BAY SPRING AVE - AT ADAMS AVE at TEL pole # 13 100 burials NOTE: Bicknell describes this as a family burial ground for the Allin family, large land-owners in the Drownville part of town. He mentions six Revolutionary veterans buried here, including Scipio Freeman a former slave of the family. See Bicknell, pp. 470-471. Transcribed by Benns #246. It is presently (1994) opposite a high water tower. This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.Top
HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: BA007 KNOCKUM HILL CEMETERY BARRINGTON RI Location: 3000 ft NEW MEADOW ROAD-OPPOSITE RIVER VIEW POULTRY at TEL pole # 99 125 burials with 66 inscriptions NOTE: Thomas W. Bicknell describes this lot in his "History of Barrington, Rhode Island" as "Burial Hill," the earliest burial ground in Barrington, established near the original Baptist Church. He believed that some who died in King Philip's War are buried here under unmarked fieldstones. The earliest marked stone he found was that of Renew Carpenter, who died in 1703. Bicknell described this cemetery as in private hands in 1898, neglected and in danger of disappearing. Although he did not transcribe it, he listed common names; two of these families--Goff and O'Brian--no longer have any stones here. See Bicknell, pp. 465-466, 486. Transcribed by Benns 1936 his #580. This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.Top
HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: BA008 CAPT DAVID READ LOT BARRINGTON RI Location: 600 ft east of RUMSTICK ROAD NOTE: #190 Rumstick Road east of house near water. Not mentioned by Bicknell. This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.Top
HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: BA009 BICKNELL BURIAL GROUND BARRINGTON RI COUY ROAD NOTE: Bicknell mentions this family ground, once west of the meeting house as destroyed as early as 1898. It was apparently located where the high school fields are in 1995. This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.Top
HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: BA010 BROWN LOT BARRINGTON RI NYATT ROAD 2 burials with 0 inscriptions NOTE: Two skeletons were found on a knoll at the 6th fairway of the Rhode Island Country Club 22 Dec 1922. The medical examiner, Harold Seymour had the remains taken to Providence. This lot is probably what Bicknell called the Brown family ground at Nayatt. There was, however, a second Brown family ground, destroyed by 1898, which had contained the families of John and James Brown (Bicknell, p. 471). That cemetery was in Wannamoisett at the head of Bullock's Cove, possibly now in Riverside. This cemetery has been recorded but not checked.Top
HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: BA011 SMITH LOT BARRINGTON RI [MOVED TO PRINCE'S HILL] NOTE: Family burial ground, moved to Prince's Hill Cemetery before 1898 (Bicknell, pp. 465, 471). This cemetery has not been recorded.Top
HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: BA012 PECK LOT BARRINGTON RI (MOVED TO PRINCE'S HILL CEMETERY) NOTE: Family burial ground, moved to Prince's Hill Cemetery before 1898 (Bicknell, p. 471). This cemetery has not been recorded.Top
HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: BA500 CHAFFEE LOT BARRINGTON RI PRINCE'S HILL RD NOTE: Two Chaffee gravestones were located on the land of Leander Peck off Prince's Hill Rd. as late as 1898 (Bicknell). THB: "in pasture with no other stone on land of Asa Peck. This cemetery has been recorded but not checked. This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.Top
HISTORICAL CEMETERY #: BA501 SILAS CARPEER LOT BARRINGTON RI NOTE: Land recently (1898) owned by Job Wheaton and his son John near the line of the Peck land. This cemetery has been recorded but not checked. This cemetery is not registered and has not been located.